Beautyblender Sponge Reviews

Back to Beautyblender Sponge»
Sort by:
  • 9

    A great tool to have...

    I finally gave in purchased the beauty blender about a year ago. I love that it's a multi-purpose tool. After using it for foundation application for a while, I found that I was having to constantly wash it, and decided to use it specifically for applying my undereye concealer. It soaks up extra product so you don't end up with any creases. it also helps with seamlessly blending any concealer I ap...read moreply to spots or blemishes on my face. It holds together nicely, as I wash it on a weekly basis. I've tried the generic brand of this sponge from Sephora, and it just wasn't the same. It was a harder texture and broke apart only after a month of use. If you want this product, get the better value and go for the 2-pack. — 2 years, 7 months ago
    LaSarah | 48 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 9

    Love

    Wow, can I just say how much I love this product??? Ok being from Canada I couldn't find it anywhere but FINALLY found the thing a couple weeks ago on eBeauty, this canadian site. Also, I heard Kim Kardashian was into it sooo more motivation to try it haha. I was soo impressed by the way it easily blended my foundation. The shape of the sponge is ideal for doing around your nose and I like that it...read more came with the cleanser since I never really know what to clean my makeup brushes and stuff with. The only downfall as some of the ladies have already said is the steep price. Unfortunately there aren't any Target's in Canada (soon though!!!) soo this one will have to last me awhile! — 3 years ago
    PPolished | 57 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 3 people said helpful

  • 10

    The best sponge I will ever use !!

    I have been a fan of this sponge since my first encounter. I loveeeeeeeeee it, I use it often to put my foundation, concealer, cream blush and to highlight and contour. I even purchased a few to use for my clients and they love it so much they offer to purchase the sponge. I now keep extras, and tend to give them to my loyal clients. This is a great buy, you have to use it damp, and I tend to ...read moreplace some foundation throughout the face and then bounce to a seeming less finish. I don't like dipping my sponge directly into the foundation; I see that when I have done that, it tends to absorb a lot more of the product. This are a great purchase for any MUA, I highly recommend this product. — 3 years, 4 months ago
    ClauE | 10 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  8 of 8 people said helpful

  • 13 Best Makeup Tools

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    Wow!

    I've always used my fingers or brushes to blend but I decided to try this sponge. It's awesome! I couldn't believe what a huge difference it made, both in ease of blending and how much better my makeup looked! It may seem a little expensive at first but trust me, it's well worth it. It's easy to use, just dampen it slightly and use it to stipple on whatever product you like, or to blend. Awesome! — 3 years, 4 months ago
    krglvt | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 4 people said helpful

  • 5

    Not Impressed with the Price

    This sponge was a GREAT idea, don't get me wrong. I even shelled out the $25 + tax to purchase one. And it's a great beauty tool makes foundation application literally flawless (similar effect if you apply with fingers). It's great for people who don't want to touch their face. My only issue with this item is it's WAY TOO MUCH for a damn sponge. Like literally a ridiculously high price for somethi...read moreng that is made out of like sponge and synthetic fibers. Anyway, my point is after I purchased this online, I found a VERY SIMILAR item pretty much identical to this one but in purple from Sonia Kashuk at Target for $9.99. Now, I am really cheap, but thats half the price of this one and does the SAME job. I would recommend the Sonia Kashuk blender over this one as it's cheaper (more economical as the fibers do eventually break down) and in purple, which is better than pink. Plus, Targets are everywhere which means you can go pick it up and save cash on shipping. :D — 3 years, 8 months ago
    Dessai | 14 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  6 of 8 people said helpful

  • 10

    I can't live without my "little pink egg!"

    I got my Beauty Blender in the mail last week, and even though it was the end of the day, I took off my makeup and got ready to try it right away.  I bought this sponge set because there have been a lot of really good reviews about it at the QVC Bare Escentuals message boards and at the Makeup Geek forum. My initial reaction was "dang, that's a small sponge..."  Too my surprise, it expanded...read more at least 2x after I put it in water!  If you let it sit and dry, it goes back to it's original size.  According to their official youtube video, you wet the sponge, gently squeeze out the excess water, then go in to your foundation and begin stippling. The sponge covers most of my dark acne scars, but I do need to go back an post-conceal with a small concealer brush. My problems with the beauty blender stem from the damp/wet application.  I have never been able to get wet application to work on my face with a brush.  I'm not sure why I thought it would be better with a sponge - all the problems I've had with wet application are present with the beauty blender when used as directed in their youtube video.   I'll put a page break here since there's a lot of writing. ** The following 4 points were cross posted at the QVC message boards by myself a few days ago** 1. Wet application only works on my forehead.  I don't know why, but it looks really terrible on the rest of my face, where sadly, I need the most help. 2. Wet application of minerals looks patchy on my skin.  I didn't think I'd have this problem with the beauty blender because you're picking up the minerals dry as opposed to spritzing the dry minerals with water, but it happened.  No matter how much or how little foundation I pick up, the foundation sits on my skin where ever that first bounce of the beauty blender lands.  Same is true with wet application with a brush.  No amount of stippling (or buffing) will get it out.  Usually the only choice I have is to wash my face and start over.  Not a great option on the week days. 3. I look older!  With wet/damp application of the foundaion, the minerals end up settling in fine lines I didn't have before!  It's as if as the moisture from the minerals evaporates, it takes moisture from my skin with it.  I look way older than I actually am. 4. Wet application makes Matte behave like Original.  The foundation melts off my face by the end of the day.  It's really unattractive.  You can see all my little acne scars and red spots. So my solution is to use it dry.  The sponge takes about two days to dry out and shrink back down to size, but a day of drying is sufficient.  The minerals the sponge picks up are no longer darkened with moisture, which is how I know it's dry enough.  The dry application still saves a little bit of time, it still looks really amazing, and my Matte foundation doesn't lose any of it's oil absorbing properties. I have also tried to use it by really vigorously squeezing out as much water as I can with a dry towel, but for some reason, that doesn't work as well as letting the sponge dry overnight. The only remaining problem is that my chin is going through a minor break out.  It's either stress or the beauty blender.  I don't know what the sponge is made of and I don't know what the sponge is dyed with, so it's possible that I'm allergic to something in the sponge even though the sponge says "hypoallergenic". Someone also suggested that it could be bacterial growth inside the sponge.  I hope that's not it, but that's certainly plausible.  Since the breakout is fairly contained to one side of my chin and not all over my face, I think that it's stress related.  If I figure out that the breakout is beauty blender related, I'll let you know. Over all, the beauty blender seems most appropriate for ladies (or gentlemen) who don't have a problem with wet application.    If you're at all worried about bacterial growth, you probably should stay away from the sponge since it retains so much moisture. — 3 years, 10 months ago
    Lenore7 | 4 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 5 people said helpful

  • Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 7

    eh...

    yes, this sponge is great because it is reusable and does provide natural looking coverage. however, i don't think it's worth $20. dampening a regular drug store sponge can provide a similar look as well. — 4 years, 8 months ago
    laurelaure84 | 11 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 1 people said helpful

  • 10

    Just too good.

    I have a face with some hair and blemishes, sometimes is dificult hide all this blamishes and pinples... but thank GOD for the beauty blender... IS JUST DO GOOD!!!! and gives a airbrush finish... — 4 years, 8 months ago
    vanjos | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 4 people said helpful

  • 10

    A must for perfect foundation!

    I love this! It's the perfect thing to put foundation on with. I've had problems applying my foundation until i found this. I've used foundation brushes, which are too complicated and don't apply makeup smoothly, and my fingers just smear everything all over the place. This helps me sponge the makeup on effortlessly and it really makes the makeup look more smooth and natural. It's very simple to u...read morese: Wash it with lukewarm water, and squeeze out the excess water until it's slightly damp. Then put a bit of liquid foundation on the back of your hand, dip the beautyblender in it,and press it anywhere you need coverage. don't rub it across your face, though, just dab, or press. It's totally worth the money, and i would reccomend buying the cleanser with it. — 5 years, 2 months ago
    Rivka | 9 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 3 people said helpful

  • 13 Best Makeup Tools

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 9

    Great Product

    Overpriced sponge? Well maybe BUT...I was skeptical to try this because essentially it is a makeup sponge so how good could it be? But I have to admit, it really does give you a flawless makeup finish. I like to use it for applying my cream blush because it gives the application such a natural finish. As far as using it, run it under water (which will cause sponge to expand) and squeeze out the...read more water and then put it in a towel and squeeze out excess water again. Apply product (foundation, blush, etc) and "bounce" the sponge over area you're applying the product to. Use the bottom part of the sponge when applying product to large areas (face, cheeks) and use the pointed part for smaller areas (around the eyes). I also appreciate that the sponge comes with a return address so it can be sent back for proper recycling. The only con...the price. — 5 years, 3 months ago
    psugirl | 25 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 4 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend