Yves Saint Laurent Beauty Parisienne Eau de Parfum Spray Reviews

Back to Yves Saint Laurent Beauty Parisienne Eau de Parfum Spray»
Sort by:
  • 4

    Not A Fan

    I wasn't impressed with this scent. I think they were trying to do too much with the sandalwood and berries; it didn't mix too well. It does smell a little old. It doesn't stink; it smells OK but didn't rock my world. And it's a really light scent, barely noticeable and I sprayed myself like three times. I would say there isn't much "sensuality" to this smell. I don't think it's a smell ...read morethat will attract men to you, (LOL but kind of serious) There's nothing special or unique about this scent that makes me want to go out and buy it. I could do without it. — 4 years, 11 months ago
    libra1004 | 81 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 2 people said helpful

  • 7

    Classic scent, but nothing special

    This is a woodsy, floral scent, just as it advertises. It's a very classic scent and does have lasting power; nice for the fall/winter seasons. However, as the scent warms on your skin, it can translate to that "older" smell, a la Chanel No. 5 or L'air de Temps. Not bad, just not exactly a "Sex & the City" scent as the ad campaign seems to be pushing. Definitely not YSL's crowning glory. — 4 years, 11 months ago
    Scarlett23 | 75 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 1 people said helpful

  • 7

    Not my cup of tea.

    I had a difficult time deciding how to rate this perfume, as while I don't like it at all, it's for personal taste reasons and not because it's inherently bad. Perfume is like a shade of lipstick: nearly everyone has a particular shade or family they gravitate toward and have varieties they just can't handle at all even if they find them beautiful on someone else. Me? I'm very partial to woody,...read more spicy and gourmand oriental fragrances and am not a big fan of florals. Rose particularly disagrees with me as my body chemistry tends to warp it into something that smells like hairspray. Parisienne has a damask fragrance note in it which killed it for me, and blackberry tends to turn shrill and strident on me as well. So Parisienne and I were not meant to be. On more objective grounds, I can see how this fragrance will appeal to some. It's a light floral that somehow manages to smell both classic and modern at once. It's very feminine and not at all overpowering. Some might find it a little too light as it took several spritzes to really get it to where I could smell it and the scent faded rather quickly. After 2 hours, I could only just barely catch a sniff of it if I held my wrist up to my nose. Overall though, Parisienne is a very sophisticated, delicate, feminine floral fragrance that I could see being popular among people with different tastes than mine! — 4 years, 11 months ago
    shriekingviolet | 77 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 1 people said helpful

  • 19 Best Perfumes

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 3

    Heady Rose

    This fragrance is heavy on the rose scent. Parisienne is an appropriate name for this very heady, strong floral scent with hints of rosewater. It is what similar to I would imagine Parisienne women wore in the late 19th or early 20th century. It is very feminine, very sensual, and very complex. I am not a fan of rose-based scents, so this fragrance did not work at all for me. Give me Chanel any day! — 4 years, 11 months ago
    kap_nc | 63 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 2 people said helpful

  • 5

    Just Not My Style

    This review is a little tough for me, because I don't know much about perfume. Also, I find it to be more of a subjective thing than say a mascara that promises to lengthen or a moisturizer that claims to brighten dull skin. But I'll get to it... Did I like this perfume? Yes. Love it? No. It has a nice kind of woodsy scent (is that a thing?), but that's not what I prefer to wear. It wasn't overpo...read morewering, which I think is important in any perfume. I can see why Yves St. Laurent would relate it to sensuality, but can't quite vouch for smelling like a "Parsienne", since I've only been to the airport in Paris and it smelled nothing like this :) The look of the full sized bottle is not appealing to me, but that's something I'd overlook if I really liked the scent. The perfume stayed on for most of the day, so I didn't notice any problems with length of wear. — 4 years, 11 months ago
    Seaglassgirl | 94 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 1

    What a disappointment!

    I love perfume, and I have tested and worn hundreds of different creations. By no means I am a fragrance snob- I do not spend hundreds of dollars per bottle, or wear only designer X. But I am not into celebrity fragrances and I will not wear perfume just because J Lo made it. Even when I do not like perfume on myself I still can appreciate it on others. I had high expectations from YSL- this hou...read morese created Cinema, one of my favorites. I was even willing to forgive Elle, the mediocre creation from a few years ago. But it seems YSL spend more money on a creative marketing campaign with Kate Moss, rather than on a juice inside the bottle. Parisienne smells just like Promesse by Cacharel, fresh raspberries with a bit of powder, diluted in lots of water. The sad thing is Promesse lasts longer. There is no rose scent whatsoever in Parisienne. No notes stand out, and the scent is gone after an hour or so... It is an inoffensive boring fruity scent. I have nothing against it, but I would rather get same scent for much cheaper from Cacharel. YSL needs to re-invent their perfume department! — 4 years, 11 months ago
    faith24 | 107 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 1 people said helpful

  • 13 Awful-Smelling Fragrances

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 5

    Just Not My Style

    This review is a little tough for me, because I don't know much about perfume. Also, I find it to be more of a subjective thing than say a mascara that promises to lengthen or a moisturizer that claims to brighten dull skin. But I'll get to it... Did I like this perfume? Yes. Love it? No. It has a nice kind of woodsy scent (is that a thing?), but that's not what I prefer to wear. It wasn't overpo...read morewering, which I think is important in any perfume. I can see why Yves St. Laurent would relate it to sensuality, but can't quite vouch for smelling like a "Parsienne", since I've only been to the airport in Paris and it smelled nothing like this :) The look of the full sized bottle is not appealing to me, but that's something I'd overlook if I really liked the scent. The perfume stayed on for most of the day, so I didn't notice any problems with length of wear. — 4 years, 11 months ago
    AllieB | 73 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 1 people said helpful

  • 6

    OK, if you are young

    I was somewhat surprised by the scent as I think of YSL as a more mature, sophisticated brand. This perfume is sweet & was a turn-off at first. It did grow on me as the day wore on. I think it is better if you are younger or have a very light touch with perfume. — 4 years, 11 months ago
    Jxdavis | 62 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 1 people said helpful

  • 8

    They'll remember it - wthout asking if you fell into a vat of it!

    I enjoyed testing this...it smells nice and not overpowering, like some fragrances can be. Hints of rose and berries. Modern without bashing you over the head with any strong or stifling notes. Liked it! — 4 years, 11 months ago
    Clbailey1 | 75 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 1 people said helpful

  • 19 Best Perfumes

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 9

    Mysterious yet soft

    "Grand floral" is a good description, however it is a more modern version of heavy floral fragrances of the past. The scent seems more fruity at first, then it turns into a mysterious floral. I actually loved it, very feminine but not cheesy. My husband loved it. Would definitely buy, Love the name - at least you can pretend to be chic and French (though remaining American loud and proud!) — 4 years, 11 months ago
    monalisastyle | 97 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 2 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend