Philosophy Hope in a Jar Reviews

Back to Philosophy Hope in a Jar»
Sort by:
  • 8

    A nice product from Philosophy

    I bought a 2 ounce jar of this in March, and I still have plenty. I use it only at night because there is no SPF. I don't love the lavender scent (it's hard to make a lavender scent that smells as good or better than the actual plant), but the scent doesn't seem to linger. This doesn't add redness to my skin, which is a major requirement for me. My face and neck feel soft and the cream does no...read moret make my skin break out, as some moisturizers have a tendency to do. It's a little pricey for me, but I do plan to buy another jar once this one runs out. Try to get a sample before you buy, because this seems to be a product that people either love or hate. — 6 years, 3 months ago
    SJofAZ | 44 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  5 of 5 people said helpful

  • 7

    not too bad

    i was surprised at how light the texture was and how quickly is absorbed into the skin. i've been using this product for about 6 months now, but haven't really seen any drastic improvements to my skin. still, i like the texture and it's good for both summer and winter (i use their when hope is not enough before it, especially during winter months!) — 6 years, 3 months ago
    jeansco_84 | 9 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 3

    What's all the hype?

    I kept reading everywhere that this was teh best moisturizer around, that it would make my skin glow, that I'd fall in love with it...Nope, just a standard run-of-the-mill moisturizer. My dry skin is also acne-prone so I didn't expect miracles or anything. But there was nothing spectacular about this. I keep seeing comments about the smell; it didn't really bother me. Maybe this is a great fin...read mored for those with "normal" skin, but for anyone with skin issues (sensitivity, dryness, acne), save your money. I'm going back to Origins- I really do glow when I use that! — 6 years, 3 months ago
    smiliniowan | 7 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  7 of 9 people said helpful

  • 13 Best Body Lotions Under $10

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 9

    pricey, but worth it

    Switched to this moisturizer because I was tired of having both dry, flaky skin and breakouts at the same time. I find that its great for combination skin and is really gentle, but completely eliminates the need for any additional exfoliation or facial scrubs. I just wish it included sunscreen! — 6 years, 3 months ago
    mcintyree | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 9

    Great all around moisurizer

    I use this moisturizer exclusively in the fall and winter months. I use another philosophy moisurizer in the summer. This absorbs quickly and is perfect with my combination skin! — 6 years, 3 months ago
    arnett7117 | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9

    Saving my dry skin this winter...

    My skin is very dry and very sensitive. Ithas always been hard for me to find a product that moisutrized my face enough, but didn't leave me greasy when I woke up in the morning. This product is great! It makes your skin feel like a baby's butt! Pricey, but totally worth it. Not the best smelling moisturizer ever, but better than Original Hope in a Jar. — 6 years, 3 months ago
    KatintheCorner | 26 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 11 Worst Face Moisturizers

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    Cleared up my skin

    This product, while not specifically designed for acne-prone oily skin, totally cleared up mine! I love it and the smell and still use it daily to maintain the great skin I once knew. My philosophy: if it sounds too good to be true, then it must be good for you! — 6 years, 3 months ago
    tjandress | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 8

    Love this one (after getting used to the smell)

    I really dislike the smell of lavender, so it took me awhile to get over the smell of this cream. However, it works so well for my skin that I can overlook it! The cream itself is a very light texture, so it doesn't make me too oily, but it moisturizes my combo skin well (even the dry patches). I also love that I don't need to use much to get a great result. I do really wish that they'd make a ver...read moresion with SPF in it, since I often want to use this during the day w/o adding an extra product (sunscreen). — 6 years, 3 months ago
    sandoz28 | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 3 people said helpful

  • 1

    Eye irritating and stinks!

    I totally dislike this moisturizer! It smells aweful, strong medicine-like scent. The most trouble I have is that it makes me extremely teary even if I use it FAR away from my eyes! (bottoms of cheeks and top part of forehead). I thought it would go away if I use it for a while but it didn't, I had to use the rest of the jar on my body rather than throw it away. My husband also dislikes the smell,...read more he would comment when I use it. I'm not crazy about the texture either, seems like it doesn't absorbs well, like it's just sitting on top of the skin and when it's dry, it rubs off in small pieces when you apply other products on top of it. It also leaves your skin SHINY rather than glowy. I'm very disappointed for reading good things about it but only experienced bad things from it. I've used many more Philosophy products because of the cute packaging and fresh ideas but never have bought a second one of the same because I wasn't impressed with the products and will review them later. — 6 years, 3 months ago
    reachtrita | 22 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 3 people said helpful

  • 13 Best Body Lotions Under $10

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 1

    not for me

    I read the reviews of this moisturizer and most of the reviews are good, so i try to use it. Every time i wake up, i see pimple come out but i thought it was because my skin is getting use for the moisturizer. I try for 2 months and i quit. Not because of the smell like many people complain but this moisturizer make my skin become oily and break out. It proves that good reviews and pricey moisturizer not always good for everyone. — 6 years, 3 months ago
    manisnya | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend