Neutrogena Build-a-Tan Gradual Sunless Lotion Reviews

Back to Neutrogena Build-a-Tan Gradual Sunless Lotion»
Sort by:
  • 9

    Easy to Use- Very Good Results

    Preparation and application are key to using this or any self tanning products. I have very light English skin so prep before self tanning is imperative for me. If you start with a good body scrub and apply this product in a LIGHT even coat making sure to completely rub it in- your in good shape. After one week's use I am a very believable bronze. The chemical smell starts after about 30 minutes a...read morend lasts for many hours so don't smooth it on before an important date. I like this product better than any gradual tanner I've used in the past. If the smell was absent or just more pleasant it would be a perfect 10. — 6 years, 6 months ago
    melissa912 | 16 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 5

    not bad

    It gives color quicker than other gradual tanners, but definitely has a strong smell. Don't use with a white towel... color will come off after a shower! — 6 years, 6 months ago
    Lizziebelle05 | 8 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 7

    Gradual Tanning

    True to the name, you have to build the tan. In my oppionion it takes too many applications to get a nice glowing tan going on. The smell is terrible like most tanning products. I guess i prefer the airbrush tan :) — 6 years, 6 months ago
    amber06 | 45 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 7 Worst Self-Tanners

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 3

    streaky

    If you're very fair skinned, you won't be happy. I took my time and still came out streaky and it was a little on the orange side. — 6 years, 6 months ago
    LizC77 | 39 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 3

    yellow

    Didn't like this product, it made my skin a little to yellow looking of a tan. — 6 years, 6 months ago
    imjasonc | 296 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 2

    Same color as the bottle

    I have used many self tanners. I now do the mystic tan at the local salon and I get tan. With this product, I looked like Bart Simpson. I did it gradually too. It was awful! — 6 years, 6 months ago
    JENN01979 | 14 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9 Best Self-Tanners

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 3

    Build a Tan

    I did notice a pigment change everyday, except it was more of an orange than brown. It looked completely fake and everyone noticed. It also opened up my pores and made them extremely noticeable. But, it did make my skin very soft. — 6 years, 6 months ago
    jenntoddbri | 7 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 1

    1

    I tried this and hated it. At first it started out looking great but as time passed I looked down at my legs an was like, what is that at my ankles???? It looked like rust. So I started looking more closer at areas I had applied it on me, and it looked as if I was rusting like an old pipe. So I think I will stick to tanning the old fashion ways if all of the self tanning products do this. I do not like this product at all. — 6 years, 6 months ago
    isee_all2 | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 6

    Easy tan

    This is reasonably priced and gives a good color. Be careful when applying so as to prevent streaking and you will be very pleased with the results. Lasts for several days. — 6 years, 6 months ago
    Elllie4 | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 7 Worst Self-Tanners

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 5

    Takes a while

    This lotion produces a nice color, but it takes many applications to notice a change. — 6 years, 6 months ago
    TonnieB | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend