Mario Badescu Skin Care Mario Badescu Enzyme Cleansing Gel Reviews

Back to Mario Badescu Skin Care Mario Badescu Enzyme Cleansing Gel»
Sort by:
  • 10

    Gentle and effective

    I first received this product as a free sample, purchased a full size bottle and have been using it for about two months. My skin is combination, acne-prone (closed comedones are my main concern, some cystic acne) and tends to throw acne and flaking fits in cold weather or dry conditions. This cleanser is gentle enough for the drier areas of my face, but effective at removing oil, dirt and most ma...read morekeup. The bottle has a nice cap for dispensing a controlled amount of cleanser, and you only need an amount the size of a pea to wash face and neck. I sometimes go as extravagant as a dime-sized dollop when removing makeup, or double-cleanse beginning with Cerave's foaming facial cleanser and following up with this and follow with a toner (whatever is around, usually). The cleanser is a creamy gel that smells fresh and a bit fruity. You can glide it on to a wet face or smooth it over dry skin, which I feel works a little better at giving me a "glow" but is harder to manage. I work it in a little with my fingers and leave the thin layer of cleanser on my face for a minute or two, then I rinse with warm water and gently wipe with a wet washcloth. I've also used this with a facial brush. It's a bit strange having no lather, but my face does get very clean. Over time this product has smoothed out the bumpy texture of the skin on my forehead a bit, and I'm having success using it as part of an acne-prevention regimen. If your skin is very dry you might prefer a cleansing milk instead, and if your skin is very oily or you have lots of blackheads you might prefer MB's acne facial cleanser, which has salicylic acid. But for normal skin or combination skin with acne that isn't very severe, this is a nice choice that won't strip your face. — 2 years, 4 months ago
    gikrl | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 10

    Some pretty good stuff!

    While ordering some other items from Mario Badescu, I noticed I need a few more dollars to get that "spend $50s and get FREE shipping" and totally fell for it. After searching around the website for something I know for sure I would use, I choose this. Well all I gotta say is it is worth the $. I had a full face of make up on and it took all of it off...with the exception of mascara, but really ...read moreI think that eye make up remover really only does the job! Anyway, this is definitely a keeper in my medicine cabinet now. — 2 years, 10 months ago
    MelissaV | 30 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 3

    Makeup Still There

    My skin feels good after cleansing. Unfortunately, a lot of the makeup (mineral powders, and long wearing foundation) is still on my skin after 2 sweeps from a reliable exfoliating/rinsing toner. I still use it as a morning cleanser. — 3 years, 2 months ago
    taylorsgems | 70 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 1 people said helpful

  • 11 Best Face Cleansing Towelettes

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 3

    Not for me... :(

    my complain is that when I started using it, my face just got so many pimples...which that doesn't happen to me frequently & I had to stop using it :( — 3 years, 8 months ago
    heidihannibal33 | 13 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 4 people said helpful

  • 10

    one of the best cleansers I've ever used

    I really liked the Enzyme Cleansing Gel from Mario Badescu! I had requested a sample package from them a while ago, just got it yesterday, and was pleasantly surprised at the multitude of products I received samples of and couldn’t wait to use it. Last night I went through the whole package and used a little bit of every single item! I do have sensitive skin, so I was a little hesitant about usi...read moreng things that aren’t in my normal routine, but I’m glad I did this time. The Cleansing Gel was first, and I was immediately struck by the fact that even though it doesn’t foam, it really got my skin super clean but did not leave it feeling tight or stripped or irritated at all, which are common complaints I often have with other cleansers. And despite how gentle it is on skin, it actually got every trace my makeup off, even my mascara! It does also have a very pleasant smell, as is something I’ve noticed with many of the Mario Badescu products. I like the fresh green scent, it reminds me of aloe as another person mentioned in their review. After massaging it all over my face, and then rinsing off, I did notice that my face actually felt a little smoother, which I would not doubt at all has to do with the enzymes clearing off dead skin cells from the surface of my skin. Amazing! Once I was done rinsing, I was even more impressed. Normally when I use a cleanser I feel like I need to immediately slather my face in moisturizer because it feels dry. Not so with this one! I actually felt like I could have been done with my routine at that point, my face was still naturally moisturized, and it felt soft and smooth. So ultimately, I’d say this is a hit! — 3 years, 9 months ago
    tr3kkie9rl | 21 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 2 people said helpful

  • 8

    Gentle yet effective

    This stuff doesn't dry out my skin and cleans it very well without feeling like there is a film left on your face like some cleansers. I use this face wash in combination with the Mario B acne face wash (switch off everyother day) and my skin is in check! The 2 washes balance eachother out well... if you have sensitive combination skin that tends to break out easily like me, I suggest you give i...read moret a try! I've only been using this for 3 weeks but I will continue to use with the results i'm getting. — 3 years, 11 months ago
    JYoung1272 | 72 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 17 Best Face Cleansers

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    Love this stuff

    This is the best cleanser by far I've ever used! I have the most sensitive skin in the world and I can't use much but I tried this and WOW! It cleans so nicely and feels wonderful. It makes my skin so soft and it's not drying at all. Great for oily skin types. I use this with my clarisonic and I get a nice deep clean! — 4 years, 1 month ago
    pink_petunia08 | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 10

    Mario Badescu Enzyme Gel

    LOVE this cleanser - I was having a big problem with literally every other face wash clogging the pores on my nose resulting in a lot of blackheads, used this for a week and 90% of them were totally gone!! I use along with the Special Cucumber Lotion and my skin has never looked better. Also, if you have oily skin, this cleans really well but doesn't leave your face feeling dry and tight afterwards. Try it - You won't be dissapointed☺ — 4 years, 9 months ago
    rachel_held | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 9

    Love it

    Although I wish this cleanser foamed a little, it did wonders for my skin. After using it, my skin feels clean, smooth, and soft. It clears up any acne and does not dry out my combination skin at all. — 4 years, 10 months ago
    shortbutsweet92 | 55 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 11 Best Face Cleansing Towelettes

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    Perfection!

    I have tried all sorts of cleansers for my oily, breakout prone AND aging skin. This gel based cleanser blows them all far, far away! Cleans away oil, grime and make up without leaving my skin tight or flaky like most cleansers for oily skin do. My face has never felt smoother and my pores seems to be shrinking due to the fact they aren't clogged up anymore. The consistency may throw you and the w...read morehole no foaming thing but I promise, you will love this product just as much as I do. A 16oz bottle is $20, and will last for months so it ends up being a very economical investment in clearer, smoother skin! — 5 years ago
    chrissi3144 | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 3 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend



monitoring_string = "e4ea8133a649aad124e80f99f8831005"