Maybelline New York Define-A-Lash Volume Washable Mascara Reviews

Back to Maybelline New York Define-A-Lash Volume Washable Mascara»
Sort by:
  • 10

    LOVE my full, lovely lashes! Great for contacts, too!

    i first fell in love with define a lash when maybelline came out with the "lime green tube" mascara. i received multiple compliments from friends (and even strangers) about my lashes. last month i was at target ready to pick up my green tube when i saw the pink tube right next to it. i love this even more! it creates full, thick, long lashes that make my eyes look big and bright. it'...read mores not gloppy or goopy. as a hard contact wearer, that i VERY important. so many mascaras flake and irritate my eyes. and YES, i've gotten lash compliments with this, too! (make sure that you always, always remove all of your mascara before applying again. it might seem like a no-brainer, but naked lashes make the best canvas for thick, non-gloppy lashes!) — 4 years, 11 months ago
    tinylittlebird | 88 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 8

    GREAT-as long as you have a mascara comb !! :P

    I always had this mascara in the back of my collection, and was never really interested in it. But recently I have tried it out with a lash curler and comb and it works very well. It is washable, it comes off with baby oil(what I use as a cheap, hypoallergenic alternative). The Color is truly a BLACK!! It leaves your lashes thick and separated .I will definitely repurchase. — 4 years, 11 months ago
    orianadaly | 18 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 1

    Worst ever.

    I actually had the waterproof version of this, but for some reason, they don't have that on this site, so I will review this one instead. Anyway, it was the Worst. Ever. It flaked a whole lot. It got in my eyes and left giant smudges on my contact lenses that wouldn't come off for days (ophthalmologist tested?? puh-lease). It was just plain terrible. By far the worst mascara I've ever used. And the brush is shaped stupidly, too. — 5 years, 1 month ago
    amandaizcool | 21 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 12 Worst Mascaras

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 1

    Yuck

    I tried this mascara after seeing it in Allure Magazine (or possibly Lucky - can't remember which), and was extremely disappointed. I think in general I prefer a bristle brush as opposed to a plastic brush, but the product itself was horrible. It made my lashes stiff and clumpy (when the review I read in the magazine said the complete opposite). Either I got a defective tube or the reviews are off! — 5 years, 1 month ago
    MandyBee | 12 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 8

    nice rich color, excellent definition, no flaking

    i have really sensitive lashes and hate stuff that flakes off or sticks to may lashes causing tham to break. this is one of the only mascaras i have found that doesn't, and my eyes always pop when i use it. using the brush takes a little practice, however i find the stiff plastic bristles really reach to the bottom of the lashes, coating all the little hairs. it does deposit a lot on each lash, i ...read morekeep working the brush to separate, which they do easily and neatly. great product, great price. and i'm a mascara junkie. the only other mascara i like this much is lancome definicils. — 5 years, 3 months ago
    e_rocks_the_red | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 10

    awesome!

    I've tried alot of mascaras including a few high-end ones, and none of them do as great of a job at thickening, lengthening and separating my lashes. Plus, I love the pink tube! — 5 years, 4 months ago
    smjnrlb | 6 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 5

    your going-to-work mascara

    This mascara was OK, it definitely defines each lash but does not create volume. I could see this mascara working better on someone who already has thick lashes but wants to lengthen them. It's a great, subtle day look but did not make my eyes pop. I have few lashes so I prefer Dior Show in Blackout, or Max Factor 2000 Calorie — 5 years, 4 months ago
    Tparty | 8 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 2

    washable and waterproof versions, ew.

    I have tried both the washable and waterproof versions, and I don't like either one! Both are clumpy and very difficult to remove. These don't add any volume, just nasty buildup on lashes. Don't waste your money. — 5 years, 4 months ago
    scarlettbutler | 10 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 6

    its an okay product

    i dont really wear mascara but i like this one, its my favorite. — 5 years, 4 months ago
    kgomez90 | 2 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 12 Worst Mascaras

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 5

    "Not Great" mascara

    I liked the packaging.. so I picked up this to try. The wand is a filmsy plastic & bends easily when you try to force it back into the tube. The brush does not want to go back in! The mascara itself is just okay. My tube doesn't seem to have a lot of mascara in it.. its kind of dry & for one eye - I have to dig in tot he tube maybe 3 times to get full coverage. I will not buy this again. — 5 years, 5 months ago
    BaliBabi | 71 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend