LORAC AquaPrime Oil-Free Makeup Primer Reviews

Back to LORAC AquaPrime Oil-Free Makeup Primer»
Sort by:
  • 3

    Not Thrilled

    I found this primer to be super watery and thin. I didn't like the way it felt on my face, and I only noticed a slight difference in shine control. I liked the scent, but that's about it. — 6 years, 7 months ago
    AllieB | 73 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 10

    Baby looking skin!

    I am so impressed with LORAC's primer! I've been using it for one week now and I can't believe what a difference it makes. I use about 3-4 pumps of the primer before putting on my LORAC tinted moisturizer and my face looks beautiful! It doesn't cause breakouts either. You really need to try this primer! I won't use anything else! — 6 years, 8 months ago
    june | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 3 people said helpful

  • 9

    Yeah

    I love this stuff it works great. I have a few lines or imperfections and it helps — 6 years, 8 months ago
    Missha05 | 2 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 15 Best Primers for Long-Lasting Eye Makeup

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 5

    Not for me, but not horrible

    I'm all about primer. Like a lot of people, when it first became popular, I thought it was just kind of gimmicky - yet ANOTHER step, another product, another thing to make me late in the morning. But as I used it (because I'm all about new product, even if it does make me late), I realized how great it really was. It helped my makeup stay on longer, gave my liquid foundation a smoother finish, and...read more even helped keep my very oily skin somewhat matte. So it became a staple in my routine, and now I use it every morning. I haven't found one that I am in absolute love with yet, although I have a couple of favorites, so I'm still trying a bunch of them out. This was a sample I got from one of my many Sephora visits. I was interested in this one because it claimed to be oil free. I always keep an eye out for oil free products, due to my oily skin - I don't want to add to the problem, as it were. But I also noticed that it was silicone free, which was interesting, as I thought silicone was the basis of all primers. So I totally had to try it out. I've been using it now for five days, and I think this would be a great primer for someone who doesn't need a lot of coverage and is looking to just help boost the staying power of their foundation. I found the consistency quite odd. It's actually a liquid (hence the name, I suppose!) versus more of a thicker gel type that I'm used to. I don't know if the omission of silicone prevents it from being more of a coverage booster, or if I'm just imagining that it doesn't work well due to my dislike of the consistency. Either way, I personally wouldn't spend my money on it, although I would recommend it to my friends who have the great skin and don't wear a lot of foundation. — 6 years, 9 months ago
    Retrodiva | 159 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  5 of 5 people said helpful

  • 9

    Great for Oily or Sensitive Skin!

    I have oily and sensitive skin that breaks out easily. This product keeps the oil at bay and doesn't irritate my skin. My makeup looks smooth and stays put all day. — 6 years, 9 months ago
    amberz44 | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 6

    On the fence about this one -

    The texture is a thin watery gel-like consistency that's easy to apply over oil-free moisturizers. Con: I had to wait a few minutes before applying my makeup. Pro: silicone-free if you have allergic reactions to silcones. — 6 years, 10 months ago
    calicokitty | 162 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 9

    smooth and shine-free!

    I have tried only one other primer other than this one. I actually exchanged a primer to try this one because I read some good reviews on it. I have oily skin and my pores are larger around my nose and chin. I would start getting a shine around 2 hours after washing and (lightly) moisturizing my face. This product is water-based, so it's not thick at all - I simply wait about a minute or two for m...read morey moisturizer to sink in, and apply a thin layer of this primer all over my face, focusing on the places where I get oily and where my pores are larger. I recommend waiting around 2 minutes for it to dry before you apply any foundation. This primer does an excellent job of mattifying and smoothing out my skin, and I can tell that my foundation goes on a lot smoother. I think it looks excellent without foundation if you have decent looking skin, since it mattifies and shrinks pores. Definetely a good choice if you are acne-prone like me, and I haven't had any flareups as of yet. My only qualms with this product is the nozzle. When you press it to pump out the primer, it spits it out instead of just flowing out, so make sure you're squirting it into the palm of your hand instead of your finger(s). As for the amount to use, 3 or 4 pumps usually work fine for me. — 6 years, 10 months ago
    amshorty | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 4 people said helpful

  • 8

    I liked this one

    I have somewhat oily skin and this primer did a good job without being too greasy. I always use SPF 15 moisturizer, so I don't need a greasy primer on top of that - this one worked really well. I got a sample of this and am considering buying the real version. — 6 years, 10 months ago
    sgmink | 7 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 3

    Not so much -

    Compared to other primers I've used, this one didn't do anything for my skin. It might be fine for someone else, but I was not impressed and I wouldn't buy it again. I've tried less expensive primers that worked much better for me. My skin looked the same after applying and I for sure wouldn't leave the house without makeup. — 6 years, 10 months ago
    MBaines | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 2 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend