John Frieda Radiant Red Color Captivating Shampoo Reviews

Back to John Frieda Radiant Red Color Captivating Shampoo»
Sort by:
  • 10

    I LOVE this stuff!

    I've been using Radiant Red for a while now . . . I always dye my hair a black cherry, but it washes out pretty quick, even with dark brown hair. This product was suggested, and I've used it now for about 8 months! I dye my hair once every two months, and trust me . . . I HAVE gray hair!!! It doesn't work well in terms of adding color around my face, but my hair style hides that. The rest of m...read morey roots are still RED! My hair is soft (better when I found and started using the conditioner in conjunction with the shampoo). Everyone loves my "hair color", and they crack up when I tell them it's a shampoo :-D Can't say enough good about this one, and I usually don't do the whole review-a-product thing. — 1 year, 10 months ago
    selayma | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 6 people said helpful

  • 6

    Drying, but brings out the highlights

    My natural color is auburn that tends to fade out to brown and lose the red highlights at certain times of year. I color to punch it up, and I thought maybe this shampoo might help hold onto the red (natural and helpers) .While it does bring out the highlights and help me hang onto my added color, I find this shampoo extremely drying. (We have extremely hard water, which doesn't help.) I'm not cra...read morezy about the odor --it smells like a salon chemical I can't identify--and it gives my hair a strawlike feeling until I apply my conditoner. Because it does bring out my highlights, after some experimentation I found it works better when I lather once with this, rinse, and lather again with a really good conditioning shampoo for dry colored hair and use a really good conditioner. This combo seems to be the ticket, but it would be great if this shampoo actually did that without extra assistance from another shampoo!. — 2 years, 5 months ago
    LAGlamRGrl | 39 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 15 Worst Shampoos

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 9

    Works for me

    I was always a natural strawberry blonde. As I age, my hair is tending more and more to the 'blonde' part of that, and nothing I ever wanted. I've used this shampoo once or twice a week just to brighten up the red highlights and it worked very well for that. I don't use gobs of it. A little bit goes a long way because it seems to be heavy on moisturizer. I've been having trouble findi...read moreng it lately in the chain supermarkets and drug stores where I used to be able to buy it. Plenty of stuff if you're blonde or brunette, but nothing for red heads. — 3 years, 6 months ago
    carol_dodd | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 3 people said helpful

  • 10

    Love it!

    I've been using this and the conditioner for a while now. I haven't noticed whether or not it helps my natural red color, haven't really paid much attention to whether it does or not. I use just this and the conditioner, and sometimes I also mix a couple other shampoos in with it. My hair usually ends up feeling lighter, softer, and silkier, kinda like corn silk. I love it! — 3 years, 7 months ago
    Valcanhouser | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 9 people said helpful

  • 2

    don't waste your money.

    this did NOTHING for color preservation. saw no noticeable benefits at all. — 4 years, 1 month ago
    elleseaare | 44 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 16 Best Heat Styling Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 8

    works for me

    My hair is a natural med. blonde and I use a red highlight tint on my hair. i use this product an have not had any problems, no stripping of color or transfer to my towel, no tangles or coarseness. I have also recommended it to my friends and they have liked it's results. — 4 years, 1 month ago
    jeff_cleveland | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 1

    Terrible texture

    This shampoo and conditioner made my hair feel dry. It also caused me to have split ends (which I don't usually have since I don't use heat styling). I also have to use a ton and my hair doesn't feel clean. I don't think it helped my color, either, if I'm honest. I switched to Pantene and I've gotten more complements on the shine and smell. There was no lather, either. — 4 years, 1 month ago
    fili | 12 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 10

    Adds natural highlights over time

    Ok, so maybe it didn't make my color last but over time it added natural looking highlights at a time when I couldn't afford a trip to the salon. When used over with a one note color out of the box it really added dimension to my hair. I love this product. But no, it didn't keep any color, it added it. — 4 years, 6 months ago
    Jane10 | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  6 of 7 people said helpful

  • 15 Worst Shampoos

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 1

    Almost ruined my hair!

    I was blond for six years, I used the John Frieda for blond hair shampoo and really liked it. So when I decided to go back to my natural color, redish-brown, I bought the John Frieda for red hair. I was using it and my hair kept getting more and more coarse. I finally figured out it was the shampoo, I just thought how could the blond shampoo be good and the red shampoo be so bad! My hair was so dry, coarse, and frizzy. It took alot of conditioning and haircuts to get it healthy again. — 4 years, 8 months ago
    Jessie9 | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend