L'Oréal Paris HiP Studio Secrets Professional Kohl Eyeliner Reviews

Back to L'Oreal Paris HiP Studio Secrets Professional Kohl Eyeliner»
Sort by:
  • 4

    Too Hard to Use!

    I've been using the L'Oreal Paris HiP (High Intensity Pigments) Kohl Eyeliner ($11.99) for the past month and do not recommend it. Don't get me wrong, L'Oreal has some great stuff, but this is not one of them. So why don't we get along? Well, most of all, every morning was a constant battle. Once I finished trying not to poke my eye out with the pointy applicator (ouch!), I discovered I had powde...read morery stuff all over the the tops of my cheeks - so not cool! I would then have to go back over with my mineral make-up to get rid of it. Such a hassle! I used the navy and actually loved the color (and the liner really didn't look bad once I was able to apply!), but the ease of use was just too much for me. So, lately I've been using my eyeliner brush again dipped into a pot of my favorite color. (I won't name names just yet but I'm telling you, you're going to love this one!) — 5 years, 4 months ago
    iheartheels | 26 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 1

    BIG thumbs down

    When I saw the word 'Kohl', I was really excited. I LOVE traditional Kohl liners. They are amazing. This is nothing like a traditional Kohl liner. There is so much wrong witht this product I don't know where to start. I really wanted to like this. I honestly did. this is absolutely nothing like a traditional Kohl liner. Nothing. I tested it with my friend, Aymee. I'm a guy, so I couldn't...read more wear it around outside, so she did. First, the packaging looks cool. But that's where the good ends......the applicator is awkward, the jar is way too big for the small amount of product, and it is INCREDIBLY MESSY. I am a professional makeup artist, and the powder was falling all over the place. I wonder how a non-professional would apply it. It fell all over the place. It also didn't adhere well. I found myself having to take it out apply it to my hand, then take a brush to properly apply it. This is a huge tactical error for L'Oreal. I mean, come on...didn't you guys try this out before you approved it for sales? I can't believe how horrible the applicator is. The colors are okay. Nothing to write home about, and nothing I haven't seen before. The gold was not that pretty, and the black was nice, but it's kind of hard to go wrong with black. My friend wore it all day in New York, and her email said that "it was horrible. I looked like a raccoon. It didn't stay on, and kept falling off all day long!!!!" She was not impressed at all. I've never been a big fan of powder eyeliners, and these are the exact reasons why. L'Oreal just confirmed it all for me. honestly, I wouldn't even buy this to play around with. There's really nothing worthwhile about the packaging or the product to buy it. BIG thumbs down — 5 years, 4 months ago
    CdrumBeauty | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 2

    Disappointing

    L'Oreal's HIP Kohl Eyeliner is a fabulous idea (a powder eyeliner in a tube with a brush wand for application) but it's really messy and hard to apply. The brush does not "give" when you sweep it across your lashline so you end up dropping the powder on your cheeks (and this stuff as staying power so you need to use makeup remover to get it off). I tried the Burgundy color which is a l...read moreovely wine shade with specs of gold in it, but was too light for my taste. When I use an eyeliner I like it to go on thicker and then giving me the ability to smudge it so it's less harsh. This one went on very light and I needed to work hard to get the color I wanted. Overall I was just disappointed and would never buy this product again. — 5 years, 4 months ago
    mcgreggsy | 15 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 10 Best Long-Wear Eyeliners

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 7

    Only if you are a tight liner...

    If you don't line the inner rims of your eye with liner (Eastern application, aka 'tight lining'), you'll probably be more confused than anything else by this. But if like me, you do - these could be really fantastic for you. I always top off my liner with a matching shadow - not suggested if you don't like things in your eyes...My one complaint? The price of these items is a little too high for a...read more drugstore brand, more on par with MAC's price points. If you can nab them on sale when they are BOGO - they are totally worth it. — 5 years, 4 months ago
    mikaela | 92 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9

    Gave Me Shimmery Summer Smoky Eyes BUT Can Be Messy

    The applicator is a stiff felt tip which applies the loose pigment stored in the jar. Thanks to the rich pigmentation, these actually stay put really well. The colors I tried were Navy Kohl, and Gold Kohl which were extremely wearable and in style for the summer season. I liked the gold color for inner eye highlighting. I used the navy to create the smoky navy blue eyes These are my Pros and Cons...read more about the product. Pros- Very easy to apply, highly pigmented rich in color and vibrant! Cons- Since it’s a loose powder on a felt tip, it could be slightly messy and flaky. Just remember to tap the eyeliner over the sink to release the excess before application. Overall it gave me a shimmery summer smoky eyes! — 5 years, 5 months ago
    marta100 | 33 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 5

    Great result, but difficult execution

    As others have already mentioned, there were some frustrations in the application of these powders. . I found the wand to be difficult to control, mostly due to the bulky cap and poor grip. But beyond that, the fallout from this product is ridiculous. Even after blowing, knocking, tapping excess from the applicator, I would inevitably end up with navy or gold dust sprinkled essentially all over m...read morey face, necessitating a re-do of any already-perfected foundation. Sadly, the final result on the eye was actually quite pretty. And I was darn impressed with the wear the product has. On me, it definitely had more staying-power than most of the eyeliners already in my collection. If they could figure out a way to make the application easier and do something about the fallout, this would be a darn near perfect eyeliner. — 5 years, 5 months ago
    talk2uranalyst | 157 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 6

    Rough and Messy with Decent Color

    While I love new ways of putting on eyeliner, I'm not sure L'Oreal did such a great job on this one. Their latest edition to the HIP High Intensity Pigment Collection leaves much to be desired. I like the concept of loose kohl eyeliner, but this one is way too messy. The wand is a bit on the rough side and I ended up getting powder all over. I thought the strength of the pigment was decent, but th...read moree messy factor was a bit of an issue for me. I liked the golden color for inner-eye highlighting, but the rough brush isn't very pleasant on the delicate skin. Next! — 5 years, 5 months ago
    beautyjunkieinsf | 17 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 6

    Messy!

    Hip's Kohl Eyeliners are very very pigmented, and contrary to the lumpy appearance of the loose powder on the applicator, apply smoothly. Well what about lasting power? Thanks to the rich pigmentation these actually stay put really well, but I did have some trouble with smudging on my upper lash line which isn't surprising since I have very oily eyelids. I do love these for the waterline though--t...read morehey makes for a great pop of color that lasts for hours on end. The applicator leaves a little something to be desired. It's rather rigidly constructed, and the stiffness makes for difficult application (at least for uncoordinated lil' old me) and tons of fallout. — 5 years, 5 months ago
    beautysentiment | 14 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 4

    Great Color, Messy Application

    ve been eyeballing the small vials of L'Oreal HIP Kohl eyeliner for the past several months. I alternately thought, "Wow, that eyeliner looks intriguing," and 'Wow, that eyeliner is probably an absolute mess." Turns out, I was right. This eyeliner is equal parts intriguing and mess. We'll start with intriguing. This loose powder eyeliner comes in a great range of colors, all of wh...read moreich are highly pigmented (because that's the HIP line's thing). I tried Gold Kohl and Navy Kohl, and I loved the final look that both of them created. Gold Kohl looks great as an accent to soft brown eye shadow. It's more concentrated than sparkly, which I thought was a nice twist. So often gold liners end up looking harsh and disco-ey. Navy Kohl is absolutely amazing. Navy is softer, though no less effective, than black. I worked both day and night looks with this eyeliner - for day, I smudged it close to my lash line and added mascara. It made my eyes look bigger and brighter (always a good thing during boring meetings at work). For night, I drew a thicker line with the Kohl and added lots of mascara. The result was a Bombshell-worthy "come hither" effect. Nothing good comes without a price, though, and the cost of this Kohl isn't just the $13 you'll shell out at the drugstore to buy it. This stuff is a mess. The vial of loose powder features a screw-top applicator that was hard to get used to. The applicator isn't quite a brush so much as a hard piece of plastic that's moderately flexible. Drop down is a given with loose powders, so be prepared to wind up with kohl liner all over your face. By the third day of using it, I'd begun to apply the eyeliner first and then put on the rest of my makeup. It was no less messy but at least I wasn't ruining 5 minutes-worth of makeup application. In the end, I went back to my trusty gel liner. Although not as smoldering as L'Oreal HIP Kohl eyeliner, the effect with gel is almost the same. And application is not as trying. I'm still a big fan of the HIP line - if you've been thinking about giving it a try and aren't sure where to dip your toes in, I love the HIP Color Presso Lip Gloss. Can't go wrong there. — 5 years, 5 months ago
    bombshellblog | 25 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 10 Best Long-Wear Eyeliners

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 3

    Hot N' Kohl

    Here's the thing. I really wanted to like the L'Oreal HIP Kohl Eyeliner. Like, for realz, I wanted to like it. The shadow itself was a great intense navy blue with shimmer and I was having all kinds of fantasies about my smoky eyes and whatnot. The applicator was interesting, basically a conical stick to which the loose powder sticks and then you apply it to your eyelids. Well. Let's just say ...read moreit was a big FAIL. Normally, when I go out with my husband, I'm given maybe ten minutes to apply makeup and if I start futzing around with a new product, let's just say the questions never end. Men seem generally confused by makeup. Why is that? Every woman uses it. There are ads everywhere. Yet they still seem baffled by the fact that you have to put it on every day and take it off every night. Anyways, I was going out with a girlfriend and decided it was the perfect time to try this out. Let's just say it's a good thing I started early, because I got so much blue eyeshadow on my face it looked like I went 10 rounds with Mike Tyson. I actually had to wash my face and try again. Eventually, I managed to get a nice smoky eye, but it involved many Q-tips, eye makeup remover, and a reapplication of blush. And I'm still not sure people didn't think I was secretly involved in a fight club. So, bottom line? Not worth the hassle. Although, being a suspected fight clubber is pretty badass. Unless there is a secret to kohl liner that I was never taught in my school of beauty hard knocks. — 5 years, 5 months ago
    CapHillBarbie | 2 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend