Revlon Colorist Reviews

Back to Revlon Colorist»
Sort by:
  • 5

    Difficult to get on evenly with long hair

    I have to admit I haven't had much experience with home hair coloring, however after a trip to the salon cost me $120 with no real noticeable color difference, I decided to try the "at home" route and this is the product I purchased. I chose a color that, according to the box, would give my dark brown hair a nice, warm cinnamon red hint. The directions tell you to not get the colorant...read more on your scalp but it also then tells you to use the tip of the bottle to part and color your hair at the roots and then to either comb or otherwise work the colorant into your roots and evenly distribute throughout. Maybe this is something accomplished more aptly with practice but I felt it nearly impossible to both keep the colorant off my scalp but at my roots. What I ended up with was essentially spotty coloring near my roots and on my scalp both. I am simply happy that my hair is dark enough that it's not grossly apparent. I also found the color to be more purple-ish in hue than a natural, dark cinnamon. I haven't used the glaze yet but I'm hoping that will even out my coloring a bit better. — 6 years, 10 months ago
    MosaicMommy | 20 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 4 people said helpful

  • 7

    #57 medium red brown

    This color is great for those who want just a little red in their hair. It does however fade, even with the color boost. I have experienced it being really to dark at fisrt but after it fades to a certain shade it stays that way and that is the color that I really like. — 6 years, 10 months ago
    bagraves | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 3

    Super Hype

    This color was not bad, but the media hype, and the price for this product led me to believe that it was really special. I didn't see any significant difference from other home coloring brand I have used (Nice & Easy, Revlon ColorStay). Also, the conditioner tube is color coded to your haircolor, so is rather messy in the shower. . .I'd probably go with a less expensive one next time — 6 years, 10 months ago
    Katamaran | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 4 people said helpful

  • 15 Best Hair Color Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    Medium Blonde #80

    The price was about 50% ($15.00) more than what I typically spend to do home coloring. The application was similar of other products. The color was not as the box advertised. The shade was not even close to the picture on the box. I was looking for a little red/gold and got an ash. What was a plesent surprise was that I got several compliments on the color. I have used two different colors and o...read moren both people out of the blue would notice and say how nice the color was. Even my hair dresser asked me what I was using (in a good way). I believe this IS a \"salon quality\" product and I have tried a couple different color #\'s and plan on one or two shades more to try. I went back to a previous product and now after I have used this one, the old product just doesn\'t make the grade. This is worth the extra money. The shades are nicer even though the #80 box color was misleading I give it a #10 — 7 years ago
    Roni53 | 2 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  5 of 6 people said helpful

  • 9

    Longer color

    the only product i have found that the color will stay vibrant from week to week. — 6 years, 10 months ago
    Powers6 | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 6

    great color

    this product is very gentle on your hair, it leaves your hair feeling very soft and manageable — 6 years, 10 months ago
    ichan168 | 4 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 24 All-Time Best Shampoos

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 9

    LOVE IT!!!

    So easy to use and a natural, beautiful color every time. Easy to match my "own" color and full gray coverage!! The weekly glaze application is just an added perk! Boosts the shine and helps maintain the color. I usually don't need to recolor until I need a haircut for 6-8 weeks! — 6 years, 10 months ago
    Lillie | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 9

    Happy!

    I always use Garnier when I color my hair at home but this time I wanted to go black so I tried this and it came out perfect! I am so happy with it. The color glaze is amazing! It keeps my color shiny and dark and it is just amazing! — 6 years, 10 months ago
    Laceylynne | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 3

    Didn't cover my grays!

    I tried this haircolor a little while ago and while I did love how it made my hair feel (much softer) it didn't do anything to cover my grays. They were little flags waving around at the front of my hair screaming "look at me, look at me". I was so dissapointed! After all the time and money to use this haircolor, it didn't work for me. — 6 years, 10 months ago
    rachels378 | 4 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 15 Best Hair Color Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 8

    Like this !

    I used a lot of hair color products (of course I have some gray). This is the best one ever. Made my hair shiner and smoother then other products. The best thing is after color hair with this product when I shampoo my hair it didn't have color came out to my towel. — 6 years, 10 months ago
    taobryy | 2 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend