Banana Boat Summer Color Self-Tanning Lotion Deep Dark Color Reviews

Back to Banana Boat Summer Color Self-Tanning Lotion Deep Dark Color»
Sort by:
  • 10

    Best self tanner

    I have been using this product for over a year now! I used to work as a promo model for a beer company, so looking good was part of the job. I used to be addicted to tanning beds, but after giving them up for health reasons I was TERRIFIED to try a self tanner. I researched A LOT and found this product, tried it and I was AMAZED. It won't take weeks of tanning (like in a tanning bed) to get a bas...read moree color. One application and you're done! The color is realistic, and not orangey or gross at all. Self tanning is a process and you have to know what you're doing to get the best result, but do a little research on the right process and you'll be golden (literally! :-) ) So if you are looking for the best product available at a lower cost, look no further. I used the Deep Dark color in the summer and sometimes the lighter color (which can be stacked to create a deeper color). I also use it all over my face in place of a moisturizer, which is probably not the best thing for my skin but I don't break out from it at all, and it looks great. My only complaint is that it can take a while to dry because it is SOO moisturizing, but really it's not so bad. Definitely cheaper than a professional spray tan and it gives you comparable results. — 1 year ago
    sreinhardt18 | 9 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  18 of 19 people said helpful

  • 10

    awesome product!

    i love to be tan and usually go to the tanning bed around october when my tan fades but with this product i dont need a tanning bed! — 1 year, 5 months ago
    smile7490 | 2 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 9

    bananna boat sunless tan

    I am not experienced with self tanners and I am realy pale with uneven skin so discovering this was truely a miracle: it barely streaks and only does so if is not done properly. Also, it is very cheap (sold at walmarts, usually on the bottom self of self-tanners, sunscreens and other sun products) at about $8.00 for a 6 fl oz bottle, which is VERY nice and will not rub off onto clothes as far as I...read more have noticed. Another great feature is that the smell is not overwhelming (unlike the jergens stuff I use to use) and is very buildable, so it is good for any skin type (like my pale self). yet another thing is that it sticks around for a while, maybe through a shower or two and doesn't fade noticably. But like all good things there are a few flaws, for instance: the color takes wayyy to long to appear, way more than the two to three hours like the packaging said. And like I said earlier, I will streak if your not careful, and its odd looking because they look more like drip marks rather than actual streaks even though it doesn't drip due to its rather thick consistancy when applied so thats a ??? All in all, I am going to buy this again. I like it :) — 1 year, 9 months ago
    Pinkeebler | 34 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 7 Worst Self-Tanners

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 9

    Love!

    If you are looking for a beautiful tan from the shelves of the drugstore, you have found the one! This tinted self tanner gives my fair skin a tan that looks amazingly natural. The color is a great golden bronze, not a dreaded orange or yellow! However, don't think it is deeply dark, I have to use it about three times in a row to get my desired shade. Whether because of the tint or the formula, t...read morehis product is also easy to use. I have only been self tanning for a year now, and I've never really messed up with this lotion. The only problems I have had with this self tanner come to my face. For some reason, this self tanner hardly is able to tan my face. Yet it is able to cause my acne prone skin to breakout occasionally. And yes, this tanner does have an odor, but which one doesn't? All in all, buy this self tanner, apply it at night, use a bronzer on your face, and enjoy the fab color of summer! — 1 year, 10 months ago
    smile00 | 6 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9

    Tried them all, best product

    Tanned in a bed since I was 15. Had to have a mole removed and promised my mom and myself i would stop. In the past 3 years I've used every drug store self tanner there is. Personally, this is the BEST one! What blows my mind is that where I live it's $7 after tax and all the products I've tried before have been on average $10. This formula goes on SO easy, it starts to develop in a matter of minu...read moretes, it lasts longer than any other, and it actually looks NATURAL! I have had such a problem with my hands being orange from application with other products, even after scrubbing. This product does not turn your hands at all, just wash half way thru application and at the end (give nail area and between fingers a little extra scrub) I put this on at night and let it set in (beware: you will need to wash your sheets) or I can use it last minute and know it will develop in an hour and be DARK after 3(don't wear white until after you've showered). There is no streaking if you spend the time it take to apply evenly. Do it in a cool room in front of a mirror, if you start sweating you will feel wet for a while. This product is unbelievably moisturizing, compared to other brands that dry you out! I like to lay out after I've applied and showered and it just enhances the tan that much more without giving me that crackly looking skin that makes a fake tan so obvious. The lotion is literally BROWN and that is the color I turn, NO orange!! Obviously everyone has different skin color so it may be different for others! The best perk is that I am 5'11" and with other, more expensive products I go through the bottle for one application. With this product, the bottle lasts me at least 2 applications and then there is some left for touch ups. Avoid showering as long as possible after application and it will be darker and last longer! Price and results are almost too good to be true! Couldn't recommend this product enough. Stay out of Cancer coffins, use this product!!!! — 1 year, 11 months ago
    hilaryforever | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 10

    Best drugstore self tanner!

    This is the most natural looking tan from the drugstore! (and I've tried A LOT) Smells really good too. The lotion is tinted so you can easily see where you spread it. You must wash your hands after using it! — 1 year, 11 months ago
    blondedrb | 2 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  6 of 7 people said helpful

  • 9 Best Self-Tanners

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 9

    Awesome self tanner!

    Great self tanner!! Gives a great natural and even coverage!! I hadn't even had a base tan before applying it to my fair skin, and it only took 2 applications to look like I was coming back from a tropical vacation!!! Very pleased and will never need to lay in the sun again for a tan.:) — 2 years ago
    jswice | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9

    Great Tanner

    I really like this product. If used properly, you get a very natural looking dark tan! I will share my experience to hopefully help others who may be looking to use this product. The first time I used it, I had showered and shaved before application, which was the correct thing to do. What I neglected to account for was the very dry areas on my feet and ankles. I did exfoliate, but I didn't accoun...read moret for places where my skin would absorb a lot of product. This left me with very concentrated dark streaky spots on my feet and ankles. I also dripped water on myself after washing my hands, and although I gently blotted off the water, I had a bare spot where the water had dripped and ran down my outer thigh. The second time, however, I used a regular hydrating lotion on my feet, ankles, and knees before application of the tanner. Also, after applying the tanner to my legs, I mixed in a bit of regular lotion with the tanning lotion to put on those problem areas in order to make them blend better. This worked like a charm! There is a wonderful article on this site called "Tricks to Self-Tanning Your Body Like a Pro". As long as you follow the steps outlined in this article, this product will look great every time! Also, if you want a bit of a lighter tan to begin with, try mixing this tanning lotion with a white lotion to begin with. You will round out with a very natural looking even tan on the first try and you can go darker from there if you want to. A++ product! Will buy again! — 2 years ago
    CCochran | 22 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 3 people said helpful

  • 9

    One of my favs

    This is a great product to have at all times, especially if you don't like the idea of getting roasted by the sun/and or tanning beds. It's one of the best that I have found so far! I give it only 9 stars, because when it fades badly, especially on my neck and arms. The color does look natural, though, and for a cheap, fake tan, it's a pretty awesome product. Only about $6-7 for a whole bottle and...read more that lasts me a couple of months at least! I love the Deep Dark color, but both are great. Just make sure to exfoliate and go light on the ankles/feet!!! — 2 years ago
    msmegnicole | 23 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 7 Worst Self-Tanners

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 9

    Banana Boat Summer Color Self Tanning Lotion.

    This is a super tanning product. I've been using Banana Boat self taning products for years. The price is low compared to other self tanning products. I'm sold on this one. — 2 years, 1 month ago
    luckyhd51 | 4 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend