Chapstick True Shimmer Reviews

Back to Chapstick True Shimmer»
Sort by:
  • 5

    Tastes Great!

    I love the flavors - especially Tropical (very pina colada) and Peppermint Rush (it tingles in a really nice, refreshing way). Hydrates lips, little bit of shimmer - what's not to like? — 5 years, 3 months ago
    bombshellblog | 25 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 10

    Summer Essentials

    ChapStick True Shimmer Botanical Berry has the most succulent and delicious scent that will keep you relaxed and hydrated while you enjoy the sea breeze on the beach and...umm in the office. And, you don’t have to give up on a bit of color while at the beach, because ChapStick True Shimmer Botanical Berry has a subtle pink shimmer to it. This ChapStick is addictive. I love how classic beauty products become so modern and chic! — 5 years, 3 months ago
    marta100 | 33 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9

    Shimmery and Super Moisturizing

    These are SUPER moisturizing - much more so than the original, and have the slightest hint of shimmer - a nice girly touch so no one in the "testosterone home" will steal mine! And the flavors pack a punch. The Peppermint Rush is blue in color, but not on your lips and is my favorite flavor - a powerful peppermint. Tropical is my next favorite with a summery flavor of coconut, Botan...read moreical Berry is probably my least favorite as I'm not a big berry/fruity flavored person and Blended Fruit Sherbet smells to me like black cherry. The only downfall of these new ChapSticks is that there is not any SPF. — 5 years, 4 months ago
    fabulousover40 | 88 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 14 Lip Glosses We're Obsessed With

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 8

    Affordable, Moisturizing and Yummy

    The original Chapstick is about as tasty as a piece of chalk (and I've had cough drops that were more savory than the old Cherry flavor) so, thankfully, they've upped the ante and introduced some truly yummy flavors like Botanical Berry (which tastes like raspberry and strawberry sorbet), Tropical (which tastes like a pina colada), and Peppermint and Blended Fruit Sherbet (both available in July)....read more All of the True Shimmers glide right onto your lips and deliver a nice boost of hydration, plus they leave behind a slight shimmer (imagine the kind of sheen you get from a frosted lipstick). Considering they're less than $3 a pop, I can't think of a more affordable and efficient product. Kudos on this one! — 5 years, 4 months ago
    SickaThanAverage | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 6

    Not For Women of Color

    I recently had to opportunity to test out the new True Shimmer lip balm from Chapstick, and I wanted to let you know what I thought. There were some good qualities, and some not so good qualities. So here it is, Chapstick True Shimmer: The Good, The Bad and the Ugly! The Good: Chapstick really really did a bang-up job on the flavors of these lip balms. I had the chance to try them in Botanical Be...read morerry and Tropical, and two new flavors that will be in stores later this summer: Blended Fruit Sherbert and Peppermint Rush. Blended Fruit Sherbert, Botanical Berry and Tropical were fruity and sweet without tasting fake or chemical-ly. They even smelled good. I also liked Peppermint Rush, but was surprised at how strong it was. There is definitely some peppermint oil in here, so beware. It's great though if you want a minty burst, like I sometimes do to pep me up. The Bad: There is zero sun protection in these balms. For the life of me, I can't figure out why Chapstick can't release a flavored lip product with a decent SPF. With all that we know about skin cancer and sun protection, this really makes no sense. Boo for that! The Ugly: The "shimmer" in True Shimmer is really not much more than some silver/white flecks, that look horribly ashy on pigmented lips. Because of this, I would NOT recommend True Shimmer to any person of color. I got a little carried away with Peppermint Rush (who I believe is the worst culprit of the bunch), and I ended up looking like Tyrone Biggums. Not a good look. Which was a shame because it was actually rather moisturizing. Conclusion: If you're not worried about sun protection, then I would recommend Chapstick True Shimmer for its moisture factor. As far as the shimmer, I would only wear it in moderation or under something else. — 5 years, 4 months ago
    BrownBombshellBeauty | 10 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9

    Tasty treat perfect for summer

    ChapStick True Shimmer is the perfect treat for lips this summer. It moisturizes and provides a nice shimmer. It's delicious tasting too. Tropical is my favorite flavor. The only reason I didn't give it 10 stars is because it doesn't contain SPF. — 5 years, 4 months ago
    Lipgloss_Break | 7 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 8

    A New Twist On The Old Classic

    I was invited to test out all four varietes, so I pulled them out at a recent bookclub and asked some friends to help me try them out. The Botanical Berry has a very pale pink tint and smells like berries (not sure what the botanical refers to). Tropical has a slight nude tint and smells like pina coladas. Peppermint Rush is a very strong peppermint that tingles and has a silvery tint. Blended Fru...read moreit Shimmer had the most color of the four varieties - a purple tint and smells like almonds. Everyone liked the first three varieties, but the Blended Fruit Shimmer was universally disliked. It didn’t smell at all like fruit - just like almond paste and the purple color was odd looking. It reminded me of the fruity lip balms that are aimed at tweens. The Peppermint was a hit with most everyone - everyone really like the tingling sensation. My favorite is the Botanical Berry - I like the slight fruity scent. The shimmer on all but the Peppermint is so subtle, however, that I wouldn’t really consider it different that just wearing a plain lip balm. If however, you don’t like your lips to be bare, not even for a second - while working out, while sleeping - this might give you just enough pizazz to feel covered. — 5 years, 4 months ago
    BeautyIsEasy | 56 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 8

    Chapstick True Shimmer

    It is more moisturizing than the original Chapstick, which I find to be waxy and dry. The shimmers are very subtle and does not overpower your lips. Colors are very sheer so you can wear it alone or on top of lipstick. The scents are pleasant, I love the berry flavor one. This type of chapstick tastes sweet so beware if you're a lip licker. — 5 years, 4 months ago
    Dao | 19 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9

    Chapstick True Shimmer

    I recently stumbled upon the chap stick true shimmer collection while waiting in line to buy groceries. Being the beauty junkie that I am I tossed it in my cart....and I am HOOKED. The scent is incredible...pina colada and coconut...but the best part is the way it made my lips look. It makes them appear soft and moisturized, like chap stick usually does, but the tiny flecks of subtle shimmer look ...read moregreat with my olive skin tone. Honestly, with a tan it is even better. I have also tried the peppermint rush which is great and has a nice minty--just brushed your teeth scent--which is great for post lunch touchups. all in all a summer must have! — 5 years, 4 months ago
    MandieG13 | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 14 Lip Glosses We're Obsessed With

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    ChapStick - True Shimmer Is A Shining Star!!!

    CHAPSTICK TRUE SHIMMER Let's welcome the newest addition to the ChapStick family; True Shimmer! Prior to testing the product I had very high expectations because I have been using ChapStick successfully for years. It also is the only lip balm that goes into my daughters' backpacks and my handbag. In my opinion, Classic ChapStick provides the best lip protection on the market. It is the industry ...read morestandard. Now enter True Shimmer. I like to think of it as Classic ChapStick's little sister, all grown up and looking good! True Shimmer definitely delivers on moisture but the true beauty of this product is how it brings out the natural color of your lips! It also adds softness with a kick of shimmering shine. True Shimmer comes in a variety of yummy flavors such as Blended Fruit Sherbet, Tropical, Botanical Berry and my personal favorite, Peppermint Rush. I love the tickle of the mint tingle on my lips! YOU'RE THE BALM - CHAPSTICK TRUE SHIMMER! Simple, Quick, Convenient Beauty! True Shimmer gives you the shine of a gloss and the moisture that only ChapStick can deliver. This all-in-one lip balm is the perfect beauty treatment to-go for a woman who is always on-the-go and still wants to look her best! This product can "go it alone" and give you super soft lips with subtle, sexy shine or wear it under your favorite lipstick for a hot new look for your lips! I have always been very happy with ChapStick but True Shimmer really gives me something to smile about and at $2.79 this is a makeup bag must have! ChapStick True Shimmer is definitely a candidate for earning the britneysbeautymark designation. Stay Tuned! B — 5 years, 4 months ago
    britneysbeautyblog | 19 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend