Clairol Natural Instincts Reviews

Back to Clairol Natural Instincts»
Sort by:
  • 10

    The best at home hair color

    This product is the best for at home hair coloring. It delivers salon like results without breaking the bank. I love that it is semi permanent. I like to try out new trends and I'm always changing my hair color. This gives me a rich color without damaging my hair too much. If I don't like it, it will wash out in a month. If I do, I can just re dye it again until I want to change it. — 1 month ago
    anniebeaux | 126 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9

    awesome product!

    this was amazing the first time I used it, it didn't dry out my hair and the color was amazing! I highly recommend it — 4 months, 1 week ago
    theoboss | 11 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 1

    No gray coverage

    I usually love Clairol Nice & Easy, but they were out of my shade, so I bought Natural Instincts Medium Cool Blonde BECAUSE it states on box that it covers gray. I was shocked that this product, being Clairol that I usually trust, did nothing to cover gray at all. Wasted my time and money and now cannot re-color for a few weeks to prevent over processing ;0( . I guess I will look like Mrs Claus this year with shining gray roots ;0( Very unhappy with Clairol right now — 8 months, 2 weeks ago
    AnnieGirl777 | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9 Best Hair Color Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 4

    Not a terrible colour, but...

    I didn't mind the colour (it ended up darker than expected because my hair was porous, but it faded well); however, it really did not make my hair healthier. It didn't fall out in chunks like I've read in other reviews, but my hair definitely shed more and felt stripped. I won't be using this again. — 1 year, 11 months ago
    molly_brooke | 2 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 8

    Great Improvement

    For the last 6 years I have been dying my hair with permanent hair dyes. I noticed that my hair was really really damaged, my ends were terrible from the years of wear and tare (My hair was a little past breast line in length). Last month I chopped it off, about 6in and I have been working towards keeping the hair that hasn't been as damaged healthy. I still really wanted to dye my hair because my...read more natural hair color is quite mousey an has a few greys around my hair line. I tried this product because it was a demi-permanent, ammonia free formula. What I really loved about this hair dye was that it only took 10 minutes to process instead of the 25-30min it takes with permanate, so that means that it doesn't say on your hair very long causing a lot of damage. Another thing that i really loved is that after i washed it out and conditioned, my hair didn't reek of the chemical smell like it did when i'd use other products, also it left my hair feeling very healthy, not the typical "Just dyed" feeling that I would experience for the first day or so after dying. All in all, I will defiantly be buying this again to maintain my color. My natural hair color is in between medium brown and dark brown, I bought the brass-free medium brown and it came out a darkish brown which was perfect and expected with most hair dyes. I love the color and i love that it eliminated most of the brassiness from my hair that i got from the sun lightening it a tad and my last hair dye from a few months ago — 1 year, 11 months ago
    kaylee_tennyson | 4 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 1

    NOT A HAPPY CUSTOMER! ALL MY HAIR FELL OUT

    I've used Natural Instincts hair color for years, now they went and changed the product??? I colored my hair like I always have and it burned a little THEN WHEN I RINSED MY HAIR IT WAS COMMING OUT IN HUGE CLUMPS IN SHOWER, WHEN I TRIED TO COMB MY HAIR IT WAS LIKE MY HAIR WAS MELTED INTO A BALL! I COULDNT GET A LARGE TOOTH COMB THROUGH MY HAIR? FOR MONTHS MY HAIR HAS CONTINUED TO FALL OUT IN TENNIS...read more BALL SIZE CLUMPS. IF YOUR THINKING OF USING THIS PRODUCT DONT DO IT! IM ALMOST BALD!!! WHY DID YOU CHANGE SUCH A GREAT PRODUCT? I WAS SUCH A FAN FOR OVER 10 YEARS. YOU SHOULD PUT WARNINGS ON NEW PACKAGING (NOT THE SAME FORMULA) I WILL NEVER EVER USE THEIR HAIR COLOR AND I WILL TELL EVERYONE NOT TO USE THEIR HAIR COLOR!!!!! — 2 years ago
    Kathleenrutherf | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 24 All-Time Best Shampoos

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 3

    Clairol's Natural Instincts Hair Color Review

    I love the way Natural Instincts made my red hair look just what the name says - NATURAL! For those who don't know, red, auburn, copper, or whatever name you give it is one of the most difficult colors to do. Red hair doesn't (usually) turn to a pretty silver, white, or even gray. It just fades to a mousey non-descript color. I have been coloring my hair for the last 25 years, sometimes prof...read moreessionally and sometimes at home. I was so excited when I used Natural Instincts. It was wonderful how it didn't fade, looked natural, and left my hair manageable and shiny. UNFORTUNATELY, it is extremely difficult now to find any red color in the Natural Instincts line at all. Because of that problem, I have had to change to a different product by Revlon. I combine two colors and it makes my hair color look more like it was years ago than any other I have found. As a result, I am very pleased now but Natural Instincts by Clairol has lost my business. — 2 years, 2 months ago
    crystal_edwards | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 1

    BEWARE! Causes hair to fall out!

    I decided to give this a try because it said "Natural" and has no ammonia so I thought it would be better for my scalp than other hair color. When I went to rinse it out, my hair came out in clumps in the shower! I was so scared I was gonna be bald, but thank goodness it stopped the next day. Clairol better take notice and do something to fix this because I see this happened to other people as well. — 2 years, 6 months ago
    samui | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 2

    Natural instincts 28B

    I have always appreciated my hair an recently..omg I have found some gray....eek. Well There is nothing I haven't .done to my hair and it bounces right back. I wanted a semi permanent to cover the gray strands around my face. I had used other semi -perm dyes, my hair was again virgin. I got a shade darker than my hair 28B. It made my hair color a litter richer darker except for the gray? I f...read moreollowed the directions to the letter and am so disappointed. I bought 3 boxes because of the good ratings. Hopefully I will be able to warn some others. — 2 years, 7 months ago
    jonah_erikson | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9 Best Hair Color Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 5

    Works, but doesn't last

    I bought the Natural Instincts Vibrant in 6 Light Brown to cover my grey hair and keep my natural color. It did cover my grey and my hair looked great. However, I saw grey hair in about 3-4 weeks, so it doesn't last long. — 2 years, 8 months ago
    con_sumer | 42 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

Home » Reviews » Hair » Hair Color » Clairol Natural Instincts

Back
to top

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend



monitoring_string = "e4ea8133a649aad124e80f99f8831005"