Philosophy Hope in a Jar Reviews

Back to Philosophy Hope in a Jar»
Sort by:
  • 1

    Terrible product

    I bought this together with some other philosophy products and have not been so disappointed with something in a long time. The cream smells terrible, and is very watery so quite difficult to apply. Would not use it for free! — 2 years, 1 month ago
    chicklet84 | 27 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 4

    Not sold on the hype

    I feel that although this works somewhat I don't think it is for really dry skin. It feels nice but I need another moisturizer on top which defeats the purpose and ends up costing me more money in the long run. — 2 years, 3 months ago
    carwhite | 4 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 10

    lovelovelove

    I won't put anything else on my face. I actually always ask for this for my birthday. Love the texture, love the scent, love the results. — 2 years, 4 months ago
    pandabearjones | 8 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 4 people said helpful

  • 11 Worst Face Moisturizers

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 7

    Not for dry skin

    I know everyone thinks that this skin cream is fabulous;however, I don't think it lives up to it's hype. I actually enjoy the smell (though most people don't), but that is not going to motivate me to use a facial cream. I have very dry, sensitive, red skin so I have to be careful what I use on it. This has lactic acid in it, which is nice to smooth texture and reduce lines, but it is not good for ...read morealready dry, tight skin. I do notice that my face feels tighter and firmer, but I think part of that is because it is drying out my skin rather than moisturizing. For oilier skin types, I think this would be a great cream for evening out texture and smoothing. It absorbs into the face and is not greasy, but it is just not enough moisture for my poor skin! I use it under my moisturizing creams to smooth and even out my skin's texture. — 2 years, 5 months ago
    greenk1 | 7 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 2 people said helpful

  • 4

    I really wanted to like this but

    I really wanted to like this, when I got the big sample, but within a few days, I was breaking out on my chin, nose and forehead. I'm back to my clinique at night. — 2 years, 6 months ago
    Chrisalcorn | 4 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 1

    awful

    I have combination (oily/ sensitive) skin and this was recommended to try. It was awful on my skin - it didn't absorb, would pill up when trying to rub it in and made my skin extremely greasy - my foundation didn't even stay on for an hour after using this. If you are going to try this, I recommend buying it from a store/ site where you can return it if you don't like it. — 2 years, 7 months ago
    cloeb | 7 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 3 people said helpful

  • 13 Best Body Lotions Under $10

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 6

    Love how it feels but...

    I really liked this moisturizer at first. It feels very light and makes my skin really soft. When I first started using it I noticed a big improvement in my skin's tone and texture, but after a week or two I noticed that I had started developing black heads on my cheeks. I had never gotten any type of blemish on my cheeks so I wasn't too pleased. Once I stopped using it, they slowly went away....read more I think this is a good product because of the improvement in some aspects of my skin, it just wasn't right for me. The other problem is the smell. The smell really is strong, chemically, and lingers for a long time after I apply the cream. I avoided putting it on the tip of my nose so the smell isn't as strong after I have put it on. — 2 years ago
    kimmi_o | 71 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 10

    Love this product

    When I was at the store the woman told me this was like "pouring a glass of water on your face," I couldn't agree more! I had dry patches from over treating acne when I grew up, I was also in my early 20's so there were a few oily spots as well. The combination moisturizer did wonders for me. It made my skin very soft and controlled shine after a few weeks of use. It is not too heavy which I think...read more makes it stand out from the competition. I have tried so many different moisturizers and the ones that cured the dry patches made the oily spots even worse. This is the best. — 2 years, 7 months ago
    Shamasno | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 4 people said helpful

  • 5

    Decent

    A pretty good moisturizer, but thats really all it does, would be good for teenage skin, but I expect more out of my moisturizer! — 2 years, 7 months ago
    mari_belle_bones | 23 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 1 people said helpful

  • 11 Worst Face Moisturizers

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 1

    Allergic Reaction!

    Used Hope in a Jar only twice and my face is covered in little red bumps and my eyes have swollen. Beware if you have sensitive skin. — 2 years, 10 months ago
    sarjar | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend