Clairol Natural Instincts Reviews

Back to Clairol Natural Instincts»
Sort by:
  • 1

    NOT A HAPPY CUSTOMER! ALL MY HAIR FELL OUT

    I've used Natural Instincts hair color for years, now they went and changed the product??? I colored my hair like I always have and it burned a little THEN WHEN I RINSED MY HAIR IT WAS COMMING OUT IN HUGE CLUMPS IN SHOWER, WHEN I TRIED TO COMB MY HAIR IT WAS LIKE MY HAIR WAS MELTED INTO A BALL! I COULDNT GET A LARGE TOOTH COMB THROUGH MY HAIR? FOR MONTHS MY HAIR HAS CONTINUED TO FALL OUT IN TENNIS...read more BALL SIZE CLUMPS. IF YOUR THINKING OF USING THIS PRODUCT DONT DO IT! IM ALMOST BALD!!! WHY DID YOU CHANGE SUCH A GREAT PRODUCT? I WAS SUCH A FAN FOR OVER 10 YEARS. YOU SHOULD PUT WARNINGS ON NEW PACKAGING (NOT THE SAME FORMULA) I WILL NEVER EVER USE THEIR HAIR COLOR AND I WILL TELL EVERYONE NOT TO USE THEIR HAIR COLOR!!!!! — 11 months, 4 weeks ago
    Kathleenrutherf | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 3

    Clairol's Natural Instincts Hair Color Review

    I love the way Natural Instincts made my red hair look just what the name says - NATURAL! For those who don't know, red, auburn, copper, or whatever name you give it is one of the most difficult colors to do. Red hair doesn't (usually) turn to a pretty silver, white, or even gray. It just fades to a mousey non-descript color. I have been coloring my hair for the last 25 years, sometimes prof...read moreessionally and sometimes at home. I was so excited when I used Natural Instincts. It was wonderful how it didn't fade, looked natural, and left my hair manageable and shiny. UNFORTUNATELY, it is extremely difficult now to find any red color in the Natural Instincts line at all. Because of that problem, I have had to change to a different product by Revlon. I combine two colors and it makes my hair color look more like it was years ago than any other I have found. As a result, I am very pleased now but Natural Instincts by Clairol has lost my business. — 1 year, 1 month ago
    crystal_edwards | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 1

    BEWARE! Causes hair to fall out!

    I decided to give this a try because it said "Natural" and has no ammonia so I thought it would be better for my scalp than other hair color. When I went to rinse it out, my hair came out in clumps in the shower! I was so scared I was gonna be bald, but thank goodness it stopped the next day. Clairol better take notice and do something to fix this because I see this happened to other people as well. — 1 year, 5 months ago
    samui | 2 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 15 Best Hair Color Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 2

    Natural instincts 28B

    I have always appreciated my hair an recently..omg I have found some gray....eek. Well There is nothing I haven't .done to my hair and it bounces right back. I wanted a semi permanent to cover the gray strands around my face. I had used other semi -perm dyes, my hair was again virgin. I got a shade darker than my hair 28B. It made my hair color a litter richer darker except for the gray? I f...read moreollowed the directions to the letter and am so disappointed. I bought 3 boxes because of the good ratings. Hopefully I will be able to warn some others. — 1 year, 6 months ago
    jonah_erikson | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 5

    Works, but doesn't last

    I bought the Natural Instincts Vibrant in 6 Light Brown to cover my grey hair and keep my natural color. It did cover my grey and my hair looked great. However, I saw grey hair in about 3-4 weeks, so it doesn't last long. — 1 year, 6 months ago
    con_sumer | 42 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 1

    lasts for 28 shampoos?

    I've used this product for years and have always been very happy with rhe results. Being a temp color made it less harmful to my hair. About 6 months ago I decided to let my hair go back to my natural color. I'm still waiting. Seems as if the temp color isn't so temporary. Now I have about 5" of roots showing. It hasn't been as smooth of a transition as I thought it would be and I'm going through a process I shouldn't have to go through. I won't be using the product again. — 1 year, 9 months ago
    debbo | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 24 All-Time Best Shampoos

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    My first chemical hair dye!

    I absolutely love Clairol Natural Instincts, and it's the first chemical dye I've ever used. I've used a powder dye before, in a dark brown shade. The Natural Instincts shade I recently used is Egyptian Plum #32. I love the multitonal results, and I adore the Color Treat conditioner. I can't wait to try more shades:) — 1 year, 11 months ago
    natasha_taylor | 10 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 2

    Turned my hair black instead of brown

    My hair is naturally medium brown and was dyed a dark auburn before I tried using this product to dye it "dark brown". I wanted something close to my natural just a lot darker which is what the box picture depicted. However the dye turned my hair black and even after trying to fade it with excessive washing it still turned a dull black brown color... Plus my mom used the same brand and her hair tu...read morerned out much darker than expected as well... On the bright side however the conditioner that come in the box was amazing and after I did a vitamin c wash out the color was slightly stripped to a beautiful brown with redish highlights... — 2 years ago
    schirasunshine | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 1 people said helpful

  • 1

    Warning!

    Warning! Do not use the new natural instincts (liquid)! The old formula was wonderful and I used it for many years, but the new one has several problems - it does NOT make the hairstrand thick and shiny but very thin and extremely dry and no amount of conditioning seems to help. This new product is very inferior to the old. It is very disappointing to those of us who have used Natural Instinc...read morets for years and years and now have to find a new product. It is hard to understand why they did not do adequate testing for this new product. Certainly they would have noticed the extreme dryness. It has been almost 3 months since I used it and I am still trying to get my hair back in condition. Save yourself a lot of trouble and skip this new formula. — 2 years, 1 month ago
    kaykay100 | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 5 people said helpful

  • 15 Best Hair Color Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 3

    Not as good as previous version!

    Why did they mess with something nearly perfect. Can't get the same shade as before, even the gloves aren't the same, Clairol you could do so much better! — 2 years, 2 months ago
    clairol123 | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 3 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend