Shu Uemura Mascara Basic Reviews

Back to Shu Uemura Mascara Basic»
Sort by:
  • 10

    Eyelash holy grail!

    I have short straight Asian lashes and this mascara lengthens beautifully, holds the curl, and doesn't clump. My lashes look naturally long and feathery, and holds the curl the entire day. Love love love. — 2 years, 5 months ago
    nhough1973 | 10 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 7

    Good general mascara

    I tend to like Shu Uemura products and this one is no exception. A good quality basic mascara that does the job...lengthens and holds curl. A little on the pricey side, but not bad. — 2 years, 10 months ago
    jenbowie | 12 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 12 Worst Mascaras

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 7

    Worked pretty well for me

    Not magic, but pretty good results all around. A bit too pricey though. — 3 years, 10 months ago
    michelle_franklyn | 7 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9

    Beautiful and Easy

    This gave me a lovely set of lashes while still looking natural. The material didn't flake or clump, so I'm a fan. Additionally, it came off easily in the shower. Worth the cost if you're looking for a better than natural look with easy maintenance. — 3 years, 10 months ago
    BeamerCG | 184 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9

    Perfect, Basic Mascara

    I can NOT express how much I love this product. As a contact wearer, this mascara is perfect as it doesn't clump or flake off in my eyes. It gives eyes the most subtle hint of color and definition. Which is perfect for everyday use. If you want a mascara that will give you those Va-Va- Voom eyelashes that you see in mascara ads, then this isn't the one for you. But if you crave a mascara that gives you a soft natural look, then pick this mascara! — 4 years, 8 months ago
    KeshiaK | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9

    Best natural looking mascara

    This mascara is great for daytime use. The results are similar to having your lashes tinted. I like to use it when I am heading out early in the day and am not wanting to have a "made up" look. I worked for this company and was told that the formula is made from "baked traditional Japanese calligraphy ink". I'm not sure if this is true but it does give an inky/dyed look to the lashes. Not for someone that is looking for volume or length. — 5 years, 4 months ago
    cathrynstarr | 6 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 10

    Excellent seperating and lengthening

    I always seem to go back to this mascara! I always start my lashes with the Shu Uemura lash curler, followed by Mascara Basic. The formula never clumps and goes on smooth and seperates and lenghtens my lashes. If you are looking for super thickening formula, this might not be for you, but you can build the formula with extra coats to achieve thickness. I always get compliments on my lashes from Shu Mascara Basic. — 6 years ago
    jillian_c | 4 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9

    Best Basic

    I was really looking forward to trying this mascara, and it really lived up to my expectations. Stays put; doesn't smudge, which is a must for me! I used an oil-based makeup remover to get it off cleanly at night. You get nice separation and it's light enough that it doesn't clump. It's a great everyday mascara. The only reason I didn't give it a 10 is because it is pretty 'basic', and doesn't result in super sized lashes. — 6 years, 1 month ago
    midori | 45 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 12 Worst Mascaras

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    best mascara out there!

    HG! HG! HG!!!! I absolutely LOVE this mascara. I don't know why I waited so long to do a review on it, since it's hands down one of the best mascaras out there, and I've tried A LOT. MAC, Shiseido, Estee Lauder, Lancome, Chanel, Givenchy, and yes even the almighty Diorshow...none of them even begin to compare to the results I get with Shu's Mascara Basic. I think this mascara is a godsend for Asia...read moren lashes which tend to be short and stick straight. After curling my lashes with Shu's curler, I just swipe on this mascara, and my lashes look gorgeous. This is the only mascara out there that holds the curl in my lashes the entire day. And when my lashes are curled, my entire eye just pops and looks awake and lively, even if I only got two hours of sleep the night before. It's not a lengthening mascara, or a voluminizing mascara, it's just very basic. It's fabulous for a day-time look or for going to work: at night when I'm going out and I'd like my eyes to be a little more dramatic, I still use the Mascara Basic as a base to hold the curl in my lashes, and then I'll use a lengthening/voluminizing mascara over it. It lengthens my lashes BUT still keeps the curl (which is so incredibly important) and doesn't clump. If I just use the lengthen/voluminize mascaraby itself then my lashes look like spider legs. But with the Mascara Basic on as a base, I can apply any mascara and still have great-looking lashes. I LOVE this product and I use it every day without fail. — 6 years, 2 months ago
    lilpixytiff | 7 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend