Philosophy Hope in a Jar Reviews

Back to Philosophy Hope in a Jar»
Sort by:
  • 7

    Love the feel, Hate the smell!

    I use this at night (Hope in a Bottle for Day) because it is a little bit "heavy" for my skin. I love the texture and the way my skin feels when I wake up. Like many others, I really dont like the smell. I don't notice it after a while, but my husband complains! — 6 years, 6 months ago
    junke4java | 7 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 10

    Hope in a Jar -- I'll never be without it

    I've been a fan of Hope in a Jar for a couple of years. It was the first Philosophy product I tried and got me started on the whole line. I have sensitive skin, and this hasn't caused me a bit of problems. Plus, it really works. My skin doesn't dry out, even in the midst of winter. And everyone says I look at least five years younger than I really am! — 6 years, 6 months ago
    LindaLouWho54 | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 8

    A nice product from Philosophy

    I bought a 2 ounce jar of this in March, and I still have plenty. I use it only at night because there is no SPF. I don't love the lavender scent (it's hard to make a lavender scent that smells as good or better than the actual plant), but the scent doesn't seem to linger. This doesn't add redness to my skin, which is a major requirement for me. My face and neck feel soft and the cream does no...read moret make my skin break out, as some moisturizers have a tendency to do. It's a little pricey for me, but I do plan to buy another jar once this one runs out. Try to get a sample before you buy, because this seems to be a product that people either love or hate. — 6 years, 6 months ago
    SJofAZ | 44 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  5 of 5 people said helpful

  • 13 Best Body Lotions Under $10

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 7

    not too bad

    i was surprised at how light the texture was and how quickly is absorbed into the skin. i've been using this product for about 6 months now, but haven't really seen any drastic improvements to my skin. still, i like the texture and it's good for both summer and winter (i use their when hope is not enough before it, especially during winter months!) — 6 years, 6 months ago
    jeansco_84 | 9 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 3

    What's all the hype?

    I kept reading everywhere that this was teh best moisturizer around, that it would make my skin glow, that I'd fall in love with it...Nope, just a standard run-of-the-mill moisturizer. My dry skin is also acne-prone so I didn't expect miracles or anything. But there was nothing spectacular about this. I keep seeing comments about the smell; it didn't really bother me. Maybe this is a great fin...read mored for those with "normal" skin, but for anyone with skin issues (sensitivity, dryness, acne), save your money. I'm going back to Origins- I really do glow when I use that! — 6 years, 6 months ago
    smiliniowan | 7 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  7 of 9 people said helpful

  • 9

    pricey, but worth it

    Switched to this moisturizer because I was tired of having both dry, flaky skin and breakouts at the same time. I find that its great for combination skin and is really gentle, but completely eliminates the need for any additional exfoliation or facial scrubs. I just wish it included sunscreen! — 6 years, 6 months ago
    mcintyree | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 11 Worst Face Moisturizers

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 9

    Great all around moisurizer

    I use this moisturizer exclusively in the fall and winter months. I use another philosophy moisurizer in the summer. This absorbs quickly and is perfect with my combination skin! — 6 years, 6 months ago
    arnett7117 | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9

    Saving my dry skin this winter...

    My skin is very dry and very sensitive. Ithas always been hard for me to find a product that moisutrized my face enough, but didn't leave me greasy when I woke up in the morning. This product is great! It makes your skin feel like a baby's butt! Pricey, but totally worth it. Not the best smelling moisturizer ever, but better than Original Hope in a Jar. — 6 years, 6 months ago
    KatintheCorner | 26 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 10

    Cleared up my skin

    This product, while not specifically designed for acne-prone oily skin, totally cleared up mine! I love it and the smell and still use it daily to maintain the great skin I once knew. My philosophy: if it sounds too good to be true, then it must be good for you! — 6 years, 6 months ago
    tjandress | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 13 Best Body Lotions Under $10

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 8

    Love this one (after getting used to the smell)

    I really dislike the smell of lavender, so it took me awhile to get over the smell of this cream. However, it works so well for my skin that I can overlook it! The cream itself is a very light texture, so it doesn't make me too oily, but it moisturizes my combo skin well (even the dry patches). I also love that I don't need to use much to get a great result. I do really wish that they'd make a ver...read moresion with SPF in it, since I often want to use this during the day w/o adding an extra product (sunscreen). — 6 years, 6 months ago
    sandoz28 | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 3 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend