Aveda Pure Abundance Hair Potion Reviews

Back to Aveda Pure Abundance Hair Potion»
Sort by:
  • 10

    Pretty Awesome

    A friend just tried this on me and yeah... it's pretty awesome. It didn't just give me great volume, but that volume lasted through the next day! I have thick hair, but I flat iron it and have naturally oily roots so my hair is often flat. I can't use a lot of product or my hair gets oily faster. This product gave me great fullness and made my hair easier to style! — 7 years ago
    mish5 | 4 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 3 people said helpful

  • 10

    The best product EVER for thin hair!!!

    Ok, so I've tried every product out there from the salon stuff to the inexpensive stuff sold at major retailers and this is by far the best thing I've ever used. My hair is very fine and thin. While at a new salon with a new stylist, she whips out this little (and quite expensive) bottle of powder. She sprinkles it in her palm with a little bit of mousse and works it into my hair. She blow dries i...read moret and my hair looks much fuller (as it usually does coming out of the salon). I decide to buy this little bottle and give it a try at home. She tells me that if I don't like it, I can bring it back and get my money back. What do I have to lose? I absolutely LOVE it! I have found nothing that works like this stuff! And that little expensive bottle lasted almost 6 months so it wasn't so expensive after all. Ladies, if you have thin/fine hair, you have to get yourself a bottle of this. Honestly, no other voluming product works this good! — 7 years ago
    tlstuart1974 | 4 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  7 of 7 people said helpful

  • 9

    Massachuetts Resident

    This is a wonderful product. My hair gets flat sometimes. Once I put a small amount in my hair, it automatically becomes thick and voluminous. Hallelujah. It is a little expensive. Therefore, I will rank it as a 9. Otherwise, it is a great product and I will recommend it to anyone! — 7 years ago
    Rosalind | 8 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 16 Best Heat Styling Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 9

    Strange but a true winner!

    Producttramp says: Well, Aveda has a winner on it's hands in my book. Application can be tricky and it's spendy but I love this stuff!!! This is one of the strangest hair products ever though. It is a TINY bottle with a flip cap and little hole. You apply this as powder to the roots directly from the bottle by shaking it out along a parted area. You have to stop, put the bottle down, then wo...read morerk the powder around the roots where you applied it. The results are so worth it though. You get vava-voom/ bow-chicka-bow-wow hair. I am not kidding! This amazing powder that turns into a lotion gives amazing texture and lift. It is also workable so if your hair starts to flatten out, just rework by fluffing your fingers around in the area that the Hair Potion is applied and voila! voluminous hair again. There is a slight cooling sensation when you apply this that goes away within a minute or two. I didn't notice any powder residue on my hair or my very dark haired friend when applied and worked in properly. You don't need a lot of Hair Potion to achieve a great look, though $22 for a miniscule bottle of .07 ounces is a bit much, which is why I deducted 1 star. Hair Potion shampoos out easily with no residual residue to weigh down the hair. I use this on my own hair which has gotten less thick, though no less coarse over the past year with great results and also used it on my fine haired friend with the same great results. My Aveda salesperson told me whatever I do, don't carry this in your bag. It can't be jostled about constantly or it will turn liquid (but it should work the same she said). I don't care about the quirks of not being able to carry this with me, since I really don't find I need any more applications once I style for the day. It is quite odd though.. It may take a few times of trial and error to get the technique down for some but once you do, you won't know how you ever lived without this! — 7 years ago
    producttramp | 7 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  6 of 6 people said helpful

  • 8

    Fine Hair

    This stuff is a miracle for fine hair. It gives my hair so much volume! — 7 years ago
    adtapp | 6 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 8

    Great once you figure out the best way to use it

    I had this product a while before I finally got the hang of it. I just mix it with mousse or whatever hair product I am using and massage it into my scalp. Because it is so expensive, I wish that everytime I squeeze out the powder, half of it didn't go everywhere but my hand but overall a great product. — 6 years, 11 months ago
    Hollyed | 19 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 17 Best Hair Gels

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 8

    I love this stuff

    I have very straight fine hair. This is great to get body and style back on second day after washing hair. It reduces oiliness, adds body and volume. Thumbs up here! — 7 years ago
    Betsey | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9

    This is one of my favorites

    I have very fine hair and this product has helped give me volume that lasts all day. I sprinkle a little on my fingers and rub it into my roots. My stylist at the Aveda Salon highly recommended this and I have been using it for about a year. It works great on 2nd day hair too. — 7 years ago
    msdove | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 3

    Nothing spectacular.

    I was sick of using baby powder to refresh 2nd day hair, so I bought this thinking it would be even better and not leave a white residue. It did not really work for my hair as a refresher ... more of a grimy / rock'n'roll look ... which was not what I wanted. I'm sad I spent so much money on this. — 7 years ago
    orysia84 | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 16 Best Heat Styling Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 9

    love at first sight

    From the first time my hairstylist put this in my hair, I was in love. It gives great volume at the crown. After a few hours, you can easily work the volume back up without having to add more. It gives texture, volume and defines layers with ease. — 7 years ago
    hwlove | 9 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend