Aveda Dry Remedy Moisturizing Shampoo Reviews

Back to Aveda Dry Remedy Moisturizing Shampoo»
Sort by:
  • 8

    Expensive, But It Works

    I was surprised when I first opened this product. Unlike most shampoos I’ve used over the years, this one was thicker and denser than I’m used too. I was also taken back by the scent of this product, it is a floral scent, that brings up images of health food stores and organic flowers. Which is a good thing because many of the main ingredients of this product are certified organic. W...read morehen I worked this shampoo into my hair, it didn’t foam up like most shampoos. I did feel like it cleaned my hair well, it didn’t feel weighed down after I rinsed it out. When I was testing this out, I tried just washing my hair with this, without following it up with my conditioner. I wanted to see if this product was as moisturizing as it claimed to be on its own. I was pleasantly surprised to discover that my hair was really soft after using only this, however it was quite frizzy. This is usually normal for me after I wash my hair, it normally doesn’t settle down until the second day after washing it. But it seemed that my hair was frizzier than normal when I used just this product. — 5 years, 7 months ago
    Share | 20 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 9

    loves it

    This shampoo smells AWESOME! There's a floral aroma that goes off in my shower and honestly has me lathering for at least a minute or two longer than I'm supposed to. The scent alone had me smiling in the shower and it did not make my hair feel icky in while lathering. This baby rinsed of like a dream. Not only is the scent intoxicating but it really works on my dry semi relxaed hair (it's about that time for me to touch up my roots). — 5 years, 7 months ago
    MissWhoeverYouAre | 17 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 10

    LOVE IT, FABULOUS

    I AM THE MOST DEMANDING WOMAN WHEN IT COMES TO MY HAIR. THIS WEEK I JUST RETURNED TO SEPHORA THE LINE 'ojon" Gal, I never thought I would find a great shampoo. It does lather and lather a lot . You just need to add on very wet hair and massage. Lather so much that I washed my whole body with it. I couldn't belive my hair didn't tangle. gal, I used to be 1 hour just to de-tangle the hair. wow, I am impressed and 100% HOOKED. THIS IS MY VERY HONEST OPINION. — 5 years, 7 months ago
    beauty_fab | 16 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 16 Best Heat Styling Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 6

    good shampoo...

    Aveda! What high hopes I had for the new Dry Remedy collection! I recently checked out all three components of this line, the Moisturizing Shampoo, the Moisturizing Conditioner and the Moisturizing Treatment Masque and was actually a little let down. My hair is about as dry as it comes and it’s also highly textured (I guess that’s what we’re calling it these days). If you st...read moreill use Andre Walker’s curl pattern classification system , I’d be a 4B – with pretty acute tenderheadedness to boot. That said, I am constantly on the hunt for a super rich, creamy and moisturizing weekly conditioner and the Moisturizing Conditioner component of this trio didn’t quite cut it. It was a little watery and I didn’t feel like I was using a super moisturizing product. If your hair is similar to mine, you can definitely skip this part. On a brighter note, the shampoo was fab! You can’t really go wrong with a shampoo. It’s creamy, it foams and it’s moisturizing. No complaints! The Moisturizing Treatment Masque was not bad. I found that this intensive treatment provided my hair with a better fit for a weekly conditioner than the Moisturizing Conditioner. All three products in this line are scented with Aveda’s Own Pure-Fume â„¢, a blend of certified organic palmarosa, ylang ylang and rose geranium. They also feature Aveda’s patent pending Deep Moisture Complex, a conditioning blend that features the exotic buriti oil . Have any of you guys had a chance to try this line out? — 5 years, 7 months ago
    Beauty365 | 7 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 8

    Great Shampoo!

    This product works. And it works great. Especially since Winter is fast approaching, this product line will definitely help your dried out tresses. I can definitely see a difference between standard drugstore shampoo and higher end shampoos. Both products left my hair noticeably softer, smoother and healthier. My only drawback for this line is the price and quite frankly, the smell! — 5 years, 7 months ago
    fabulessbeauty | 66 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 7

    Good for the dry winter air

    This has made a big difference in my hair since the heat is on in our house. A good product for those in dry air environments. — 5 years, 8 months ago
    berwyn | 14 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 15 Worst Shampoos

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 8

    Dry Hair Lifesaver!

    If you're like me, you have oily hair and try not use too many products for fear of pumping up the oil factor. But, if you're like my mom, you have completely dry hair and can't seem to pump enough moisture in your tresses (oh, how us oily-hair gals envy you!). That's where Aveda's new Dry Remedy haircare system comes to the rescue. There are three steps to the system, meant for the driest, most b...read morerittle hair (totally my mom - she can go an entire week without washing her hair! sigh...). First, you have the moisturizing shampoo ($24), which should be used daily. My mom uses this and loves how the fragrance isn't too overpowering (just a relaxing slight hint of floral), and it really adds moisture to her dry hair. Next, you should follow with the moisturizing conditioner ($24) (daily as well) - this really helps dangle the hair, which is nice when you go to comb it. And last, the moisturizing treatment masque ($26) gives that extra tender-loving care - this is what really penetrates into the hair and inputs all the moisture. You should only use this once a week or as needed. In a recent study by Aveda, this system improved dry hair by up to 63% - isn't that amazing? So what makes this system work so well? It's a blend of deep moisture conditioners like buriti oil and pomegranate. Macadamia nut oil detangles, while special organic oils like sunflower, jojoba and soybean really lock the moisture in for long-lasting results. Your dry hair never felt so good. — 5 years, 8 months ago
    iheartheels | 26 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9

    Love it!!

    first, i have to say, ADD WATER to the shampoo, don't use more shampoo!! it will lather up-- i promise! when i used this for the first time, i seriously thought i was using the wrong product-- it was so creamy, and not lathering up! i looked at the tube i had used, and i wasn't using the wrong one, it was that the consistency was different than any other shampoo i had ever used. so, after puttin...read moreg MORE WATER (very important!) on my head, it began to lather up into a beautiful, foamy dream... i love this shampoo...it's so moisturizing and leaves my hair feeling wonderful! — 5 years, 8 months ago
    beauty_girl_musings | 136 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 8

    Great for Thick Hair

    Use a little on dry hair before you wet your hair and slowly add water for a ton of lather. It's thick, rich and gives you a ton of moisture. — 5 years, 8 months ago
    HookedOnBeauty | 127 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 16 Best Heat Styling Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 8

    Delivers on its Promise!

    A rich, creamy formula with gentle sudsing action, this shampoo used in conjunction with the Dry Remedy Conditioner and Masque made my normally dry hair soft, shiny and happy. — 5 years, 8 months ago
    azspagirl | 45 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend