Maybelline New York Pure Makeup Reviews

Back to Maybelline New York Pure Makeup»
Sort by:
  • 8

    Great for Sensitive skin.

    I tried this product because it is 50% water based, and I had a very bad allergic reaction to another foundation. This never burns my skin, and it feels like I don't have anything on. The coverage is very light, but it's nice if you want a more natural look. — 6 years, 6 months ago
    Love_Sarahxoxo | 25 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 2 people said helpful

  • 8

    Pretty good

    It's very light and it feels like you don't have anything on, but it doesn't have very good coverage. It blends ok but it's alot easier to blend if you use a moist makeup sponge. I think it's really good for how cheap it is though and it's one of the only foundations that I have found that matches my skin perfectly. I use Light 1. I have pretty pale skin and the shade isn't too pink or too yellow either. It's just right for me. I'll definitely but this again. — 6 years, 6 months ago
    georgie427 | 35 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 10

    Pure it is

    This feel great on my skin and they say the product doesn't cause breakouts, which is true for me. Love this product. — 6 years, 7 months ago
    MissPrincessAnn | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 2 people said helpful

  • 12 Worst Foundations

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 5

    It's a toss up

    Unlike other liquid foundations this one doesn't leave me oily, and I don't find myself having to constantly powder myself. However I find it lacks the coverage to cover up blemishes with just one application. If you have good skin, this product is great. I find it goes on especially well if you use a moist non-latex makeup sponge. Easily blended as well, and I have never had a problem finding a m...read moreatch for my skin tone. This is already great to use as a highlighter on cheek bones over a heavier foundation, just make sure to use a non-latex makeup sponge to blend. — 6 years, 6 months ago
    Chloe44420 | 52 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  5 of 5 people said helpful

  • 4

    OK

    I tried this because my store no longer carries the liquid to powder foundation I used to use from Maybelline. This is ok, not as light. — 6 years, 6 months ago
    LittleOwl | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9

    Good

    I tend to like Maybelline over Cover Girl and this one still holds true. It goes on light. It's just enough coverage. — 6 years, 6 months ago
    BBingham | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 6

    ok

    This is a very nice lightweight foundation. It goes on very smoothly with an almost/slight refreshing feeling but it doesn't cover too much with one application so you'll have to apply more for blemishes and such. Matches skin nicely and doesn't make skin feel dry. I have oily skin so I would have to continue to use powder during the day. I think it rubs off throughout the day because my blemishes...read more becomes apparent after a few hours but it's very slight and powder will do the job. It's also in such a small tube, I haven't seen it in a larger one so I find myself replacing this more quickly than I would with other foundations. — 6 years, 6 months ago
    erica333 | 12 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 5 people said helpful

  • 7

    Excellent for people needing light coverage

    I really like this foundation. I like that it is oil-free and supposedly won't clog my pores. I like that it dries to a matte finish. I wish it had a little more coverage, but a slightly natural look is ok with me. I found a good color match, so no complaints about that. This foundation has a pretty small price tag, too. Not a perfect foundation, but if you want something convenient and inexpensive, this might work. — 6 years, 6 months ago
    Aphrodite_is_me | 6 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 6

    There are Pros and Cons

    Pros: Water-based, won't clog pores, won't stain clothes EVER (comes right out in the watch), very natural-looking Cons: Soaks right into skin (need to use quite a bit), wears off quickly, very very light coverage (this may not be a con for some people, but for me it is) So basically there it is, it really isn't a bad foundation if you have nice skin (it certaintly won't make it any worse), but if you need good coverage I would look elsewhere. — 6 years, 6 months ago
    kmkomette | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 12 Worst Foundations

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 9

    Great Natural look

    I was curious about it, but I've never had good luck with Maybelline foundations; either the coverage or the color. However, all that changed when I found pure and I don't use anything else. I wear the light shade, which while looks too dark, is very forgiving when it actually is rubbed over the skin. The foundation really is more of a TM, so if you are looking for full coverage, you probably a...read moreren't going to find it with pure. I have combination skin and I'm breakout prone, and this hasn't aggravated my skin, nor does it collect around already existing breakouts. I've found that this actually keeps my nose oil at bay, or at least looks like it does. I was so thrilled with this foundation that I bought 2 backups when I found them on clearance at Target (bought the first at retail, around $4-5, and bought backups with concealer for $3 -- good deal!). Love this stuff. — 6 years, 6 months ago
    archgirl06 | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  7 of 7 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend