Maybelline New York Define-A-Lash Washable Lengthening Mascara Reviews

Back to Maybelline New York Define-A-Lash Washable Lengthening Mascara»
Sort by:
  • 7

    Good for natural-looking lashes

    I like this mascara...I have long-ish but sparse lashes. This mascara is great for days that I want to look like I'm not wearing makeup. Goes on very easily, not clumpy whatsoever, lenghtens lashes without adding much volume. I keep coming back to this product because it feels so natural on my eyes. Not for dramatic eye makeup but one of my favorite mascaras — 2 years, 8 months ago
    supersaverteen | 8 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 2 people said helpful

  • 9

    works for me

    This is the best mascara I have purchased in a long time. I've read a few of the other reviews and I don't agree with the bad ones. Maybe I'm just looking for something different? I like the way it separates and defines my lashes. It does go on in a thin coat, but I don't mind that. It doesn't clump and is quite water proof. The brush does take some getting used to, but I wouldn't let that stop you from buying it. — 3 years, 2 months ago
    wavyredhead | 16 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 2 people said helpful

  • 10

    I love this.

    This is like, people have said, a thin formula/consistency. But I like it, since it's more of a day-wear mascara. Also, it has NEVER clumped for me, even though I have had it for lke, 5 months! (I know, I know---BAD dont hate) But it has never dried out, and the brush, though it may seem a little awkward to handle at first, is AWESOME and separates lashes amazingly well. It's not expensive either,...read more so what do you have to lose? I definately recommend this product. Also, if you are going for more of a dramatic look, this is good to use under and over a volumizing mascara (such as FALSIES) a great buy. — 3 years, 3 months ago
    sarahgurl1116 | 24 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 2 people said helpful

  • 18 Best Mascaras -- EVER

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 9

    Really shocked by the bad review!

    Although I use the waterproof formula, I'm often asked "are your lashes real?" by total strangers when I wear this mascara. I'm a natural blond, with thin, straight lashes, and I like a dramatic look. 1-2 coats does the job for me. And I give it 9 stars because it makes my lashes nearly touch my eyebrows, yet isn't 100% sweat-proof (I haven't found a single waterproof formula that is!) so I have to check for smudges on my brow-bone on hot, sweaty days. — 3 years, 3 months ago
    lucydiamond | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 2 people said helpful

  • 5

    Don't Like The Applicator

    I'm not a fan of the applicator on this mascara. It's doesn't allow for even coverage and often leaves my lashes looking clumpy. Much prefer the longer bristles of other mascaras that help define each lash. Felt the name wasn't very fitting. — 3 years, 5 months ago
    MeghanL | 13 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 9

    Love the Mascara!

    I keep seeing bad reviews on this mascara, but I have had a great experience using this product! I have never gotten so many compliments on my lashes as I do when I wear this mascara. I ONLY used to wear DIOR Show and Lancome, but I switched as a challenge to find a drugstore brand that was just as good. I love that the mascara is not too thick or clumpy. It adds definition and length without b...read moreulk and that it what I love about it! The brush is not my favorite, and it is hard to get to my bottom lashes, but I love the formula so much that I can overlook it! I think it is a great value for $8.00. — 3 years, 5 months ago
    jnm9jem | 30 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 2 people said helpful

  • 8

    Good mascara

    I have the waterproof version and I actually really like it. The formula is thin, but it really does lengthen my lashes and separates it nicely, and I like how you can do a second layer of it without having it clump up on you. — 3 years, 7 months ago
    LalaS. | 69 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 3 people said helpful

  • 5

    disappointing

    For all of the hype that I saw in several reviews, I was kind of disappointed when I finally tried this out. You really need to layer it on or else your lashes look very thin. Also, they made my eyes water and hurt after a few hours of wearing them (but I have contacts so maybe I should have gotten a waterproof one). However, I did like how black and dewy they looked. — 3 years, 7 months ago
    carriemaniaaa | 2 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 3 people said helpful

  • 6

    A little clumpy

    This mascara is pretty decent, It definitely makes my lashes more noticeably defined! I would reccomend this if you needed a cheap mascara which works pretty well. — 3 years, 9 months ago
    Icypink21 | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 2 people said helpful

  • 18 Best Mascaras -- EVER

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 4

    The applicator wand is awful!

    I couldn't get past the terrible applicator. It was flimsy and seemed really cheap. I expect better from Maybelline! — 4 years ago
    Sbalzer | 46 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 3 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend