Philosophy Hope in a Jar Reviews

Back to Philosophy Hope in a Jar»
Sort by:
  • 1

    Yuck

    I am so glad I only received a sample of this because it is pretty bad. The first thing I noticed when I put it on was the smell. It's very intense, almost like a dish soap smell. Then as soon as I put it on my face, around my eye area, they began to burn. I didn't even get any product in my eyes, just on my forehead and that area! They burned for at least a minute after application. Now I have ve...read morery sensitive skin and so I'm sure that in the morning I'll have broken out because of this product. Do not buy if you have sensitive skin. — 3 years, 9 months ago
    truebeauty123 | 39 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 4

    Stinky!

    I had heard so many great reviews on this product that I bought it on impulse at Sephora. I tried to get past the smell, not gross, I just find it unpleasant, but it lingered and I could still smell it on my face by the end of the day! I was about to take it back to Sephora thinking it had gone "bad" until I read the reviews on Philosphy's website. LOTS of women find it smelly but use it anyway because it works great! I will keep my jar for now and see if my skin shows any benefit. — 4 years ago
    lisarocks | 7 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 10

    I have faith in Hope in a Jar !

    I've heard about this product for quite a while and purchased it after my cousin recommended it. After 5 weeks, I love it. It truly is like whipped h2o on your skin. It is very smooth and light. It isn't heavy nor pore clogging. I recommend it for all skin types, including mine...sensitive :) — 4 years, 1 month ago
    angie722 | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 4 people said helpful

  • 11 Worst Face Moisturizers

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 2

    Nooo not worth the money!

    First off, this stuff smells. I thought I'd get used to the scent...but...no. Second, it breaks me out so bad! I thought it was just a hormonal breakout or something else like my make up, so I discontinued other products whilst using this, and all along it really was this! I gave it one more try after stopping everything, and sure enough, massive breakouts happened. It did, however, provide enough...read more moisture to rid of flakiness, though I'd never recommend wearing it under foundation. Plus it stings and is too pricey. — 4 years, 2 months ago
    makeupjunkee25 | 10 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 1

    Terrible product

    I bought this together with some other philosophy products and have not been so disappointed with something in a long time. The cream smells terrible, and is very watery so quite difficult to apply. Would not use it for free! — 4 years, 3 months ago
    chicklet84 | 27 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 4

    Not sold on the hype

    I feel that although this works somewhat I don't think it is for really dry skin. It feels nice but I need another moisturizer on top which defeats the purpose and ends up costing me more money in the long run. — 4 years, 5 months ago
    carwhite | 4 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 13 Best Body Lotions Under $10

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    lovelovelove

    I won't put anything else on my face. I actually always ask for this for my birthday. Love the texture, love the scent, love the results. — 4 years, 6 months ago
    pandabearjones | 8 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 4 people said helpful

  • 7

    Not for dry skin

    I know everyone thinks that this skin cream is fabulous;however, I don't think it lives up to it's hype. I actually enjoy the smell (though most people don't), but that is not going to motivate me to use a facial cream. I have very dry, sensitive, red skin so I have to be careful what I use on it. This has lactic acid in it, which is nice to smooth texture and reduce lines, but it is not good for ...read morealready dry, tight skin. I do notice that my face feels tighter and firmer, but I think part of that is because it is drying out my skin rather than moisturizing. For oilier skin types, I think this would be a great cream for evening out texture and smoothing. It absorbs into the face and is not greasy, but it is just not enough moisture for my poor skin! I use it under my moisturizing creams to smooth and even out my skin's texture. — 4 years, 7 months ago
    greenk1 | 7 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 2 people said helpful

  • 4

    I really wanted to like this but

    I really wanted to like this, when I got the big sample, but within a few days, I was breaking out on my chin, nose and forehead. I'm back to my clinique at night. — 4 years, 8 months ago
    Chrisalcorn | 4 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 11 Worst Face Moisturizers

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 1

    awful

    I have combination (oily/ sensitive) skin and this was recommended to try. It was awful on my skin - it didn't absorb, would pill up when trying to rub it in and made my skin extremely greasy - my foundation didn't even stay on for an hour after using this. If you are going to try this, I recommend buying it from a store/ site where you can return it if you don't like it. — 4 years, 9 months ago
    cloeb | 7 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 3 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend



monitoring_string = "e4ea8133a649aad124e80f99f8831005"