Clairol Natural Instincts Reviews

Back to Clairol Natural Instincts»
Sort by:
  • 10

    My first chemical hair dye!

    I absolutely love Clairol Natural Instincts, and it's the first chemical dye I've ever used. I've used a powder dye before, in a dark brown shade. The Natural Instincts shade I recently used is Egyptian Plum #32. I love the multitonal results, and I adore the Color Treat conditioner. I can't wait to try more shades:) — 2 years, 11 months ago
    natasha_taylor | 10 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 2

    Turned my hair black instead of brown

    My hair is naturally medium brown and was dyed a dark auburn before I tried using this product to dye it "dark brown". I wanted something close to my natural just a lot darker which is what the box picture depicted. However the dye turned my hair black and even after trying to fade it with excessive washing it still turned a dull black brown color... Plus my mom used the same brand and her hair tu...read morerned out much darker than expected as well... On the bright side however the conditioner that come in the box was amazing and after I did a vitamin c wash out the color was slightly stripped to a beautiful brown with redish highlights... — 3 years ago
    schirasunshine | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 1 people said helpful

  • 1

    Warning!

    Warning! Do not use the new natural instincts (liquid)! The old formula was wonderful and I used it for many years, but the new one has several problems - it does NOT make the hairstrand thick and shiny but very thin and extremely dry and no amount of conditioning seems to help. This new product is very inferior to the old. It is very disappointing to those of us who have used Natural Instinc...read morets for years and years and now have to find a new product. It is hard to understand why they did not do adequate testing for this new product. Certainly they would have noticed the extreme dryness. It has been almost 3 months since I used it and I am still trying to get my hair back in condition. Save yourself a lot of trouble and skip this new formula. — 3 years, 1 month ago
    kaykay100 | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 5 people said helpful

  • 24 All-Time Best Shampoos

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 3

    Not as good as previous version!

    Why did they mess with something nearly perfect. Can't get the same shade as before, even the gloves aren't the same, Clairol you could do so much better! — 3 years, 2 months ago
    clairol123 | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 3 people said helpful

  • 2

    Not a Good Choice For BLUE-BLACK

    I was super disapointed with the entire process from start to finsh with this and I was so let down! My hair turned out mono-tone and dull from root to end, my hair was actually no more vibrant than before. My hair ended up more dry and tense with a strange smell to it! I had to end up going to the store to buy the color remover to avoid getting the hair-color diss my from my friends who adore my BLUE-BLACK well known hair routine! — 3 years, 4 months ago
    davia_gorman | 64 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 1 people said helpful

  • 10

    love this product

    i love this product and would recommend it 2 anyone. i use only this hair color product from all over cover and in between i just use on roots cause u dont want ur hair 2 dry out with over coloring and i could not be happier with the results. — 3 years, 4 months ago
    treasababe | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  7 of 9 people said helpful

  • 9 Best Hair Color Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 1

    TERRIBLE.

    This hair color used to be my favorite on the market - it would make my hair shiny and soft and the color was great. Now, they changed the dye, give you less, and added a "two week refresh" packet that turns your hair orange. What's worse, they deny that it's a different product and insist it's YOUR HAIR that's the problem - not their crappy product. They lost a loyal customer to Garnier Herbashine. — 3 years, 4 months ago
    katy62810 | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 2 people said helpful

  • 1

    Clairol Natural Instincts

    I used Clairol Natural Instincts semi-permanent hair dye. I've used the product before without any issue. This time, as I washed the colour out of my hair, my hair came out at alarming rates (as I ran my fingers through my hair, I was coming out with handfulls). I called Clairol to ask what I should do. The representative said if I hadn't experienced pain, than the hair loss was not a result of th...read moree hair dye. She said, "It's probably hereditary." I am 29 years old, and have never experienced abnormal hair loss. I said, "But it happened right when I used your dye." She said, "It could be styling products are causing breakage." Clairol took no responsibility at all for my hair follow out. It's still coming out, although the majority came out when I rinsed the hair dye. I do still have hair on my head. I'm so angry - I will never use Clairol products again. — 3 years, 5 months ago
    10Micah | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 6 people said helpful

  • 10

    Last longer than permanent!

    This brand is amazing if u dye your hair black an want it to stay black. I thought it would fade to a medium brown like most black colors but it never did. So far the color last 7 month's without fade an stays a rich, shiny black. — 3 years, 8 months ago
    cassondraann3 | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  10 of 11 people said helpful

  • 24 All-Time Best Shampoos

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 1

    0 stars

    This product does NOT cover grey. At ALL. Very carefully used following directions, applied to roots first, left on as long as possible and.....NO GREY COVERAGE! How disappointing -- and not cheap. I'd never rely on this brand again. — 3 years, 8 months ago
    Dalore3 | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 2 people said helpful

Home » Reviews » Hair » Hair Color » Clairol Natural Instincts

Back
to top

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend



monitoring_string = "e4ea8133a649aad124e80f99f8831005"