Philosophy Hope in a Jar SPF 20 Reviews

Back to Philosophy Hope in a Jar SPF 20»
Sort by:
  • 1

    Smelled terrible

    I tried to use this product. It smells awful, but I really wanted to try it. The smell was so foul that about three minutes after I applied this, I went back to the bathroom to wash this off, and even THEN I couldn't get all of the scent out! I usually love Philosophy's products but this one was not a winner. — 3 weeks, 3 days ago
    jessielou910 | 113 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 13 Best Body Lotions Under $10

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 1

    Not worth it

    It did nothing for my mom even after a week. The only thing it did do is start to break down into its individual components. There was an oily layer that started to form on the top and was just disgusting. Returned it for our money back. — 1 year, 4 months ago
    magictheatre | 64 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 2

    No thanks.

    Philosophy products are over priced , irritate skin, smell terrible,don't do what there promoted to do,greasey, awful high ph. — 2 years, 1 month ago
    rodgers | 18 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 1

    hope in a jar

    Did not seem any better then other moisurizers. After using mine for a while I threw it away because of the smell. It had the smell of a sour dishcloth — 2 years, 10 months ago
    sally_a_reese | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 11 Worst Face Moisturizers

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 1

    Awful

    Mine separate in the container. It was oily, went on really weird, and smelled. I'm a philosophy girl and really really dislike this product. The sweet lady who sells me philosophy said that they've had quite a few problems with this moisturizer. — 4 years ago
    HunnyPots | 36 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 1

    too oily

    I find this stuff way too oily for me. My skin is usually a little on the dry side and this was way too over powering still. It caused me to break out badly. I am so glad that I only bought the sample size from sephora, because it would have been a huge waste for me. Even the sample size was too expensive for how terrible this product was . I'm very disappointed. — 4 years, 6 months ago
    skorn30 | 2 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 1

    Not so great

    I love Philosophy products, however, this is not one of my favorites. It's not at all like the regular Hope in a Jar. This moisturizer has a weird, clumpy texture. It's difficult to scoop out of the jar and difficult to apply to your face. Another thing I don't like about this product is the smell. It has a strange chemical/sunscreen smell. I don't mind smelling like sunscreen in the summer,...read more but I don't care to smell like it in the fall/winter. It's not a good sunscreen smell either. Finally, this product makes my face VERY shiny. Not a nice natural, dewy glow, just shiny and greasy. Skip this stuff and just use regular Hope in a Jar with your own sunscreen. — 5 years ago
    Hotpinkgirl7 | 26 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 13 Best Body Lotions Under $10

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 3

    "Hope"-ing this isn't indicative as to the quality of Philosophy's other products

    When it comes to sunscreen, I am appreciative of those companies who do not try to fool me into thinking I am getting sun protection but leaving me unprotected against UVA rays. (SPF is a measure only of protection against UVB rays.) So I have to give credit to Philosophy for including avobenzone in this formula. That, unfortunately, is the only good thing I can say about Hope in a Jar SPF 20. ...read more I experienced some of the same problems mentioned by other reviewers (product separates into oil and cream, breakouts with regular use, et al.) but those paled in comparison to the scent issue. I found the perfume-y fragrance overpowering and had to discontinue use - and I rarely stop using a product before it's finished, even if I'm not a fan. — 5 years, 1 month ago
    MuffinMcG | 15 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend