John Frieda Brilliant Brunette Luminous Color Glaze Reviews

Back to John Frieda Brilliant Brunette Luminous Color Glaze»
Sort by:
  • 7

    Works alright

    I used this in the summer to give my natural brunette hair color an extra boost. Interestingly, it brought out the red under-tones in my hair. I didn't mind though because I got a lot of compliments of how nice my hair color was. The smell takes a bit to get used to. Kind of like chemicals mixed with cocoa. I found it pretty easy to apply but the product did stain my hands. But the stains ca...read moreme off pretty easily if I scrubbed them right away. If you don't catch the extra drips, though, you'll wind up with random brown stains on your temples, on your shoulders, etc. Took me 15 minutes to scrub a stain off of your forehead. As long as I rinsed it out of my hair really well, I didn't find any stains on my towels. I haven't bought this product in a while, but I do like the clear glaze for the same shine without the color fuss. — 2 years, 5 months ago
    crhamilt | 47 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 7

    Not perfect but good

    I have to admit that this stuff doesn't smell good, it has a very icky texture when it first comes out of the bottle, and it does dye my hands whenever I use it (occasionally leaves a bit of color on my ears too) but it works. I scrub my hands with a loofah after I have applied it and that usually gets all the color off my hands. It does take a long time to rinse out, especially if I accidentall...read morey use too much, but if I don't rush the rinsing it doesn't leave any residue. I didn't realize how much it helped my color stay until I ran out and because I didn't love the negative points of the product I didn't replace it. It took about a week and a half before my color faded noticeably. I bought another bottle before I went to the salon to get my hair dyed again. For me some of the hassle of the product is worth it because of how it helps maintain my color. — 2 years, 10 months ago
    kimmi_o | 71 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 5

    Too Much Hassle!

    On one hand, when I used this product regularly, people asked me if I'd dyed my hair, and a coworker told me my hair looked so shiny. On the other hand, it dyed my hands so badly, the only thing that would remedy it was a vigorous scrape with my pumice stone (which it also stained!). This product should come with gloves and a warning! — 3 years, 4 months ago
    D.Catherine | 40 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 24 All-Time Best Shampoos

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 5

    Not bad.

    Not an amazing product,but not terrible. I have strong red undertones that begin to show up a week after coloring. Using this seems to prolong the red, but not by very long. However, the glaze does keep my hair soft and shiny. — 3 years, 6 months ago

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 1 people said helpful

  • 5

    love to hate

    I didn't not notice a huge color change when I used the product but it did give my hair a little more shine than it had and sounds odd made it straighter. I didn't like the scent has it smelt like I should be in a hair salon getting something chemically done. Its something I would only by if your curious but not really worth it. I will no buy again — 3 years, 6 months ago
    maturot | 17 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 2

    Made my hair greasy

    I used this right before I went to a wedding....BIG mistake. Made my hair really greasy. I was telling a co-worker about my experience, thinking I just got a bad bottle (since I bought it at a discount store) and she said she had the same greasy results. Very disappointing. — 3 years, 11 months ago
    hollymarie | 26 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 15 Best Hair Color Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 3

    Difficult to use, adds color then turns brassy

    My hair is medium/dark ash brown and has gotten darker with age. Recently, I wanted to add some luminescence to my color so I put in highlights. I hated them. Instead of going straight for a bottle of coloring I wanted to find a product that would tone down the highlights gradually and gently. The John Freida glaze seemed to be the ticket and I had a coupon for $3 off so I went for it. I had a...read more heck of a time getting the gel-like substance into my hair; it kept slipping out of my wet hands. The first few times I used the product I mixed it with my conditioner so I could actually get it in my hair and did notice some enhancement of the color, but my hair felt very dry, almost plasticky. Finally, I decided to try and follow the directions and use it alone after I conditioned and leave it on for a full five minutes. This time my hair was silky smooth and very shiny. The only problem I noticed was that the brown color was more of an brassy auburn hue than a neutral brown. If I would stop using it for more than a week there would be a noticeable brassy red tinge to my hair. The smell that others have mentioned didn't bother me much. It does stain everything and without a mirror in the shower sometimes it's hard to tell where you've spilled it on yourself. I ended up with a big splotch on my neck one day that took forever to remove. Though this product did tone down the highlights and postpone the need to dye my hair again the shade of brown was all wrong, not at all appealing. Two weeks later I couldn't take the red tone of the highlights and had to get a demi-permanent medium ash brown from Clairol Natural Instincts which did the trick. You could still kind of see the highlights, but they weren't an ugly brassy red anymore. I still have the John Freida glaze and I'll use it til it's gone, but I won't be buying it again. I'd rather dye my hair. — 3 years, 11 months ago
    earthformed | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 2

    not good

    smells bad and doesnt do much of anything. ive tried it several times — 3 years, 12 months ago
    aime_ricca | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 1

    The Pits

    Stripped and dried my medium brown hair. I am trying to save money by treating myself to an in-home hair treatment. Well, after this it looks like I need to go to a salon and have a toner put in. What a waste. — 4 years, 9 months ago
    sfmaven | 6 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 24 All-Time Best Shampoos

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    Brilliant color and shine

    I love this product especially for in between colorings. The color glaze keeps my color going and gives me plenty of shine. For the price I highly recommend it — 5 years, 2 months ago
    cinl37 | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 4 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend