Aveda Clove Color Conditioner Reviews

Back to Aveda Clove Color Conditioner»
Sort by:
  • 3

    Shame on me

    I used Aveda's Black Malva - with no results. A couple of years later, at a stylist's recommendation, I purchased the Clove Color Conditioner. As they say, "fool me twice, shame on me." The Clove Color Conditioner doesn't do anything, although - like the Black Malva - it clearly has a lot of pigment and will stain hands/fingernails if not washed promptly. My hair has gotten lighter brown (now,...read more it's Medium Ash Brown) and even with repeated, every wash use, I cannot honestly say I observe the slightest color difference based on this product. — 2 weeks ago
    TrademarkGal | 16 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 10 Worst Conditioners

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 7

    Good product

    This product is a really good basic colour keeper. It definitely gives the hair shine and a healthy look!! It leaves your hair feeling super soft and shiny which can only be a good thing! The product isn't all that brilliant at enriching brunette shades but is adequate enough, it is rather pricey for the quality of the product but I would by just for the softness and shine on dried hair! — 8 months, 2 weeks ago
    sophiebutcher98 | 2 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 10

    Keeps my hair color balanced.

    I was born with dark brown hair. Before I was one year old I had all black hair. Now because of the sun, relaxers, and genetics my hair grows black to orange, root to tip. This product takes care of the problem. I have tried the black malva, it was a little too dark and dried my hair out. The red by aveda still showed the rainbow in my hair. The clove worked best for me and saves me from coloring....read more It is not to light either, just a step away from black. It is not the best conditioner, but that is not what I needed it for. — 5 years, 6 months ago
    StacieD | 122 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9

    A great alternative

    Although I have noticed the gray hair increasing, I am not interested in a permanent hair coloring. This worked wonderfully at reducing the look of my grays while giving the rest of my hair a needed boost. Often I will just run the Clove through the top of my hair and use another on the back. The condition is deep enough to give my hair a soft feel but not heavy enough to weigh it down. This one is a keeper. — 6 years, 6 months ago
    signrock | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 24 Best Conditioners

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 5

    I don't know why I thought I'd try this.

    I don't color my hair, and my hair is very dark, so I don't know what I was expecting,and it did absolutley nothing. But, it seemed much more potent than other "for brunettes" marketed products, and I imagine if my hair were lighter it might have done something. — 6 years, 7 months ago
    julesboots | 20 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 2 people said helpful

  • 9

    Works well

    Adds just enough color and is very natural looking - no orange or red tones at all. — 6 years, 7 months ago
    kathryne4 | 141 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 8

    Good

    This is a good conditioner. It does leave a light temporary color enhancment and conditions fine for normal to healthy hair. Can be used with the matching shampoo or not, but works the same. Will stain skin and light colored clothing if not rinsed immediately and completely. Be careful of shower/tub and towels as well. — 7 years ago
    Darcien1 | 16 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 10 Worst Conditioners

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    Great for root touchups

    I love this conditioner for my in between times before I need to color my hair again. I use it when I notice that my color is looking a little more drab than I like or maybe lightening more than I want it too. I also find that it helps to camoflouge the greys inbetween colors. I don't even have a problem with my hightlights getting to lost in it. I tend to use it may once sometimes twice in a week when I just want a reresher. — 7 years ago
    peeps1990 | 35 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 4 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend