Boots No7 Make-Up Base Reviews

Back to Boots No7 Make-Up Base»
Sort by:
  • 3

    I usually LOVE all Boots products, but not a fan

    I have tried several different Make-up bases and this one is not one of my favorites, yucky feel on the face and just feels really heavy. I usually love Boots products, almost all of them, but this one leaves alot to be desired. — 3 years, 7 months ago
    Tiffanys_Face | 133 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 3 people said helpful

  • 1

    yuck!

    I tossed it. Never again! — 3 years, 8 months ago
    sounicka | 2 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 12 Best Makeup Primers

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 1

    Boots No 7 Primer is awful for oily skin!

    This product gets a big “BOOO!” from me. I was enticed by promises of perfectly matte skin and makeup that stays put…so decided to give this a try. After being disappointed by all other primers, including Smashbox and Paula Dorf, I figured – hey, this one is cheap, I’ll give it a try. Well, at first I had high hopes. It went on feeling very dry (which I thought w...read moreould be a good sign for my super oily skin). I applied my Estee Lauder Max Cover foundation over the top of it, and went on with my day. About an hour later I looked in the mirror, and my face looked very blotchy, pores were accentuated, and my skin was just as oily as ever. I put on some Coty powder, hoping to conceal the mess, but that only added more cakeyness. Basically, this primer did nothing to absorb oil or help foundation stay put. I couldn’t wait to wash my face and get rid of the horrible thick feeling. Normally, I use a powder primer called Mattify! Loose Powder under my Estee Foundation. It gives me gorgeous long lasting results, so I’m not sure what possessed me to stray from that routine! I saw someone’s comment that they’re always searching for the “Holy Grail” of primers for oily skin, and I believe I’ve found it with the Mattify! Loose Powder by a company online called Mattify Cosmetics. It soaks up oil for about 5 hours - I haven't found any other product that even comes close to that. No gel or liquid primer can compare with the Mattify Powder when it comes to oily skin. As for Boots No 7 Primer…a whole lot of hype, and AWFUL results! — 4 years, 7 months ago
    kristigirl77 | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 2

    not good

    product was hard to blend and made my skin feel and look dry. didnt really hide the redness of my skin that well either. wouldnt buy again. — 4 years, 11 months ago
    renee22 | 127 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 1

    UGH!

    I have oily skin, so shine is always an issue, as is makeup staying power. Finding a primer that works is like searching for the Holy Grail! This stuff, (and I tried the Shine Control version, not the Color Calming), was AWFUL! It's really thick, and quite dry, so it's difficult to apply evenly. I felt like I was wearing a mask--there is no "light" application if this stuff. And, af...read moreter about and hour, since my skin was apparently getting NO oxygen, I looked like a walking oil slick! Since I wasn't at home, I had to make do with just blotting my face all day with whatever I could--tissue, paper towels, even toilet paper! I had about ZERO makeup left at the end of the day---but I DID have 2 new pimples from the blocked pores! NOT worth the money--AT ALL! I was VERY disappointed. — 5 years, 5 months ago
    Renelly | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 5 people said helpful

  • 8

    works great!

    i got this product right before a law school ball and was really suprised. Its thick and gooey but i put it on with a sponge under my makeup and it went on fine. my skin is pretty oily so i was happy to see that hours later my makeup still looked perfect. Now i use this almost everyday even over my eyelids because they tend to get oily. This is a great primer! I just wish it wasnt so gooey!! — 5 years, 6 months ago
    Candace8592 | 60 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  7 of 7 people said helpful

  • 8

    not bad

    I was at target looking for a budget primer. My skin isn't too bad, but I wanted something to do a bit better job at helping my shine. As a previous poster said, this stuff is a little harder to apply than other primers. It is pretty thick and sticky. However, the product does what it is supposed to do. — 6 years, 1 month ago
    ama1221 | 153 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 4 people said helpful

  • 1

    Hard to use

    I am a fan of Boots No7 products so was excited to try this one. Alas, I find it impossible to blend it evenly into my skin. It clumps in the folds (such as around the nose), sticks to fine hairs, etc. When I tried to use it as a spot treatment, my foundation did not spread evenly. — 6 years, 6 months ago
    Fitziepie | 2 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  12 of 12 people said helpful

  • Page:
  • 1
Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend