John Frieda Sheer Blonde Go Blonder Lightening Shampoo Reviews

Back to John Frieda Sheer Blonde Go Blonder Lightening Shampoo»
Sort by:
  • 1

    Sheer disappointment

    I should have done more research before buying the whole Go Blonder line. The shampoo made my hair feel ridiculously stringy and dry, even just using it every other day. Upon further research on the website I learned this is just an ultimate clarifying shampoo with some shine enhancers and doesn't at all actually "boost" your color. The smell of the shampoo is fine, but the conditioner reminds me ...read moreof the Elizabeth Arden Sunflowers perfume my great grandmother wears. All in all, bummer city. — 6 months, 1 week ago
    npelott | 12 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9

    I dig this shampoo

    First of all, I hardly EVER repurchase a shampoo b/c there are so many of them to try and new ones are all being churned out. That being said, I almost lost my mind when I ran out of this shampoo! I actually tried to fill the tube with some water and shake it up hoping I could squeeze a little more product out of there. Yes it was a shampoo emergency. Thankfully I can pretty much buy this anywhere...read more so I was able to repurchase in time for my next shampoo. It smells good, my hair is LESS brassy, moisturized, soft and not frizzy. I can actually let my hair air dry! Once I'm done with my 4 other bottles and tubes of conditioner (why can't all conditioners be like the ones they put in the boxes of hair-color?) I will be purchasing the accompanying conditioner. — 8 months ago
    lalaloggins | 14 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9

    love it

    I recently got some blonde highlights. If I'm being at all honest, my hair is naturally blonde (lies) ...I don't think anyone knows what my natural hair color is, so I am always on the hunt for good (inexpensive) color care shampoo/conditioner. After reading a few reviews, and watching a few scary YouTube videos. I decided to take the plunge and try this shampoo and conditioner out. 1. The Smell ...read moreis Super important, for obvious reasons. The smell is fantastic. It smells like lemons and is very refreshing for these hot summer months. Although, with my favorite hairspray(here) which smells like strawberries, my head probably smells like fruit salad. 2. What it does for your hair- Some people have said that this particular shampoo/conditioner is really drying, but I found the exact opposite. My hair is a lot softer and it's been easier for me to style. 3. Does it work? I have been using it almost daily for about 2 weeks, and although it's not a huge difference, there is a slight brightening in the blonde highlights. I think this would probably work best for someone who already has pretty light blonde hair and maybe just wanted to lighten up a little bit. I would give this product a big thumbs up. Not only is it affordable, it works well. You can purchase the shampoo or conditioner any number of places, it's a drugstore brand with salon quality results. — 1 year ago
    DanielleTherese | 46 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 15 Worst Shampoos

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    Love it

    It's works so well. My hair is so blond now since I used this product. It comes out blond and not an orange color. It a great!! I recommend this to all blonds looking for a lighter blond — 2 years, 1 month ago
    blueaqua | 19 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 6 people said helpful

  • 3

    Hair damaged after using

    Not crazy about this product due to the damage it caused my hair. I like the highlights one much better. — 2 years, 5 months ago
    Jezebelmo | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 3 people said helpful

  • 2

    Ick. Just ick.

    I did not like this product at all! Even after conditioning, this product turned my healthy hair into a stringy mess and it was impossible to brush. My hair looked disgustingly greasy-especially around my ears. Furthermore, my hair wasn't blonder at all. I gave it to my sister and two weeks later, she told me this product was alright for her, it moisturized adequately and at least her hair was WAS...read moreHED but it was completely ineffective for lightening her hair. I'm using Redken Blonde Glam now, much better. This though: ICK. — 2 years, 5 months ago
    alexa112277 | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 4 people said helpful

  • 16 Best Heat Styling Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 4

    Blonde? No. Great Smell Though!

    Being naturally golden blonde, I was looking for something to brighten my locks in winter. This didn't have much of an affect, and wasn't that great of a shampoo in any regard EXCEPT it has a heavenly, realistic smell of chamomile and lemon that clings to the hair through out the day. I keep it just for days when I want to smell fresh and zesty! — 2 years, 9 months ago
    summerlotus5 | 21 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 4 people said helpful

  • 3

    Wish I had gotten something else

    It doesn't really lighten hair and it's not that great of a shampoo, I don't hate the results but I wish I had bought a shampoo/conditioner that focused on making my hair look good. I give it a 3 because there are definitely worse things out there. — 3 years, 2 months ago
    jblaisdell1 | 12 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 6 people said helpful

  • 2

    Ehhhhh...

    I am a dark blonde( about the color of jennifer anniston kinda) and i desired sunkissed waves... This product did not work well and only made my hair shiny. I used it for two weeks and i did not go blonder like the product said i would. Not so awesome... — 3 years, 7 months ago
    Hawaiibabe1357 | 2 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 8 people said helpful

  • 15 Worst Shampoos

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 9

    awesome

    I have INCREDIBLY dark brown hair. I used to have lighter hair when i was young and it got darker in time. this product did very little for my hair at first, but then it began making it lighter for real. the good thing is that you dont get a brassy, fake looking color because it gradually lightens your hair which is why the color doesnt even go near an orange tone. you are left with a very nice as...read morehy gold color which looks very very natural and no one will think you lightened it. if you have light hair already it will work quickly but if you have dark hair, first it will lighten about one tenth of a tone and once its lighter, it starts to lighten for real. so i basically suggest everyone can use it from light blonde to dark brown but not black of course. the only couple of things bad about this product is that the conditioner version of the shampoo is incredibly hard to rinse and takes a lot of time. also, if you have damaged or thin hair, it might be unhealthy for your hair because it definitely makes hair a bit more dry. also, its a bit pricy because i got it for 8 bucks in new york, 5 pounds in london and about 10 euros in paris - but in istanbul i got it for 20 dollars which is basically insane. buy it from the states so it can be the cheapest — 3 years, 8 months ago
    tristanvuitton | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  10 of 14 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend