Maybelline New York Expert Eyes Defining Liner Reviews

Back to Maybelline New York Expert Eyes Defining Liner»
Sort by:
  • 4

    average

    I was lucky i got this at the dollar store because i would not pay any more then a dollar for, it's just an average eye liner and you could get a much better one at a drugstore. this one smudges and looks like a mess in little to no time if you don't set it with powder or eye shadow. — 3 years, 8 months ago
    crazygirl21 | 55 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 7

    Eh,,..

    Nothing special for a drugstore eyeliner even. It not bad but at the same time its not good. I like the intense pigmentation, although this liner does run quite a bit on my oily skin, making the bright colors look horrible after about an hour or so. Would not buy again. — 3 years, 10 months ago
    Fakeichu | 12 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 16 Best Eyeliners under $10

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 6

    Nothing special, but it's okay

    Just your standard drugstore liner - pigmentation is okay, can very with the color. The wear time is similar to any other drugstore eyeliner - does fine on the lashline, a smudgy mess on the waterline though. other drugstore eyeliners. With this, you get what you pay, which isn't much. — 3 years, 11 months ago
    makeupjunkie777 | 59 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 7

    Bold color

    I loved the color of sapphire It was just the thing to pop my eye color — 5 years ago
    elestar | 28 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 5

    cheap

    would buy again — 6 years, 2 months ago
    alannalilly | 60 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 2 people said helpful

  • 7

    smooth yet a bit smudgey

    This liner goes on smoothly and dark, but it tends to melt and smear after a while — 6 years, 5 months ago
    Cheryl_11577 | 27 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 9

    For subtle color, it's a winner

    I pretty much like all Maybelline products (with the exception of Maybelline Express Finish nailcolor) and this particular item is no different. Usually I line my eyes with a black pencil - any type will do, in fact so long as it is a brand name product - meaning no 99 cent pencils or ones with funky chemical smells - I will at least try it. I am not particularly enamored of any one brand. The r...read moreeason I am more particular with eye pencils and demand that they be name brands, is I believe my eyes are too important to chance using some 99 cent pencil and end up getting an eye infection. I have no problem, however, using 99 cent nail polish (i.e., Wet and Wild). But back to this particular eye pencil. The reason I chose this pencil is the color - dark green. Every now and then I feel I must use some color other than black and since my eyes are green, I figured green would be a good choice. The Expert Eyes defining liner pencil comes in 3 pieces and has 2 features that not all eye pencils have. At one end it has a soft rubbery triangle, that you can use to smudge, or soften, the line of the pencil, after it is applied to your eyes. I personally have never gotten the hang of using this feature though, and end up looking like I’ve slept with the eyeliner on - meaning it is everywhere but where it should be. At the other end is a sharpener for the pencil, so you don’t have to buy a special pencil sharpener. The middle part is, of course, the actual color pencil. There is no heavy smell to the pencil and it is quite slim and easy to carry in a purse. A note about the sharpener. I feel the same way about the sharpener on this pencil as I do about the sharpener that comes with the 64 Crayola crayon box. The sharpener never gets the pencil (or crayon) as sharp as when it was new. Also, I believe it is a little pricier because it comes with its own sharpener. For a color pencil, I like it in that it is easy to apply. However, the color itself is a bit on the soft side. I personally like something more dramatic, so I probably will not be buying this particular pencil again. I’m going to give this pencil a 4 out of 5. If you like subtle color, you’ll like Maybelline’s Expert Eyes Defining Pencil. If you want Vampira-type eyes, try another pencil. — 6 years, 5 months ago
    pcomsec | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 7

    very nice to use

    This liner is vurs.ery "user friendly" and is beautiful on, no clumping and you get easy application control. I do not think it lasts as long as other products, seems to wear off after a few ho — 6 years, 7 months ago
    califqn | 16 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 16 Best Eyeliners under $10

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    fabulous!

    this product is great! everyone always compliments me when i use this! — 6 years, 8 months ago
    nurse2bdec04 | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend