Burt's Bees Avocado Butter Pre-Shampoo Hair Treatment Reviews

Back to Burt's Bees Avocado Butter Pre-Shampoo Hair Treatment»
Sort by:
  • 1

    Looks Like Caterpillar Guts..Smells Like It Too..

    First, the sight of this stuff..I enjoy a natural looking product, but this looks so bad, I thought it had expired in the tube. It looks like green slime, caterpillar guts, you name it, yuck! The smell, in my opinion, is sickly sweet and artificial smelling. I have very dry ends and this just sat on top of the hair shaft, it did not soak in at all. I washed it out immediately after applying it...read more, I could not get it out of my hair fast enough. Like many Burt's Bees products, some are a hit and some are a miss - this is a big miss! I am glad it worked well for some ladies, as for me, I'll stick to my Wen and Monoi Oil. — 1 year, 11 months ago
    shimmergurl | 19 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 10

    Great affordable product

    First, I LOVE Burt's Bees. This company puts out soooo many great, natural, yet affordable products!! So? THANKS BURTS BEES!!!! As for this product, I use it once a month. Upon using it as a mask for about 30-40 mins., my hair is like virtual silk. It's like you took 5 avocados and smashed them on your head! haha!!! Love it! — 4 years, 1 month ago
    Lana20 | 30 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  7 of 7 people said helpful

  • 15 Worst Shampoos

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 8

    unique

    This works great as an anti-rizz or hair smoother - the smell is strong, like a musky cologne, but if you don't mind it, it's a great product. I never use it as a hair treatment, just as a style fix. — 4 years, 1 month ago
    rasputina | 9 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 8

    Like this

    I liked this product. The smell reminded me of fruit(but my husband HATES the smell & says it smells nothing like fruit, just stinks). It really helped my hair retain moisture after shampooing. It also helped it to be more manageable, gave pretty good shine, and seemed to protect a bit from heat damage. It's not easy to find in stores, but I'd buy again. — 4 years, 3 months ago
    Victorywriter | 47 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 10

    My Safe Haven!

    I always love how my hair feels when I use this treatment! I wet my hair and put in about a tablespoon of this in my hair. The I rub it around in my hands so it's manageable and coat it through my hair (then I tie it up and leave it in for half an hour). My hair feels like silk when I rinse it out, and I can always count on it to smooth my dry hair when my ends feel dry! — 4 years, 4 months ago
    mirgirl17 | 8 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  6 of 6 people said helpful

  • 16 Best Heat Styling Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 9

    Great as a 'frizz tamer'

    I don't use it as a 'pre-shampoo' treatment. I use it daily as my first 'styling' aid. It helps to weigh down my hair because it's fine & frizzy/curly. It smells great too! — 5 years ago
    natasha74 | 77 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 10

    AMAZING

    This stuff works wonders for my thick, dry (I have it professionally colored regularly) hair. Normally I use this as a styling aid, and it's wonderful. It provides hold and some texture without making my hair feel like it has product in it. My hair ends up feeling extremely soft and it smooths as well. If you don't know how to use products like this correctly, your hair will of course end up greas...read morey (as some reviewers have complained). To use as a styling aid, use a SMALL amount and rub vigorously between palms to activate the product. Rub palms lightly all over hair surface, using your fingers to distribute product on the ends. The next time you're at your salon, ask your stylist to show you how to apply products with this consistency if you're not sure after reading my description. — 5 years, 5 months ago
    pinkgrrl | 2 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  5 of 5 people said helpful

  • 10

    My hair has never looked or behaved better

    I swear by this product! If used correctly and as directed it is the most amazing pre-shampoo treatment. I use it the day before I wash my hair and before applying it to my curly dry locks, I toss my hair into a pony tale, dampen the ends and apply a sufficient amount to penetrate my ends. I then braid may hair and go on about my day. I then wash it out that night or the next day (just make sure t...read moreo put a towel over the pillow to avoid staining). I use it twice a month during the summer and around four to five times a month in the winter and spring. My curly hair is manageable,soft and silky. It makes a visible difference when I use it, I also go longer between cuts. I have been a religious user since I discovered it by accident in 2001 or 2002 while still living abroad. — 6 years, 3 months ago
    Zulema | 7 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 4 people said helpful

  • 15 Worst Shampoos

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    enjoyable~

    I love the smell...an orange essense~ It works wonders as a gel as well as using before shampooing. I find you do not need to use alot before shampooing, as it stays well in the hair with a small amount. It is a great conditioner. I just recommended it to my mom, who was looking for a leave in conditioner that did not have alcohol in it...this is it~ — 6 years, 4 months ago
    passionforlife8 | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  5 of 5 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend