Shiseido Ultimate Sun Protection Lotion N SPF 60 Reviews

Back to Shiseido Ultimate Sun Protection Lotion N SPF 60»
Sort by:
  • 9

    Finally!

    This is perfect, oxybenzone-free sunscreen that's not thick or white or pill-y. The fragrance is very light and pleasant; I think even fragrance-haters should give it a try given its high level of protection. A few more antioxidants would be nice, but otherwise, great! — 4 years, 11 months ago
    erin81 | 28 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 2 people said helpful

  • 10

    One of the best!

    I love Shiseido skincare and this product is my absolute favorite. I wear high spf sunblock every day, all year. I have pale, sensitive skin. This product goes on silky smooth and light and leaves absolutely no greasy feel. It is a perfectly matte base. Because of its fluid, silky feel it is a pleasure to reapply. One caveat is to take special care around the eye area. I've experienced significant stinging when I'm not careful about application. — 4 years, 11 months ago
    nicci4694 | 25 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 3 people said helpful

  • 9

    Great sun protection that doesn't irritate my skin

    Like the headline says, this stuff is wonderful. It has a high SPF, creates a nice silky base for makeup, and does not irritate my somewhat finicky skin. What more could you ask for? Yes, it has a fragrance (as all Shiseido products seem to), and it's a bit pricey, but I figure I will be happy as I age that I pay to protect it now. — 5 years, 7 months ago
    aradiapdx | 13 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 3 people said helpful

  • 11 Best Sunscreens for Your Face

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 7

    Almost perfect

    When I first tried it on, I was amazed at how light it was and it didn't leave my face greasy, sticky, or oily. However, it did have a slightly odd texture throughout the day, it isn't nearly as bad as other sunscreens. I have sensitive, combination oily skin and it didn't make me break out, I could wear it all day long, reapply it when needed and not worry about a thing. BUT one big problem..afte...read morer using it for a few days I noticed all the areas I had it on my body got extremely dry and the drying has lasted for days. I guess I need to use a moisturizer wherever I'm going to apply this from now on. :( Other than that, it's been great. Pricey though. — 5 years, 8 months ago
    KarissaKai | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 3 people said helpful

  • 10

    My favorite, everyday sunscreen

    As a physically active individual who runs and surfs, it's imperative that I wear a sunscreen during my activities to protect me from the damaging uv rays, especially while I'm in the water. I searched high and low for a sunscreen that not only protects against both UVA and UVB rays, but is also water/sweat resistant, not heavy, not shiny, not oily and doesn't cause me to break out. This sunscre...read moreen is exactly what I was looking for. I live in Hawaii where the sun is intense all yr round but this sunscreen is the only product I've used that actually prevents me from tanning...a big plus for me since tanning is evidence that UV rays are still getting thru. The active ingredient in this is zinc oxide, which is a physical UVA blocker and Octinoxate, which is a UVB blocker. I initially purchased the cream version but found it was a bit too heavy for my liking so I gave that to my mom and got me the lotion version which is a bit more liquid and lighter weight. Application and blending is much easier with the lotion version which dries to a semi-matte finish. As a bonus, it's great to wear under makeup as a primer. The only "slight" issue I have with it is it's extremely hard to wash off and you have to use a separate oil based cleanser to remove it completely off your skin..but that's the whole point of it being "very water resistant". At $37, it's not cheap and since I use it every single day, it can get expensive quickly but for me, this is THE perfect sunscreen. — 5 years, 9 months ago
    cheetah11 | 154 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  5 of 5 people said helpful

  • 10

    Great protection!

    While in Hong Kong at the beach, I found this floating in the ocean. I gave it a try and was hooked! I had never before seen such a high SPF, but it really keeps me protected! It has a nice scent that isn't overpowering and it didn't irritate my sensitive skin! Great product! — 5 years, 10 months ago
    Melissahoneyb99 | 30 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 3 people said helpful

  • 18 Best and Worst Sunscreens

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    Wins the love of a sunscreen fanatic

    I'm a sunscreen freak - I've probably tried every kind out there. I have very fair, acne-prone, ombination Asian skin that never burns, but I'm also very scared of sun damage so always wear sunscreen. This is not really a lotion; it's more of a milk, which makes it extremely easy to apply. It feels moisturizing (which may also be seen as greasy), but becomes completely matte after about 5 to 10 mi...read morenutes, so I apply moisturizer before. I like the scent; it reminds me of xylitol, the freshening ingredient in chewing gum. This is spectacular for sensitive skin and eyes - I sometimes get it in my eyes but it doesn't sting! There's also been new research about chemical sunscreen agents being unstable and needing to be reapplied every hour or two (such as Helioplex in Neutrogena sunscreens and Mexoryl in Anthelios SX and Lancome), but this contains physical suncreens, which don't melt into your skin, but sit on top of your skin, which prevents it from degrading as fast. I also love how the PA rating is +++; this means that in addition to burning UVB rays, this blocks the aging and wrinkle-causing UVA rays very well. — 5 years, 10 months ago
    singasong87 | 20 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  9 of 10 people said helpful

  • 9

    Best Sunscreen!

    This product goes on light and watery. It absorbs fast and doesn't feel oily at all. I have very oily skin and it keeps my skin oil-free for most of the day. It's very effective at giving me sun protection also. The only thing I don't like is that it's super water-proof, so it takes a strong facial cleanser to clean it off. — 5 years, 10 months ago
    beauty321 | 8 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 3 people said helpful

  • 8

    My favorite sunscreen

    I've been on a long quest through many products for a sunscreen that provides stable protection, is lightweight and matte, and doesn't sting or make me break out. Shiseido Ultimate Sun Protection Lotion SPF 55 actually fulfills all those criteria. It is very fluid, doesn't leave a white cast, doesn't ball up, and goes on a little greasy, but once it absorbs and dries (10-15 minutes), it is very ma...read morette. In fact, I've found that I need to apply a thin layer of lightweight moisturizer underneath to keep my skin from drying out (even though I have oily skin and the weather is warm). Because of this, I will try the cream version in the winter. But I don't mind having to add a little moisture; that's far better than a sunscreen being too moisturizing. There are two reasons I didn't give this product 5 lippies: I dislike the overwhelming fragrance and would much prefer a fragrance-free sunscreen; and I would prefer if the product were packaged in a pump since it's so fluid. But despite the fragrance and the alcohol, it is so gentle that I can apply it all over my eye area, even on my lids! Overall, this is by far the best sunscreen I have found. Active Ingredients:Octinoxate 7.4%, Zinc Oxide 13.9%. Inactive Ingredients: water, cyclomethicone, butylene glycol, dimethicone, polymethyl methacrylate, trimethylsiloxysilicate, polybutylene glycol/ppg-9/1 copolymer, dimethicone copolyol, dextrin palmitate, xylitol, methyl gluceth-10, glutathione, zinc myristate, dipotassium glycyrrhizate, thiotaurine, scutellaria baicalensis extract, ectoin, cyclopentasiloxane, glycerin, acrylates/dimethicone copolymer, aluminum hydroxide, isostearic acid, stearic acid, disteardimonium hectorite, silica, alcohol, trisodium edta, bht, phenoxyethanol, methylparaben, ethylparaben, fragrance, titanium dioxide. — 6 years, 4 months ago
    zernelle | 130 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  10 of 12 people said helpful

  • 11 Best Sunscreens for Your Face

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 2

    Allergic Reaction

    I usually love Shiseido's line of skincare, but was saddened to realize that my skin is allergic to this sunscreen. I could apply this to my body but definitely not to my face. A day after applying this sunscreen and being in the sun for about an hour, my face would turn dark red and rashy, and burn to the touch. If you have sensitive skin, I'd suggest going with Neutrogena's line of sunscreens made just for the face! — 6 years, 4 months ago
    monicakb | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  7 of 9 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend