Philosophy Hope in a Jar Reviews

Back to Philosophy Hope in a Jar»
Sort by:
  • 7

    Review subject

    I use to use this all the time a few years back and it did wonders that I started to use it again. Once again it did what it was suppose to do. It goes on light, dissolves into your skin like magic. Adds moisture and brightens your skin. I just don't remember the smell. I thought that it was non-existence but it has a strong smell to it but other then that everything else was good. — 1 month ago
    kenendy_karrington | 6 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 2

    Thankful it was a FREE sample

    If I had actually paid for this product with my hard earned money I would have been furious. After finally getting more balanced skin thanks to my purchase of a Clarisonic, I was looking for a face lotion that would hydrate without making me oily. THIS WAS NOT IT. It just sat on my skin, made my face itch, and smelled like a cheap dryer sheet. I expected a lot more from Philosophy. I only made it 2 hours without having to wash it off completely. Never again. — 1 year, 2 months ago
    bride040612 | 7 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 13 Best Body Lotions Under $10

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    Hope in a jar

    Love Hope in a jar, it keeps my skin from becoming to dry in the winter, but never leaves it feeling greasy — 1 year, 3 months ago
    ddcurry | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 1 people said helpful

  • 1

    Yuck

    I am so glad I only received a sample of this because it is pretty bad. The first thing I noticed when I put it on was the smell. It's very intense, almost like a dish soap smell. Then as soon as I put it on my face, around my eye area, they began to burn. I didn't even get any product in my eyes, just on my forehead and that area! They burned for at least a minute after application. Now I have ve...read morery sensitive skin and so I'm sure that in the morning I'll have broken out because of this product. Do not buy if you have sensitive skin. — 1 year, 4 months ago
    truebeauty123 | 30 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 4

    Stinky!

    I had heard so many great reviews on this product that I bought it on impulse at Sephora. I tried to get past the smell, not gross, I just find it unpleasant, but it lingered and I could still smell it on my face by the end of the day! I was about to take it back to Sephora thinking it had gone "bad" until I read the reviews on Philosphy's website. LOTS of women find it smelly but use it anyway because it works great! I will keep my jar for now and see if my skin shows any benefit. — 1 year, 6 months ago
    lisarocks | 7 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 11 Worst Face Moisturizers

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    I have faith in Hope in a Jar !

    I've heard about this product for quite a while and purchased it after my cousin recommended it. After 5 weeks, I love it. It truly is like whipped h2o on your skin. It is very smooth and light. It isn't heavy nor pore clogging. I recommend it for all skin types, including mine...sensitive :) — 1 year, 8 months ago
    angie722 | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 4 people said helpful

  • 2

    Nooo not worth the money!

    First off, this stuff smells. I thought I'd get used to the scent...but...no. Second, it breaks me out so bad! I thought it was just a hormonal breakout or something else like my make up, so I discontinued other products whilst using this, and all along it really was this! I gave it one more try after stopping everything, and sure enough, massive breakouts happened. It did, however, provide enough...read more moisture to rid of flakiness, though I'd never recommend wearing it under foundation. Plus it stings and is too pricey. — 1 year, 8 months ago
    makeupjunkee25 | 10 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 1

    Terrible product

    I bought this together with some other philosophy products and have not been so disappointed with something in a long time. The cream smells terrible, and is very watery so quite difficult to apply. Would not use it for free! — 1 year, 9 months ago
    chicklet84 | 27 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 13 Best Body Lotions Under $10

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 4

    Not sold on the hype

    I feel that although this works somewhat I don't think it is for really dry skin. It feels nice but I need another moisturizer on top which defeats the purpose and ends up costing me more money in the long run. — 1 year, 12 months ago
    carwhite | 4 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend