L'Oréal Paris HiP Studio Secrets Professional Kohl Eyeliner Reviews

Back to L'Oreal Paris HiP Studio Secrets Professional Kohl Eyeliner»
Sort by:
  • 4

    Ouch, ouch and more ouch!

    In theory, this product would have been a wonderful, convenient way to put on some eyeliner — no need to worry about potential spillage, no worries about having to sharpen up that liner pencil, and no uncanny hand-eye coordination required. But, unfortunately, what sounds great doesn't always translate into something that feels (or looks) great. The kohl eyeliner's applicator tip is so incr...read moreedibly painful that it literally feels like you're putting a needle to your eyelid. Sure, we all suffer a bit in the name of beauty but, in this day and age, with so many eyeliner options available to us, there's no need for this to be such an unpleasant experience. The colors were also a disappointment, as they appeared way brighter in the packaging than they did in real life. Overall, this isn't something I'd add to my makeup bag. — 5 years, 2 months ago
    SickaThanAverage | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 10

    Love this eyeliner

    I loved this. The applicator is a serious point so you get a great, easy line. I found it easier to use than even pencil. I am using the gold color. I was really impressed and now want to get the brown and teal shades. There was minimal fallout,but since it's a light color it was not a problem. — 5 years, 2 months ago
    beautyalchemist | 43 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 7

    Great for Novices and Pros alike

    For the women who love the look of eyeliner, but don't trust themselves to apply it- this is for you. L'Oreal delivers another innovative product at a great value with their HiP Kohl Eyeliner. This pointed, firm, felt-tipped applicator allows you to easily control the right amount of this ultra fine kohl powder as fine or as thick as you like. Since it isn't liquid, there is a lot of forgiveness s...read moreo a steady hand isn't required. Use the tip for a thin, precision look, or smudge it over your lids using the side of the wand for a rocker-glam eye. One minor caveat to the product is the potential for 'fallout' which are the tiny specks of product that can fall from the applicator onto your cheeks- It's to be expected with the wand/kohl powder combo and isn't a huge deal. Just shake the wand over the sink to release the excess before application. — 5 years, 2 months ago
    HookedOnBeauty | 127 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 10 Best Long-Wear Eyeliners

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 5

    Britney's Beauty Blog Review of L'OREAL HiP Kohl Eyeliner

    I really loved the colors of the eyeliners and I also like that the eyeliner is powder. This liner can give you a thin, fine line for your eyes or you can choose to blend the liner like I did to get a smoky eye. One problem that I had was the applicator is too hard and pointy to use, especially for around the eyes! I also found that I had little "sprinkles" of color from the eyeliner on my face. — 5 years, 2 months ago
    britneysbeautyblog | 19 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9

    Love this!

    This is my favorite loose powder kohl liner! It comes in a little vial and there are a total of 6 rich colors available. I have Navy Kohl, which is a dark, almost-black, blue color and I love that it has just the right amount of iridescence and is not flat. The super thin applicator also makes application - both the Eastern way and Western way - super easy and I hardly get any fallout from this pr...read moreoduct. The best part is the liner wears really wear until the end of the day and never smears. Highly recommended! — 5 years, 2 months ago
    MakeupForLife | 24 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 1

    Ouch!!!

    Hated the applicator...felt like I was scraping my eyelids...but I will suffer for the right effect...but didnt get that either. Instead, I found myself dotted in navy blue freckles. For me, a dud1 — 5 years, 2 months ago
    Divadebbi | 37 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 6

    Love The Hue, But Not The Applicator

    Overall, I like this product. I received this liner to review, and since I am used to a pencil or liquid liner, am still not confident in my application. I find the slightly flexible tip a bit awkward, so end up with more powder and smudge than I'd like once applied. However, I really like the colors. I've tested the navy and the gold and find that they are both very lovely with my blue eyes. ...read more The powder has a nice shimmer and provides a nice amount of pigment. This liner can be picked up at your favorite drugstore for around $12, With a bit more practice, I think I will enjoy this makeup due to its nice hue factor. — 5 years, 2 months ago
    BoutiqueFlair | 42 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 5

    Fall outs fall oute fall outs...

    The Kohl liners from Loreal's HIP line cost $13. These are totally fab. The idea of powder kohl never really lured me but I'm glad I tried these. The kohl comes with the perfect applicator that lets you draw a thick line across your lash line of a very thin one too ! I tried out a couple of looks with it the moment I had my hands on them. The Gold Kohl shade is so right for summer days. Just a sp...read morelash of it across your upper lash line is more than enough to create a metallic smokey effect. It is more of a dirty gold shade so it is good for the shy girls out there. For the night, the darker shades like Navy Kohl work well. For a total smokey effect draw the navy kohl across upper lash line and along the lower lash line. I love doing this even though my eyes are a little on the smaller side. The kohl comes with a soft sponge like applicator that did not poke at all. That being said, a little patience and practice goes a long way. These stay put all day long and more. No issues when I used them along my water line. The only thing you must remember to do is to apply a whole lotta translucent powder under your eyes before you apply them because there will be fall out. After application just dust the powder off. This is the one thing I wish the product did not have. It takes away the whole easy application thingy. May be if the powder was a little more dense there wouldn't be a whole lotta fall out. This is the only thing keeping me from getting more of these kohl liners. I avoid mineral makeup for this very reason - fall outs. — 5 years, 2 months ago
    indiangirl | 8 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 3

    Not a favorite

    I find it doesn't stay on and "chips". Considering there are many products that work better I wouldn't spend you money on this product. — 5 years, 2 months ago
    tksinclair | 14 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 10 Best Long-Wear Eyeliners

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 8

    Great for the waterline

    The first time I tried out L'Oreal Kohl Eyeliner in Gold Kohl and Navy Kohl, I just lined my top lid like I would with a regular pencil liner and it was a total mess! I got fallout from the liner ALL OVER my eyes and under my eyes. When I tried to wipe it off, it smudged into a black streaky mess. I looked like a raccoon and had to use makeup remover to wipe the whole thing off. The following day...read more, I tried again but just lined my waterliner. It worked! And lasted all day, which is rare. It seems like when I apply other liners on my waterline it only takes a few minutes before they wear off. I tried the Gold Kohl first, it is a super luxe, metallic, shimmery shade. I have brown eyes and on me, this was just a nice pop of color. Gorgeous! Navy Kohl is much more intense. It almost looks like a soft black, but has a little shimmer to it, which is really pretty. This liner would be great for night time makeup. I also lined my top lid, but this time I used an angled brush. I just dipped the brush onto the Kohl eyeliner applicator and it worked fine. My only other problem with this product is that mine came unsealed, and I've read online that they are sold unsealed. That's just gross for an eye product, in my opinion. On the positive side, it's a very good quality knockoff of Guerlain Terracotta Loose Powder Kohl, which retails for $34.00. L'Oreal HIP High Intensity Pigments Kohl Eyeliner is only $13.00! — 5 years ago
    haironthebrain | 17 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend