Philosophy Hope in a Jar Reviews

Back to Philosophy Hope in a Jar»
Sort by:
  • 6

    Not What I Expected

    I usually love Philosophy products, and I really wanted to like Hope in a Jar, but this one sadly, disappointed me. After all the hype, I guess I was expecting a lot. Not to mention the price tag. It is mega expensive. I didn't think it moisturized that great, no better than the drugstore brand I was using and the smell was REALLY overwhelming, almost sickening. I think the scent is lavender an...read mored I usually like lavender, but not to this extreme. I could barely stand it. I actually think my problem areas got a bit worse after using this. That was enough to almost get me to stop using it, but the thing that really got me was when it separated. The oils separated leaving a weird film and turning the moisturizer a creepy yellow after just two months. This was what made me stop using it. When I had to keep stirring it in order to get the consistency back was when I decided that it probably wasn’t a good idea to be using this on my face anymore. Maybe I’m wrong, but that was just my thinking at the time. I can’t say all bad things about this product because it’s not all bad. It does moisturize and is gentle enough to use daily and even at night. It goes on smoothly, even if a little thin. I honestly like moisturizers to be thicker in consistency, but this one almost seems watery. It is made of great ingredients that are gentle and especially great for sensitive skin types. I do appreciate that it’s made with sensitivity in mind, which is what I find with most Philosophy products. Something that could improve this product further would be to not put this in a tub container and make it into a pump version to keep bacteria from building up. — 3 weeks, 5 days ago
    meganlynnlds | 11 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 7

    Hope has hope

    When I first got this product in the 8oz jar because they had good reviews on QVC I tried it for a few weeks was not to happy my face was not getting hydrated the whole reason I pick this one but since then I have got a boat load of peels and micro products that have helped my skin where the other products can work so I started back on hop in a jar and it works so much better — 2 months, 1 week ago
    gina_bearden | 39 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 13 Best Body Lotions Under $10

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 7

    Review subject

    I use to use this all the time a few years back and it did wonders that I started to use it again. Once again it did what it was suppose to do. It goes on light, dissolves into your skin like magic. Adds moisture and brightens your skin. I just don't remember the smell. I thought that it was non-existence but it has a strong smell to it but other then that everything else was good. — 4 months, 2 weeks ago
    kenendy_karrington | 6 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 2

    Thankful it was a FREE sample

    If I had actually paid for this product with my hard earned money I would have been furious. After finally getting more balanced skin thanks to my purchase of a Clarisonic, I was looking for a face lotion that would hydrate without making me oily. THIS WAS NOT IT. It just sat on my skin, made my face itch, and smelled like a cheap dryer sheet. I expected a lot more from Philosophy. I only made it 2 hours without having to wash it off completely. Never again. — 1 year, 6 months ago
    bride040612 | 7 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 10

    Hope in a jar

    Love Hope in a jar, it keeps my skin from becoming to dry in the winter, but never leaves it feeling greasy — 1 year, 7 months ago
    ddcurry | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 1 people said helpful

  • 11 Worst Face Moisturizers

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 1

    Yuck

    I am so glad I only received a sample of this because it is pretty bad. The first thing I noticed when I put it on was the smell. It's very intense, almost like a dish soap smell. Then as soon as I put it on my face, around my eye area, they began to burn. I didn't even get any product in my eyes, just on my forehead and that area! They burned for at least a minute after application. Now I have ve...read morery sensitive skin and so I'm sure that in the morning I'll have broken out because of this product. Do not buy if you have sensitive skin. — 1 year, 7 months ago
    truebeauty123 | 35 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 4

    Stinky!

    I had heard so many great reviews on this product that I bought it on impulse at Sephora. I tried to get past the smell, not gross, I just find it unpleasant, but it lingered and I could still smell it on my face by the end of the day! I was about to take it back to Sephora thinking it had gone "bad" until I read the reviews on Philosphy's website. LOTS of women find it smelly but use it anyway because it works great! I will keep my jar for now and see if my skin shows any benefit. — 1 year, 10 months ago
    lisarocks | 7 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 10

    I have faith in Hope in a Jar !

    I've heard about this product for quite a while and purchased it after my cousin recommended it. After 5 weeks, I love it. It truly is like whipped h2o on your skin. It is very smooth and light. It isn't heavy nor pore clogging. I recommend it for all skin types, including mine...sensitive :) — 1 year, 11 months ago
    angie722 | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 4 people said helpful

  • 13 Best Body Lotions Under $10

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 2

    Nooo not worth the money!

    First off, this stuff smells. I thought I'd get used to the scent...but...no. Second, it breaks me out so bad! I thought it was just a hormonal breakout or something else like my make up, so I discontinued other products whilst using this, and all along it really was this! I gave it one more try after stopping everything, and sure enough, massive breakouts happened. It did, however, provide enough...read more moisture to rid of flakiness, though I'd never recommend wearing it under foundation. Plus it stings and is too pricey. — 2 years ago
    makeupjunkee25 | 10 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend