Chapstick True Shimmer Reviews

Back to Chapstick True Shimmer»
Sort by:
  • 4

    A little funky tasting but cute.

    I really like that ChapSticks have that slightly waxy feel to them as it makes them great to layer under lipsticks, and with True Shimmer's added shine, any lipstick will have that extra boost. They taste a little like chalky Pez, but overall not bad for under $3. — 5 years, 3 months ago
    beautysentiment | 14 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 8

    Nice, but not great (and no SPF!)

    On the plus side: nice shimmer (noticeable, but not over the top), very moisturizing, inexpensive compared to other shimmery lip products. On the minus side: no SPF, more expensive than other drugstore lip balms, color of chapstick scent/flavor (indicated by color of packaging) is sometimes deposited on lips. Watch out for the Peppermint Rush flavor -- it stings. My favorite was Botanical Berry. — 5 years, 3 months ago
    jewelboxdreams | 33 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9

    Yay for no more chapped lips!

    I am always on the hunt for a good lip balm to fight my curse of chapped lips, and my latest find is good old ChapStick’s newest invention, ChapStick True Shimmer. The ChapStick True Shimmer is basically your regular ChapStick with tiny silver shimmer to keep your lips moisturized while giving them that extra pop of shine. All you have to do is glide it on and your lips will feel instantly ...read moresofter and shinier with no stickiness. It also comes in four yummy flavors – Botanical Berry (my favorite), Tropical, Peppermint Rush and Blended Fruit Sherbet – which all smell great! Plus it only retails $2.79 and is available at all drugstores nationwide. So ladies, no more excuses for walking around with chapped lips! — 5 years, 3 months ago
    MakeupForLife | 24 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 14 Lip Glosses We're Obsessed With

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    A great solution for those who hate lipstick

    True Shimmer is a great solution from Chapstick for those who don't want to wear lipstick but still need moisture and a little sparkle. True Shimmer provides moisture, shimmer, and an illusion of color. I feel so bare without lipstick, but with True Shimmer, I can get a subtle amount of color and it feels great! It will work great to wear to the gym, breakfast, work, or just to cruise to the libra...read morery and grab a few books. You never know who you will see, right? True Shimmer is great for those who don't want to spend too much on lip balm/lip color too. At only $2.79, it is very reasonably priced. It comes in four distinct colors with awesome scents. Flavors Available: Botanical Berry, Peppermint Rush, Tropical, and Blended Fruit Sherbet With a name like Chapstick, how can you go wrong? — 5 years, 3 months ago
    moodymaria | 42 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9

    Great Product

    This product is great for people who don't want to wear lipstick. The subtle color is beautiful, and it lasts for most of the day. It was WELL worth the money. — 5 years, 3 months ago
    achendorain | 6 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 8

    True Shimmer is a great drugstore find.

    I have always considered myself a Blistex girl. I mean, I feel like you either buy Blistex or you buy ChapStick and you just stick with it for whatever reason (I guess why mess with something that isn't broken). I remember the last time I used ChapStick (I'm thinking it was early 90's because I vaguely remember that pop song "No More Lies" was on the radio. You know,the one with the g...read moreirl who had a sickenly high-pitched voice when she spoke, but for some reason her singing voice was "normal") Well, when I last tried ChapStick I didn't like it at all because I found it waxy and it had a weird scent to it (it was the old-school ChapStick in the black-labeled tube) so I decided to check out the new ChapStick line True Shimmer to see if this Blistex girl could convert. I am happy to say, I was pleasantly surprised. The True Shimmer line promises moisturized lips with a subtle shimmer and it does deliver. The formula is not waxy at all (like I remember from the 90's) and my lips are incredibly soft and not sticky. The shimmer is extremely subtle so if you're expecting a glossy look, this isn't for you. However, if you want a slight "glittery" sheen, then check out this line. I love the tropical (yummy coconut and pineapple) and adore the Peppermint Rush (minty, tingly goodness) which hits shelves in August. The Botanical Berry is just okay (it smells like the old Kissing Cooler by Maybelline in strawberry), and the Blended Fruit Sherbet (debuts in August) is downright nasty (scent reminds me of an extremely cheap little girl's lipgloss mixed with medicine). These sticks are only $2.79 so you can afford to check out all the flavors (no major economic commitment if you hate one). — 5 years, 3 months ago
    mcgreggsy | 15 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 8

    Lip Balm with a Kick

    Gives lips a healthy coat of protective balm with a kick of shimmer. Love it. And love the price at less than $3 bucks. My favorite is the Tropical flavor. — 5 years, 3 months ago
    azspagirl | 45 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9

    Like the Scents!

    Now to my latest beauty test - the new Chapstick True Shimmer ($2.79). You're probably thinking Chapstick? What a glorious topic to read about today, Jules. Well, it is! If you're a fan of the tried and true lip balm (so handy in both the summer and wintertime for dry, cracked lips - I always keep a tube nearby), you'll adore the new shimmer. And it comes in four "flavors." Tropical (I'...read moreve been using this one religiously - smells just like a Pina Colada!) Bontanical Berry Peppermint Rush Blended Fruit Sherbet It makes applying lip balm so much more fun, ya know? It moisturizes, softens and gives lips that nice little, sexy sheen. You can pick these up at any of your local convenience stores across the country. Smack! — 5 years, 3 months ago
    iheartheels | 26 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 10

    The taste of her Botanical Berry Chapstick

    Move over Cherry Chapstick! Dry lip sufferers and Chapstick lovers Life just got a whole better ! These new lip balms by Chapstick in True Shimmer Botanical Berry and Tropical and New Peppermint Rush and Blended Fruit Sherbet are delicious ,dazzling tubes of pure happiness !!!They have me singing a song : ) I can't get enough of Tropical (it tastes just like a piña colada no kidding) Extremely...read more hydrating. I found the shimmer to be long lasting and they give a noticeable radiant shiny look...You can pick one up for $2.79 Chapstick is always a great value and good for every season — 5 years, 3 months ago
    glmgrl | 12 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 14 Lip Glosses We're Obsessed With

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 6

    Just OK

    ChapStick True Shimmer ($2.99) is traditional ChapStick with pearly white glitter in it. My favorite is Tropical, it's pineapple-coconutty. A little bit too frosty for my lips. No SPF. I like the flavor, but it could use some SPF and maybe a little bit of pink to offset the frostiness. Read more reviews at Total Beauty. Available in: Botanical Berry Tropical Peppermint Rush Face Candy Grade: B — 5 years, 4 months ago
    FaceCandy | 26 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend