Neutrogena Build-a-Tan Gradual Sunless Lotion Reviews

Back to Neutrogena Build-a-Tan Gradual Sunless Lotion»
Sort by:
  • 4

    Orange

    First of all, it takes forever for the color to build, and when it finally does it turns you orange. It sucks really. Dont buy — 2 years, 6 months ago
    brycemonroe | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 1

    Never buying again

    I used this maybe twice and barely used any ... It turned me the orangest color of orange you could find — 2 years, 8 months ago
    makeupqueen1221 | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 10

    I don't know if its a gradual tanner

    If you read on the back your tan starts develop in two to four hours, so it's not like other gradual self tanners that take days to see results! It says it dries in 5 minutes but I finds its tacky until dry and I love that! I don't have to set the timer! ! It smells lovely citrus, girly, clean!!! I put this on around 11 this morning and my husband came at 3 and noticed I had a little tan!!!! I'm v...read moreery fair and just want a little color so my in laws and step daughters will stop saying I need a tan, or you look so depressed!! One application of this last about a week for me!! I got a pretty deep color!!! Like 3 shades darker than before I put it on and no orange! I am sensitive to dihydroxyacetone which makes every self tanner a self tanner, so I try to make sure I put lotion were I'm supper sensitive but I still get an even streak free tan!! — 2 years, 9 months ago
    jessie2010 | 28 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 4 people said helpful

  • 7 Worst Self-Tanners

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 5

    made me tan

    I did look tanner after application, but once i showered it would fade and rub off and i would have to apply again. One application is a bit darker than expected, not so gradual i guess. I gave this product a chance using more than half the bottle on my legs. But i hated knowing and smelling that it was on my skin. It made me feel so self conscious. — 2 years, 10 months ago
    Minibear | 22 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 1 people said helpful

  • 1

    Orange anyone?

    This is the worst self tanner i have ever used and with my search to get rid of my pale sun tan resistant skin i have tried many! This is orange and unfortunately stays on far to well. — 3 years ago
    coppercurls | 2 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 6

    OK.

    This stuff does work, but it smells awful (like most tanning lotions I suppose). It also does streak, so you have to be very careful when applying. I can only use it 2-3 days in a row before I start to look orange. All in all, I will not be repurchasing. Jergins gradual tan works betters in my opinion. — 3 years, 4 months ago
    JYoung1272 | 69 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9 Best Self-Tanners

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 6

    Pretty good

    This give a good gradual tan pretty quickly. It does have a bit of a stinky chemical-y smell, but it's barable. — 3 years, 5 months ago
    vmporciello09 | 118 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 10

    Neutrogena Build-a-Tan Gradual Sunless Tanning Lotion

    I love this product and have used it for 2 years. Using it every other day after showering produces a natural looking tan. I only use it on my legs and apply only a one pump portion per leg. My goal is not a deep tan; just a healthy look ... I have very fair skin. It has a neutral scent ... I am allergic to most product scents, but rarely with Neutrogena. I was shocked to see this on the Worst List. Maybe people are using too much. — 3 years, 5 months ago
    esperanza121 | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 3

    There are better tanners out there

    Not a fan of this, I have very light skin and I don't burn nor is it sensitive but I had to coat my body with this stuff for 3 days until I saw color and if I kept it up everyday the color did look really good but it doesn't last, maybe 2 or 3 days max. So much energy and time to apply and it barely lasts, will never buy again. — 3 years, 7 months ago
    J_Mullins | 24 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 7 Worst Self-Tanners

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    Amazing.

    I read some of these reviews before i bought it, and i must say most of them are WRONG ! I was really scared because most of them are negative, but i have had pale skin ALL my life. My mom would call me pastey... So I tried it anyway. And I look naturally tan , not orange. And the lotion doesn't stink! It actually makes my skin softer in the process. You just have to make sure you rub it in evenl...read morey, and put your normal lotion on your knees, elbows, ankles, fingers, feet, and toes before you do it! :) — 3 years, 8 months ago

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  5 of 5 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend