Maybelline New York Dream Matte Powder Reviews

Back to Maybelline New York Dream Matte Powder»
Sort by:
  • 9

    Love it

    I am a faithful user of the dream mousse matte foundation- I have been using it and only it for the last couple years. I just recently bought the matte powder bronzer and I love it. It looks good over the foundation or even alone without anything under. It goes on smooth and my faces looks sun kissed and smooth. Lasts for a good amount of time. I love it and it's a good price! — 4 years, 1 month ago
    smo1284 | 7 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 2

    very heavy

    How would I describe it? Would you like some cement on your face? At least it sure feels like it when you use this powder. — 4 years, 4 months ago
    Markiza83 | 9 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 3 people said helpful

  • 3

    smooth

    I love this powder. It goes on smoothly and does not look "powdery". It set the mousse makeup very well when the two products are used together. Reasonably priced and long-lasting. Unlike other reviewers I dislike the package design, while it keeps the powder and puff separate between uses, it is difficult to figure out initially. The mirror is convenient and the clear window on top allows — 4 years, 7 months ago
    lgragg61 | 6 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 6 people said helpful

  • 18 Best Mineral Makeup Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 9

    wow

    So far this stuff works well w/ my skin. It really goes on invisible on my skin but makes my skin matte. I have to say this does control the oil for a few hours. Great for the price and as good as my old MAC Blot powder. — 4 years, 7 months ago
    ennosenze25 | 95 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 10

    Maybelline New York Dream Matte Powder

    About: This is my favourite pressed powder!! I like it more than Rimmel London's Stay Matte Pressed Powder. It keeps me matte for a decently good amount of time. I also adore the cute packaging. The bottom half of the compact twists out to a nice mirror and a suede puff --which is really soft. ♥ This powder comes in 8 different shades, each 9g or 0[point]32 oz. The shades are divided into 3 ...read moregroups of Light, Medium, and Dark. I have mine in Medium 2-2[point]5 Beige. Price varies but averages from $8-12. ♥ I enjoy how this powder looks very natural on your face and how it keeps the liquid makeup in place. It is very fine and soft and blends so effortlessly into your skin. It has a matte finish, so I suggest applying highlighters, blush, bronzer, and etc. post application as it does take away the glow and some colour. It keeps my oils at bay but keep in mind that I have mildly oily skin. I suggest applying it on a clean face or blot your oils before hand to keep away the oils. ♥ Claims: "A pressed powder innovation, Dream Matteâ„¢ Powder's ultra-fine formula delivers an amazing air-soft feel and silky texture. * Jet-milled into ultra-fine particles for an air-soft, ultra-silky texture * Ultra-fine powder delivers matte perfection with an air-soft feel * Revolutionary liquid binder ingredients provide cushiony, smooth application * Formula ensures superior blendability for even application every time * Magically matches skin's texture, never dusts up or settles into lines * Luxuriously soft suede puff results in a more cushioned application * Available in 8 dreamy shades * Won’t clog pores, dermatologist tested, oil-free " ♥ Ratings: Quality: 5/5 Packaging: 5/5 Effectiveness: 4[point]5/5 For some, you may need to retouch Scent: 4/5 There is a very light perfume-y scent Price: 4/5 Price isn't anything fantastic except compared to department stores Formula: 5/5 It's so soft, fine, and blendable Overall:4[point]6/5 A++ ♥ Pros: - nice, durable packaging - never looks cakey - keeps you matte for a long time - no shine whatsoever - keeps foundation/concealer on - very smooth, not chalky - particles are very finely milled - powder is super soft - blends really nicely - oil free and non-comedogenic [won't clog pores] - has a matte finish - natural looking - doesn't make you look powdery [unless you PACK it on] - skin feels pretty soft too - looks like my skin - didn't break me out ♥ Cons: - might not work very well for super-oily skin - coverage is very sheer - can make flaky skin look obvious - won't keep you matte/oil-free all day - may need to re-touch once a day [depending on how oily you are] ♥ Repurchase: Definitely! Visit www[dot]xmaterialgirlsx[dot]com for more reviews!! — 4 years, 8 months ago
    xMaterialGirlsx | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 4 people said helpful

  • 8

    Good stuff!

    Yes, I definitely think is good stuff! As others have said, it's light, stays on and blends really nicely with your own skin tone. Definitely one of the better pressed powders I've used. — 4 years, 8 months ago
    Imasweetie27 | 11 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 8

    ♥this

    this is one of my favorite powders. its hard to find the right shade because the colors dont coordinate too well with the foundation shades so get a shade darker than the foundation if you use the dream matte mousse foundation too. it actually controls some oil and stayed pretty well. i have an oily t zone so all of my makeup sort of melts off anyway. this was a good value for the money also — 4 years, 8 months ago
    sprklgrl93 | 26 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9

    I love it. I love it. I love it!

    I purchased this powder with my Maybelline Superstay 24hr Foundation; and let me tell you they work together like a dream. This sets my liquid foundation so well. A little goes a long way. The colors matches my skin perfectly, and I do not get oily wearing this. It makes my face look like perfection. I've got so many compliments wearing this. It is a great product for winter time as well. Also, instead of using the applicator to apply it, I use a kabuki brush. — 4 years, 8 months ago
    hernameispey10 | 20 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 8

    Good powder to control shine.

    I've been using this powder for a few years and I love it. I mostly put it on to control shine and redness during my morning make-up routine. It provides low to medium coverage, as is expected from this type of powder, and it gives a very natural look. I don't suggest putting more on during the day on shiny/oily areas as it's going to make the skin look, well... bad (for lack of a better term). ...read moreHowever, I have mixed skin (oily nose/forehead, but very dry cheeks/chin) and it makes the skin look a bit flaky in those dry areas (this is not the case for everyone, according to other reviews, though). I usually use the powder in combination with a moisturizing liquid foundation to solve this problem. — 4 years, 8 months ago
    Walhalla | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 18 Best Mineral Makeup Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 8

    the best drugstore powder!

    This is by far the best drugstore powder I have ever owned. It goes on very smoothly and has good coverage. I use it over my foundation to set it and it works very well. It doesnt make dry patches look flaky and it seems to have good staying power. I like the packaging too. I do think this product is a little off on the shades though. I have fair skin and usually wear natual ivory foundation but I...read more find the corresponding shade in this powder to be too light. So I advise you to buy a shade or two darker than your normal maybelline shade. — 4 years, 9 months ago
    kb13xoxo | 11 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend