Proactiv Renewing Cleanser Reviews

Back to Proactiv Renewing Cleanser»
Sort by:
  • 8

    Works for me

    I know a lot of people's skin doesn't react well to the Proactiv system, but it's the first thing that's worked for me. I have medication-induced acne and I tried every OTC scrub and wash and nothing worked. Proactiv was what I felt like was my last hope and it worked! It's a little drying but as long as I don't skip washings and moisturize my skin is soft and smooth. — 2 years, 10 months ago
    krissykross | 6 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 10

    Saved Face

    I had tried everything, and was about to give up, until I saw the infomercial for ProActiv. I thought, what the heck, I should at least try it. So I get the product and at first it made me break out bad (KEEP READING!), but it's just the ProActiv working out the pimples and acne that is waiting under your skin to come out. So you will break out before you get better, but hang in there! It is a v...read moreery thick paste, add some water to your face to moisten skin, and then put the wash on your face. Remember that there is NO SOAP in this face wash! It is a high content Benzoyl peroxide, do not get near eyes, or anywhere you do not want tightening. Always moisturize after you use it, around eyes, mouth, If it is too strong for you I do believe they have updated their line. You can now choose from three levels of strength. Just try it, give it a few weeks, it took my skin about 3-4 weeks to adjust, and drink water. Drinking water flushes out toxins, and hydrates you, this is very important to living! Good luck! — 2 years, 10 months ago
    Lady_Duke77 | 7 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 5 people said helpful

  • 10

    Amazing

    Amazing. Cleared my skin. — 2 years, 11 months ago
    jenntreleaven | 21 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 9 Best Face Cleansing Towelettes

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 4

    It works...but not for long

    It was difficult for me to decide on a rating for proactiv because when it worked it really WORKED. I started using the system and within a few months my skin was flawless. This lasted for about a year but then I tried switching to something less expensive and when I started using proctiv again it didnt work. This seems to be a common complaint from many people who use it. However, I would recommend trying it because if it does work for you it might give you the results I had for a year. — 3 years, 1 month ago
    marie_annoual | 8 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 2

    Irritated my skin so bad!!!

    I switched from using Neutrogena Oil Free acne wash which I loved to Proactive because I wanted to see what all the hype was about. Worst facial cleanser I've ever used!!! It irritated my skin and make it so dry that it actually turned bright red and started to flake!!! I then tried using it every other day and that didn't help. It felt like I had road burn. I stopped using this and have never loo...read moreked back. It is def NOT worth the money. My skin in combination skin where I have dry cheeks and a oily chin so maybe this product is best for people with very oily skin. I really don't know but this was awful and I don't recommend it if your skin isn't super oily. — 3 years, 1 month ago
    Coconutvanilla7 | 21 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 3

    Just Hype

    For me this cleanser did absolutley nothing. My skin didnt get any better. I think it actually got worse. When i first got proactive i had a tad bit of severe acne just on my forehead, it really is the only place i break out. But after a month of usage my skin became severly dry and turned black above my eyebrows and under my lips from the severity of the dryness. I stopped using proactive and my skin is worse than it was when i first started. So it might work for sum but for me it was a fail. — 3 years, 1 month ago
    LauraCG | 4 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 18 Best Face Cleansers

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 3

    Not up to the hype

    Proactiv had me thinking that I was literally just a few weeks away from clear skin when I was younger, so after begging my mother to buy it, I felt silly when there was no change in my skin at all. Maybe it works for some, so it may be worth trying, but my combination skin did not react at all. — 3 years, 3 months ago
    mteclouser | 37 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 1

    Proactive did more damage instead of helping.

    I regret ever trying proactive. After using it my skin cleared up for about a week or two...then it broke my skin out even more. I toughed it out (thinking it would get better) and it continue to do damage. I would not suggest using this product. — 3 years, 3 months ago
    cammy | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 9

    Use less often than recommended

    I love this scrub, but I cannot use it as often as Proactiv recommends. It will dry your skin too much..it really tightens pores though. — 3 years, 4 months ago
    louisamarie | 68 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9 Best Face Cleansing Towelettes

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 1

    Overated

    So i bought myself a set of the treatment. At first i was amazed by how celebrities and actual human being's like us who suffers from acne are raving about how awesome this is. So i gave it a try. It has those beads that exfoliates the skin and it tingles cause of the benzoyl peroxide. It did manage to clear my skin but only up to 2 months! Then it stopped working ENTIRELY! Extreme warning if you ...read morehave sensitivity issues using Benzoyl Peroxide. Dont use this!. i wasted money buying this and to find that my skin has now being worsen by its harsh content. Moral of the story. Dont buy products that are claimed to work by celebs and users. Search for something based on your skin type and sensitivity. — 3 years, 4 months ago
    Eshia | 18 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend