Chapstick True Shimmer Reviews

Back to Chapstick True Shimmer»
Sort by:
  • 8

    True Shimmer Chapstick

    I like it, a lot. It is smooth, slight shimmer, and tasty, too. Those who say it is too much-too "caked on", too much "shimmer", just remember a little goes a long way. You don't need to slather it on, just a swipe on your bottom lip, rub your lips together, and swak...all done. btw, my boyfriend loves it on me, too [and likes kissing it off of me :)]. — 1 year, 3 months ago
    stephers8 | 4 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 1

    Hated it

    The shimmer was just weird and hard. The texture was horrible. — 1 year, 4 months ago
    magictheatre | 64 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 10 Best Stains

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 5

    Pros & cons

    I liked the glitter but not the feel. I kissed my husband several times before he left for work, were he was asked if he'd been to a strip club — 1 year, 10 months ago
    Chica181 | 11 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 4

    don't really like it

    It wasn't very moisturizing, and I didn't like the shimmer at all. When it was time to reapply, I could just see random shimmer on dry lips, and it was gross-looking... — 2 years, 11 months ago
    sunkissedglitter | 37 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 3

    Review subject

    Good idea but not a good product. I would have loved it but there was way too much glitter and the actually chapstick itself had a weird gray color. — 2 years, 11 months ago
    tajanae | 13 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 3

    No..

    I was so excited to finally see a Tropical flavored Chapstick. Unfortunately, this particular purchase has been a letdown. The shimmer in this product is silverish and cool, which made my lips look gray and corpse-like. Another demerit is due to the formula’s grainy texture – you can actually feel the glitter on your lips and it doesn’t seem as moisturizing as regular Chapstick. The glitter ...read morealso tends to settle in the lip lines which can make you look even weirder. However, the tropical scent is very nice and if they produced this flavor with the regular Chapstick formula I would probably be a big fan. Sadly, for the extra money I spent on this product, I was disappointed. One of the great luxuries of Chapstick is that you can slap it on and go; but this requires a peep in the mirror to make sure you don’t look like the undead. Proceed with caution. I purchased this item for $3.29 in CVS. I really wanted to like this, because I love lip balm in tubes, and I love chapstick, and I love mint. I bought the Peppermint Rush type and while the minty flavor is nice, nothing else about it is. The texture is not as smooth as regular chapstick, more of a dry, slightly gritty feel. It isn't very moisturizing, and the glitter is too obvious. The first time I put it on, a friend made a crack about whether or not I'd been hanging out at the strip club- the glitter is much too big and there's much too much of it. The worst thing, though, is the color. It's blue. Not just a little blue- BLUE. Between the blue of the product and the silver of the glitter, after a few coats, my lips are are blue/white. I'm a nurse and while I was wearing this at work, one of my coworkers went "Oh my God, are you okay? Your lips are turning blue!" because my lips were so blue/white and ashy. That was the last time I wore this. I really, really wanted to like it. I wish Chapstick would make a shimmery product that was truly shimmery instead of glittery. This strikes me as more of a novelty product than a useful lip treatment. Unfortunately, although I see some good reviews this product was a disappointment for me... I used Botanical Berry and was expecting the same sheen/protection/moisture with a slight pinkish color offered by Cherry Chapstick with an added bit of shimmer. While the smell was good, the sheen and luster offered by Cherry Chapstick was absent. What I got was pale-whitish lips, with little sheen, shimmer that looked unpleasant and easily settled into lines, and lips that felt waxy instead of smooth. Also the lip protection was minimal and you must be careful not to apply too much product or else the pale white lip with streaked shimmer effect will appear more intense. Overall I don't hate it and will continue to use it sometimes, but I don't plan on purchasing again, but maybe this works better on those with a lighter skin tone or who don't required much lip moisture. EDIT: I've decided to add one lippie. My complaints are still the same, but I've found that if I apply a regular lip protectant (such as Carmex or chapstick) under this then I like the results. With a base underneath this it prevents the glitter from settling in lines and looks a lot better and goes on smoother. — 3 years ago
    mgibs96 | 35 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 3

    Not worth trying

    I remember how well Chapstick worked on my lips when I was a little girl during the winter time. When I saw that now they had a shimmery pink look to them I thought it would be wonderful! Wrong! IT felt so dry on my lips, no moisture in sight! The shimmer pinkish effect was awful in my opinion. I tried using it a couple of times to see if I just needed to adjust to it, but eventually realized, "It...read more's not me, it's the product." Definitely would not recommend and will not try again, and believe me, I believe in second chances! — 3 years ago
    Daggeris | 45 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 1

    so deceiving

    everything enticed me to buy this product I was duped by the fancy and alluring commercial when the girl in the big fancy dress twirls puckers her lips and shows the world how you simply need this product if you want to look like her. i raced to the store in hopes that i would to have sexy soft shimmering lips. I applied it and instantly my smile turned to a frown it was gritty, and wasn't shimmer...read moreing at all but a nasty sticky feel. It somehow managed to make my lips look pale, and the smell it didn't seem right. This was a great idea but in the end it was a disaster. — 3 years ago
    Heather1989 | 52 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 10 Best Stains

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 3

    not the greastest

    This doesn't make your lips feel any better. The shimmer is actually really ugly and sticky. & your lips will remain chapped. I don't recomend this at all. — 3 years, 2 months ago
    jraex143 | 24 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend