L'Oréal Paris HiP Studio Secrets Professional Kohl Eyeliner Reviews

Back to L'Oreal Paris HiP Studio Secrets Professional Kohl Eyeliner»
Sort by:
  • 4

    Ouch!

    Props to LOreal in the creativity department but I found the stiff but spongy applicator tip to be a little too pointy for the delicate eye area. The idea is cool -- a soft, powdery finish that glides on like a pencil -- but the applicator is too stiff. Also found application to be slightly messy and flaky. Boo. Wanted to like it. — 5 years, 1 month ago
    azspagirl | 45 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 4

    Not loving this

    I really do love L'Oreal Paris, especially the HiP products but this loose-powder liner is not for me! It's messy. I love the color options but the product application is not worth the effort or the price. — 5 years, 1 month ago
    amominred | 69 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 6

    It's okay

    Another cool new product from L'Oreal HIP are these kohl eyeliners. The applicator is a stiff felt tip which applies the loose pigment stored in the jar. The colors Navy and Gold are extremely wearable and in style for this season. I decided to be Santa for a day and gave some of these Kohl liners to my friends, they loved it! Check out what I like and dislike about the product below: PROS -Easy ...read moreto apply -Vibrant color payoff CONS -There is a bit of fallout after applying the product. Make sure to shake the excess powder off the applicator when you apply. -The large applicator might not apply the thinnest line. — 5 years, 1 month ago
    makeupbyrenren | 19 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 16 Best Eyeliners under $10

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 9

    Moody Maria likes it!

    L'Oreal's HIP line is definitely for those who want High Intensity Pigment. I tried this eyeliner in black and gold. The eyeliner is actually a powder and is applied with a very fine spongy applicator. I think practice makes perfect with this applicator. First gather some powder, tap to remove excess and then slowly apply the powder. Don't be fooled- it is not eyeshadow and will stay in place! I ...read moreused too much the first time and had to remove a bit and smudge it to look less dramatic. For a night outing, this product is perfect! The gold color was a tad too intense for me for the daytime. I would definitely use it for evening and with turquoise shadow. It is really rich in color and vibrant! I loved using the product but I do think practice makes perfect and it is not a good product for moms that quick to run out the door! — 5 years, 1 month ago
    moodymaria | 42 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 1

    Hate It

    These liners smudge too easily to wear for any length of time. I live in Northern Florida and I need products that are not effected by heat. These tend to travel from my upper, lower and waterline quickly and leave my face looking like a hot mess, which is not a good thing. I still love the L’Oreal HiP Creme Liners and I will continue to use those. These however are just not for me. — 5 years, 1 month ago
    Share | 20 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 7

    tap off excess before use

    i actually like these. each is like using an eyeshadow as a liner, but instead of applying with a brush, you apply it with the fine, felt-tip applicator. they last long without smudging or smearing-- always a good thing-- but one thing i strongly advise when using these is to tap off the excess so the pigments won't fall onto your cheek. — 5 years, 1 month ago
    beauty_girl_musings | 136 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 8

    Lovely Color, Perhaps Not for the Novice - Practice Makes Perfect!

    The first time I used this product, I had a problem with it. I didn't apply it very well, and some product ended up in under my contact and irritated my eye pretty badly. However, practice makes perfect with this applicator, and the more comfortable I got with it, the more I liked it. I've always liked a stiff brush for my liquid eyeliner, and many of the same benefits apply for a powder liner. If...read more you apply the hard applicator at an angle and drag it along the eye, you will get a beautiful, traditional kohl line that can be built on for more depth. The pigments are nice and dark, just the way I like them, and even on the lighter colors like gold, they don't get lost on the eye. To reduce fallout, which is a problem with any powder liner, in my experience, make sure to tap the applicator wand well against the bottle before pulling it completely out. — 5 years, 1 month ago
    Retrodiva | 159 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 3

    Messy, Messy, Messy!

    The L'Oreal HIP (High Intensity Pigment) line, well overall I think the line is too youthful for those of us over 40. The colors are extremely vibrant and shocking. However, that being said there are a few things in the line worth taking a look at like this Kohl Eyeliner. I've been testing the shades charcoal and gold. The charcoal is a beautiful shade, the gold however just doesn't seem ...read moreto make sense to me as an eyeliner. It's more of a shadow color than liner color. The brush is built into the package and it is a very stiff brush that rather frightened me to put it near my eye, thinking clumsy me would poke an eye out! I thought that maybe this was a liquid, but when I opened it I realized - oh no, it's a powder, and a powder that flakes all over. Personally, I am not loving this product. If the brush was more soft and manageable and the powder stuck to the brush better instead of flaking all over, it'd be a great product. I just don't have time to deal with the mess to make it look great. — 5 years, 1 month ago
    fabulousover40 | 88 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9

    9 out of ten - one flaw

    I'm really surprised the product got such a low rating from a lot of people. Well, like I mentioned in my review of L'Oreal's HIP Color Presso lip gloss, I use a specific criteria to evaluate just about any beauty product. Aside for a product's particular features such as ingredients and package design, I use real practical evaluators to help me decide if a product is a "No" or a "...read moreGo." This is my 50 cents worth: This Eyeliner is so easy to apply, I couldn't believe how easy. I usually have to line my eye more than once to get a dark enough line to my liking. The Kohl Eyeliner is probably one of the best liners I've ever used. It applies better than an average liquid liner. My only usability critique is that the applicator tip could be softer. If you're like me and apply your eyeliner to the inner rim of the bottom lid, then you could appreciate what I mean. This eyeliner is absolutely gorgeous against my brown skin. It gives a beautiful gold shimmery tone in one fell swoop. No negatives for likability here. As for staying power, The Kohl Eyeliner gets an "A". I tend to rub my eyes during the day (working on the computer all day) but the eye liner is still holding on by end of day. I realize others my have a different opinion of this product but I have to say that if nothing else, you HAVE to get the gold Kohl Eyeliner (just be soft handed putting it on). I didn't even think I would like how this eye liner would look on me but I am really feeling it minus it's one negative. — 5 years, 1 month ago
    Reviyve | 16 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 16 Best Eyeliners under $10

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 7

    Very Pigmented

    The pigmentation of these kohl liners from L'Oreal HiP is really good. I feel like using a high end product. I got Navy Kohl and Gold Kohl liners, one for everyday use and the other for summertime. The applicator is tricky to use at first but once I got a hang of it, I can make a good thin line or a thick one. However, as these are in powder form, they fall out a lot. While the fall outs from Gold Kohl look like highlighters on my cheeks, the ones from Navy Kohl are too obvious. — 5 years, 1 month ago
    Dao | 19 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend