CoverGirl SmokyShadowBlast Reviews

Back to CoverGirl SmokyShadowBlast»
Sort by:
  • 1

    awful

    This stuff was just awful. The formula was way too creamy and it just looked cheap on my eyelids. I recommend no one else waste their money on this! — 4 years, 2 months ago
    Sbalzer | 46 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 3

    Not So Smoky

    I was SO excited about this product because I had never been about to accomplish the smoky eye! Huge let down, to say the least. I had my misgivings when I gathered the formula was creamy, which I wasn't expecting at all. With my combination skin, creamy eyeshadows don't cut it. Needless to say, it was gone within a few hours and I was back to Rimmel's quad. — 4 years, 2 months ago
    lnb4563 | 16 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 7

    Not too bad..

    I own to of these (the brown one and the gray one). I love the colors and also love how easy it is to create a smokey eye with these....but they're just a little too creamy and after a while they crease. I would recommend using a primer before you use this product. — 4 years, 3 months ago
    lexibrette | 4 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 12 Best Eye Shadows

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 7

    Nice for beginners

    I also received this item free for being a BzzAgent. I got the black onyx shade. As a novice eye shadow applier, I found it very easy to use. I liked the silky feeling it had when I applied it. I couldn't figure out how to use the black part in the crease of the eye and make that look good, so I just stuck with using the black pointed tip as an eyeliner, which went on very smoothly. I was a l...read moreittle disappointed in how short the pointed tip is, I don't see it staying pointed for very long. Not sure what to do when it becomes blunt. Added some mascara and thought my eyes looked great (for a beginner at least!) — 4 years, 4 months ago
    wakechick | 2 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 2

    Very little pigment

    Got this free as a BzzAgent. I was excited to try it out, especially after seeing those beautiful pictures of Drew Barrymore. Sadly, it didn't live up to the hype. I got Tempest Blue and there is very little pigment in it; I feel like I have to constantly apply it in layers in order to get any decent color. When I do get color, it creases very badly and rubs off very, very easily. Not a fan at all. Very disappointing. — 4 years, 4 months ago
    mysterykitty | 22 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 3

    Not what I expected

    When they first came out I bought 3 of the colors. They are pretty creamy, but didn't go on very smooth. It's a double edged sword because they aren't super pigmented so you have to use a lot, but if you use a lot, they crease up really bad. I no longer use them as an eyeshadow like they are advertised, but rather as a base. They are pretty good as a base, but that's not what they're meant to be, so the advertising is a little misleading. — 4 years, 4 months ago
    abbytalk19 | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 4

    Great for the novice

    If you are a beginner in eyeshadow application, Smoky Shadowblast is for you! CoverGirl Smoky Shadowblast is a great concept for makeup beginners. No brushes are necessary for application. The applicator wands were very easy to use. Step 1: Apply this side of the applicator all over your lid. Step 2: Apply the tapered end to the outer V of the eye. Then blend, blend and blend. Tempest Blue ...read moreleaves a high metallic cream finish. Beware that Tempest Blue might be a too daring to wear in broad daylight! However, if you have oily lids, like I do, stay away from CoverGirl’s Smoky Shadowblast line. Within a matter of a couple hours, my eyeshadow started to crease. CoverGirl Smoky Shadowblast is ideal for those with normal to dry lids. — 4 years, 5 months ago
    fabulessbeauty | 66 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 3

    Not good.

    Looks too good to be true.. and it is. The colors are pretty, and it is fairly easy to apply- but it creases in a second! I tried it with a primer, but the colors looked more washed out rather than more vibrant, and it still smudged like crazy. Has a more greasy feel than other cream shadows, and eventually starts to melt down your face. Sorry CG, but I'll pass. — 4 years, 5 months ago
    robot_love | 35 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 2 people said helpful

  • 2

    Needs to be reformulated

    I received this product in silver sky, free from BzzAgent. The blunt end (lid to brow bone), is silver and the pointed end (liner and crease) is a dark plum. It did not live up to the hype. It is not very heavily pigmented, so multiple layers are necessary in order to accumulate enough color. The color does not deposit on your eyelids very easily. I had to press too hard to apply the color. I ...read morewas afraid that I would either break the stick or end up with wrinkles due to all of the tugging on my eyelids. I applied both step 1 and step 2, and the colors blended nicely and complemented each other, but about an hour later, it started to crease and look really bad. The next time I skipped applying the dark plum to my crease, and only applied it as a liner in addition to the silver on the lid. It creased again. I never have a problem with powder shadows creasing. I am not interested in using primer before applying this - I expect the makeup to perform on its own. I would purchase it again if the formula were improved – it is a great concept. — 4 years, 5 months ago
    krisrj | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 12 Best Eye Shadows

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 4

    Great idea, but....

    I had high hopes when I received a sample of this product but i'm glad I didn't end up having to buy any because it was a disappointment. The color combos are great but the shadow is far too creamy. The shade in step 1 didn't even show up on my lids because it blended SO much, and the second shade didn't smudge the way you need for a smoky eye. Plus the tip is too fat to line my upper lashes so in...read morestead it looked messy. I'll stick with my powder shadows for a smoky eye because this just didn't work for me at all. I received this product as a BzzAgent and i'm so glad I didn't have to pay for it otherwise I would definitely be disappointed having spent money on it. — 4 years, 5 months ago
    CaliGirl0716 | 9 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend