Chapstick True Shimmer Reviews

Back to Chapstick True Shimmer»
Sort by:
  • 8

    great new product

    i really like that ChapStick decided to add a bit of shimmer to their line of lip moisturizers. they work great over lipstick or on their own. i'm loving the Tropical flavor--- it's perfect for summer! the price is reasonable and they're even great for young girls wanting their own "makeup". — 5 years, 3 months ago
    beauty_girl_musings | 136 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 8

    Cheap fun

    The True Shimmers from Chapstick are a fun, inexpensive product. It's the standard Chapstick formula with added shimmer and a hint of color. Drop one in your pocket on your low-maintenance makeup days when you want a little something on your lips besides a clear balm - the shimmer is pretty subtle, not wild and crazy. They are flattering, tasty, and most of all, very inexpensive. You won't cry if you lose one! Chapstick did a nice job with these. — 5 years, 3 months ago
    clairesbeauty | 17 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 8

    New, sexy shimmer

    the new, sexy shimmer is amazing! It is subtle, but not too subtle. I was a little apprehensive that the shimmer would be so light that it would hardly matter at all, but I was incorrect. It is definitely noticeable, visible and very flattering without being overtly obvious. In short, this is the perfect Summer makeup product to give you that fast, easy, on-the-go, no-fuss-but-still-a-little-glam ...read morelook. It's a bummer that it doesn't have SPF and natural cosmetic gals will object to the parabens and petrolatum. But, i love that this is the classic chapstick we all grew up with -- only with a new twist! — 5 years, 1 month ago
    talk2uranalyst | 157 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 10 Best Stains

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 7

    Peppermint Rush Chapstick is the best in the line up!

    Chapstick is one of those classic products that I grew up with. It satisfies that basic, simple need to moisturize and soothe dry lips. Convenient, pocket friendly and unisex. How LL Cool J hasn't gotten hip to this product, I don't know. He would probably stop licking his lips so much. No ladies, that is not sexy! I digress. Chapstick's newest product is the Chapstick True Shimmer ($2.50-$3)-- f...read morelavorful balm with shimmer for a bit of sparkle. This item has been on shelves for a little while now, but Chapstick introduced two new flavors: Peppermint Rush and Blended Fruit Sherbert. Of the existing flavors, I had only tried Tropical after reading Brittany- Clumps of Mascara's review. Me no likey. It was a bit pasty for my lips and there wasn't much more to write home about. Blended Fruit Sherbert was quite tastey, but I needed it to be more. Peppermint Rush is a blue stick, but not to worry. The color is very subtle. This concoction soothes lips and is minty fresh which is A+ in my book. The shimmer isn't as noticeable. While I could take regular Chapstick or even cherry Chapstick any day, the Peppermint Rush is definitely a bonus to the line! — 5 years, 3 months ago
    yummy411 | 19 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 4

    True Shimmer

    I was a little curoius when I received the new Chapstick lip balms in the mail. I thought, "Wow", Chapstick is doing something different. They did something different alright. They added shimmer to the balms as well as different flavors. I tried all of the ones that I received. I didn't like the shimmer in the lip balm because it is very noticeable. It's not at all subtle the way the label stated. It also left my lips looking 'white'. Didn't like that at all!! — 5 years, 3 months ago
    Illusions | 22 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9

    I love it

    This is a great chapstick, but I did wish that it had SPF. Right now, I only use it when I'm in the office and not planning on going outside. — 5 years, 3 months ago
    Stephq1 | 4 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 4

    Flavorful, but falls flat.

    In exciting flavors like Botanical Berry and Tropical, these lip balms do taste good and leave a slight sheen to the lips. Aside from that, however, I don't have that much to say. It's ChapStick. Ok, it's slightly better than regular ChapStick. But there are still noticeable flaws here, like, oh, the lack of SPF. I'd love to take this to the beach, but I can't because there is no protection f...read moreor my lips! Although ChapStick True Shimmer offers a bit of shine, I think the brand overall has lost it's sparkle. — 5 years, 3 months ago
    DolceBeauty | 13 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 3

    The new Chapstick: Far From 'Natural'

    First, let me say, Chapstick is trying to reinvent the wheel. They have simply added a little flash and flavor to a time-tested product, and they do it with mixed reviews from me. First, as a male, I found the shimmer to be too much for me to use in public. You can really see it. I think it would be great for a woman who wants a little extra zip to her lips. However for a guy or someone who d...read moreoesn't like flash, it may be a little too glittery. That being said, I also am not a 'flavor' type of person. I don't like my lip products to taste and smell like artificial fruit. I don't know why, I just don't. So, this is more of a personal thing. If you like fruity scents and flavors, you'll love this. It's just too teeny-boppy for me. Not very adult. The texture is really nice. Not like the old Chapstick, which is like trying to rub a cold candle on your lips. It does seem to absorb into the lips much better than the old formulations, and it doesn't feel as waxy. On the other hand, I will say that for the price, what the heck, go ahead and buy it. I must admit, If I had a choice between dry lips and this product, I'd definitely wear it. So it's a good 'fall back' to have, just in case. My main issue is the ingredients. I prefer all natural ingredients (or as much as possible). There are literally no natural-based ingredients in the list for this new Chapstick product. Literally. It's full of chemicals, waxes, preservatives and artificial colors and flavors. It has parabens, red 40, mineral oil, petroleum, etc.....not exactly 'healthy' like they state on the package. I muchly prefer Burt's Bees. Summary: For the price, what the heck. Go ahead and get a few as backup. However, it has strong artificial fruit scent, lots of non-natural ingredients, and the shimmer is pretty 'glittery' looking. — 5 years, 3 months ago
    CdrumBeauty | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9

    Far And Away Better Than Regular Chapstick

    Don't get me wrong, I do love me some Chapstick. In fact, I'm pretty certain that there is a tube of it in my nightstand drawer, my bathroom, and my purse. I'm pretty passionate about not having chapped lips. But as well as it has always worked, it seemed a bit dry, hard to apply if your lips were already chapped and it wasn't slightly warmed, and flavorless. But now Chapstick has gotten in the be...read moreauty game with a release of some new Chapstick Shimmers. These are much more moist, give your lips a slight bit of shimmer, and have nice scents and just a small touch of flavor. I'm not a huge fan of the berry scents they have available - Botanical Berry and Blended Fruit Sherbert are sitting on my desk almost unused, but the Tropical flavor is right up my alley. Pina Colada scented, this is perfect for all your summer lip balm needs. The downside? No SPF, which is a real problem, so keep that in mind when you're choosing your balm for the day. I personally use mine at night before bed, when I don't need the SPF protection. — 5 years, 3 months ago
    Retrodiva | 159 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 10 Best Stains

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 8

    Summer Substitute for Gloss

    These chapsticks really moisturized while adding a hint of shimmer and color. This is a great summer substitute for lipgloss; I only wish it came with SPF. The Botanical Berry and Tropical flavors are available now, and the Peppermint Rush and Fruit Sherbet will be available in August. Here's a breakdown of the flavors- Botanical Berry--This flavor provided a soft pink shimmer, and smelled (and t...read moreasted) like strawberry candy. Yummy! Tropical--I'm actually not the best judge for this flavor. Due to a night with too much Malibu rum (sorry mom) I can not longer stand the smell of coconut. However, if you like the coconut sunscreen smell, you'll love the Tropical flavor. It leaves a pretty pale gold shimmer on the lips. Peppermint Rush--I love minty, fresh smells on lips, so I was very excited to try this one out. Plus, I was sure the blue with pale silver shimmer would make my teeth stand out and look whiter. Not so much. Instead, I looked like I had a case of hypothermia. Fruit Sherbet--This one had a light guava flavor, and the purple tint was actually very flattering. This scent was the most subtle of the four, and probably my favorite. — 5 years, 3 months ago
    LindseyLooHoo | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend