Purpose Gentle Cleansing Bar Reviews

Back to Purpose Gentle Cleansing Bar»
Sort by:
  • 2

    Not so great

    I bought this, because I thought it would be a great, simple cleanser to use on my acne-prone, yet dry face. I tend to do better with cleaners that don't have a bunch of extra ingredients and keep it simple. This product dried my skin out more than any other face wash I've ever used. After I finish washing my face with this, my face feels like it's violently stripped of all the natural moisterizer...read mores and oils on my skin. It feels so unnatural and just feels like it's bad for my skin. It makes it feel so uncomfortably tight, dry, and "too clean". The bar soap is so big and awkward to use and it melts away very quickly, creating an orange mess all over my counter and in my shower/tub. I think this soap would be a lot better if it were more moisturizing. It feels equivalent to using antibacterial dial soap on my face (very bad). I do love, however, how well it lathers and the smell isn't so bad. I think this bar soap may work best for people with very oily skin that is not prone to breakouts (just make sure to use a very good moisturizer immediately after). When your face is dried out so much, as it does when I use this soap, your face secretes more oils as a way to re-balance your face. With that being said, I can't see this working for people with acne-prone skin or sensitive skin. — 2 years, 10 months ago
    Laurenco77 | 35 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 2 people said helpful

  • 10

    Very Gentle

    I have the most sensitive skin imaginable. It it combination. The Purpose Gentle Cleansing Bar is the only cleanser I've found that doesn't irritate it. It feels light when you are rubbing in on, but gets off oil, makeup, and everything in between. It left my skin feeling smoother after the first use. Plus the bar is large! — 6 years, 3 months ago
    SugarCookie | 2 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  7 of 8 people said helpful

  • 21 Best Soaps

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    Doctor recommended, diva approved!

    I had tried all the high end brands of cleansers, toners, you name it to get my oily skin under control. I had acne problems and skin that was dried out but still very oily. One trip to the dermatologist solved all my problems without a prescription. He recommended I try Purpose. I bought a bar immediately and have never looked back. It removes makeup, cleans my skin, and yet my skin doesn't ...read morecreate a lot of oil in response. Nor does it get dried out any more. I haven't had skin problems since. Inexpensive and yet it's the best facial cleanser you'll ever try. — 6 years, 3 months ago
    Sheryldeer | 12 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  5 of 5 people said helpful

  • 9

    Great, but don't get in your eyes

    This was reccommended to me by my doctor cuz I was breaking out on my forehead a ton (combination skin type) and it really worked. Just don't get it in you eyes cuz it makes your eye feel sooo dry and burns. It's a great product though and I have very sensitive skin. I do reccommend moisturizing after though cuz it does feel dry and tight. — 6 years, 4 months ago
    AlternaAngel | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 3 people said helpful

  • 8

    A Lot of Quality

    This is, definitely an above-average facial cleanser. Also, it is a larger than average-sized bar. — 6 years, 5 months ago
    UknowmE | 2 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 3 people said helpful

  • 21 Best Body Washes

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    Purpose is Gentle

    This soap can be used for all skin types, It is strong enough to remove makeup but gentle enough to keep sensetive skin from drying out. It has a fresh clean smell with no bad additives or dyes. — 6 years, 7 months ago
    pataleonard | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 3 people said helpful

  • 10

    Best Cleanser Ever!!!!

    I am known for having naturally beautiful skin and the purpose gentle cleansing bar just makes my skin even healthier. If I don't wash my fash for a good 2 or more days, a pimple will appear in a heartbeat. The purpose gentle cleansing bar will zap pimples or any other breakout away over night. — 6 years, 8 months ago
    Aminah1987 | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  5 of 5 people said helpful

  • 10

    The non-soap soap

    Purpose is such a gentle yet effective product. For someone who still wants the convenience of a "soap"bar, but not the drying side effects, this is your facial cleanser. — 6 years, 10 months ago
    missclaire | 11 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 21 Best Soaps

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    Love this

    This is the only product I will clean my face with. Very gentle and my face feels very clean. — 6 years, 10 months ago
    YippySkippy | 6 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend