Banana Boat Summer Color Self-Tanning Lotion Deep Dark Color Reviews

Back to Banana Boat Summer Color Self-Tanning Lotion Deep Dark Color»
Sort by:
  • 10

    it didn't make me orange!

    this is by far the best self tanner I have used! I am pale and have used it in the light one and the deep dark color and they didn't make me orange. I applied in very thin layers at a time and received great color and no streaking. :) — 3 years, 9 months ago
    MMSMakeup | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  6 of 6 people said helpful

  • 9

    Love this stuff.

    As a Native American gal it takes a certain product to get my skin back to it's summer color and this self tanner totally did it for me! The color it gives is a beautiful golden brown instead of a gross and fake orange or yellow-y color. The smell was also very nice. Another plus is that the tan it gives lasts for a good amount of time! my ONLY con is the con to every single self tanner in the w...read moreorld: streaking. i do rinse my hands afterwards and then blend up with whatever product is on my skin, but somehow I always end up with weird lines around my wrist, palms, and the tops of my hands. But it's totally worth it. — 3 years, 9 months ago
    seasarah | 11 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 10

    my favorite

    I love this self tanner!!! It doesn't smell at all, it is very thick and moisturizing, and like the other posts have mentioned: it's a deep color. I have fair fair skin and this gives me such a beautiful shimmer that I buy it in bulk. I wish they would make something this great for the face, Jergen's face tanner really sucks. — 3 years, 11 months ago
    alysa914 | 2 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  5 of 6 people said helpful

  • 7 Worst Self-Tanners

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    The Best Sunless Tanner Ever!!!

    First off, let me say that we are comparing this item, to other sunless tanners. If you haven't tried and used several different sunless tanners, then let me say that there isn't a self tanner that is PERFECT. They all give a degree of an orangy tint to them when in certain light, or sunlight. You have to find the product that looks the most natural in those certain lights. This takes a lot of tim...read moree, trying different products. This product, I have found looks the most natural of all the other products I have used. It's not until you have tried so many products that you want to scream, that you realize that if you want to use self tanners, it's about finding the most natural, and that no self tanner is perfect. I use to tan in tanning beds all the time, until I was diagnosed with skin cancer. I had to have surgery on my face to remove it. I was only 27!!! Then I started using sunless tanners. I was using a self tanner by Morraccan that was great, but went on so dark, and kept turning green. I loved the after look, but one day, after I washed the tanner off, my skin had a green tint to it. It was time to start looking for another tanner. I tried several other tanners, very expensive. Then I was at Walmart and seen the Banana Boat sunless tanner. I didn't think it would look great, because it was sold at Walmart, and it was cheap. I was wrong... It was the best sunless product I had ever used!! I was so HAPPY that I found such a great product for a great price. All self tanners are a pain, but it's better than risking getting skin cancer. All skin tanners have a weird/awful smell to them. This product doesn't smell the best, but it's not unbearable. I put it on before I go to bed, so nobody can see me while it's on, because it's not pretty. I have dry skin, so I use thick lotion on my hands, elbows, knees, and feet. I use gloves while I apply it everywhere, then remove the gloves and put lotion on my hands. I then use a cotton ball to apply the tanner on my hands. Be very careful to not get the lotion on your knuckles or between them, because it will appear orangy. Make sure to use lotion on elbows, knees, and feet too. Other than that, you will have a flawless tan. I have been using self tanner for a few years now, so I have lots of practice applying it. This product lasts for several days. To keep a constant tan, you should probably apply twice a week. Sometimes I will just reapply to my face, since it seems to wash off of my face quicker than anywhere else. Hope my review has inspired you to try this product out. (Although Walmart has been out of stock for quite some time.... I guess more people are finding out about this product, and it's in high demand... I will just have to order it online.) Also, I have found that you need to apply in a circular motion... if you don't, theres a change it will look streaky. Also, do not apply too thickly, rub it in good, and also, it is a good idea to apply it about an hour before you go to sleep, so it has time to dry more, so that it doesn't rub off too much on your sheets. Make sure if you decide to sleep with it on, to use dark sheets, because it will stain them. All self tanners rub off, so if you really want to wear white, make sure you will not be sweating, and it's best to wait until your second shower after you apply the lotion to wear white. Keeping your skin free from UV rays, while still wanting to look tan, this product is one of the best out there. (For spray tans, try the Callifornia spray tan at the tanning salons, the color looks great, not much of a smell at all, looks natural while on, so you can go out in public while it's on, less messy, and just much easier... just depends how much money you want to spend) — 4 years, 3 months ago
    sunkissed4900 | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  27 of 29 people said helpful

  • 7

    like it but....

    I personally do not like the smell. It does wash off and you can not shave, that takes it right off. and even if I wait it rubs off on my clothes. but easy to use, and good color. — 4 years, 4 months ago
    Stacie_B | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 10

    Great Drugstore self-tanner

    I recently purchased this after seeing it reviewed on YouTube and I must say I love the instant color payoff and the smell - there is NO SMELL! It is moisturizing and almost streak free. No self tanner is completely streak free but this one comes close. It all has to do with application and the dark color helps the application process unlike other self tanner which are white upon application. Great value and one of the best self tanners out there drugstore or name brand. — 4 years, 6 months ago
    Timberlynn | 23 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  5 of 5 people said helpful

  • 9 Best Self-Tanners

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 9

    My go-to tanner!

    I love being tan, but have strayed away from the tanning beds because I know it is HORRIBLE for our skin!! I came on here several months ago to find a great tanner that the majority of people recommended, and this was the one I chose to use! It's really inexpensive, and I like the results! The bottle seems to last a long time too. I prefer the deep dark. ONLY THING is when it fades on my neck area...read more, you can definitely tell because it's blotchy and people definitely notice. Also, I exfoliate so much on my feet, but they still seem to streak on them. I never know how much to apply there! Otherwise, this is so great! I love it! — 4 years, 6 months ago
    MegNicole | 7 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 3

    Not Great!

    Ok First off this product DOES smell like all the others. It also DOES leave streaks. I tried the medium first and it didn't do much at all so I went to the Dark and although I LOVED the color it did streak and the back part of my legs were darker than the front. Trust me I exfoliated and follwed the directions exactly. In my Opinion NOT THE BEST!! — 4 years, 6 months ago
    Etigger | 4 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 7 people said helpful

  • 10

    Banana Boat Best by far!!!!

    I have been through so many different sunless tanning sprays in the past month. Neutrogena sunless airbrush mist was the last one i used that i was very unsatisfied with, leaving my skin orange. Yesterday i decided to go exchange it for the banana boat mist. When i got home i was so excited to use it and see how it works. I sprayed everywhere and went to bed. When i woke up this morning i was so ...read morehappy!!! I was checking out my body and i am soooo satisfied. No orange or streaks. Its the perfect bronze brown. oh and it also smells good to. I am so relieved i finally found something that works this well. My boyfriend keeps complimenting me saying it looks so good and all. :) — 4 years, 6 months ago
    JAMIE24 | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  8 of 8 people said helpful

  • 7 Worst Self-Tanners

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 9

    Great Buy

    At first I noticed 3 or 4 streaks, but i rubbed them off as soon as i saw them and the color was streak-free again. After just one application and about 4 hours later, my skin transformed into a nice bronze like tan that was even all over. Overall this product is very worth it. — 4 years, 7 months ago
    _brittneyleigh_ | 24 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend