Clean & Clear Continuous Control Acne Cleanser Reviews

Back to Clean & Clear Continuous Control Acne Cleanser»
Sort by:
  • 10

    Swear by it; impossible to replace.

    I've been using this facewash since middle school, and it still does the trick. For my acne to be gone, buh-bye, I MUST have benzoyl peroxide. Salicylic acid just won't do the trick. Problem is that almost all of the benzoyl peroxide facewashes out there are either scrubs (which I would NEVER use twice a day on my face, hello?) or foaming cleansers, and I have dry skin. Proactiv, for instance, use...read mores BP as their active ingredient in the cleanser, but the cleanser has really harsh scrubbing beads. Since this facewash is a cream, not a foaming cleanser, it cleans my skin with the strongest acne fighter out there without making it turn red, itch, or burn. I've tried many other drugstore brand and prescription facewashes, and none of them did the trick, except this one. I can't find another cleanser that keeps my acne away like this one, and I've tried! While using this twice a day (in conjunction with a good SPF moisturizer, mind you, because it does leave skin feeling tight, and you MUST have the extra SPF if you're going to use benzoyl peroxide) I have never had more than one pimple a month. Period. — 5 years, 1 month ago
    sarahjo | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 8

    It bleached my towels!

    No lie I got out of the shower, dried my face, and found bleach stains all over my towels. There are actually places on my bathroom rugs where water dripped off my face and stained them too. As for its actual acne fighting powers, it was okay but I find either Noxzema or Clearisil Ultra to work just as well without the stains. — 5 years, 1 month ago
    greasergirl21 | 86 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 10

    My New Favorite Cleanser

    In high school I never had breakoust. I mean I had the occasional zit but nothing to serious. When I got to college the stress got to me and while most of my skin was clear my left cheek had bad acne. It sounds petty I know but i've been using Neutrogena products FOREVER and it just stopped working for me so I decided to switch to clean & clear and this cleared up all of the acne! It's a great product, and it doesn't dry out my skin! — 5 years, 1 month ago
    frizzxbee | 2 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 18 Best Face Cleansers

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 2

    Dries me out

    This dried out my face so much i had to stop using it. — 5 years, 2 months ago
    brittpaige | 55 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 8

    Good stuff, but use sparingly

    I began using this after a friend recommended the 3-step Clean & Clear box. I've been using it for a few months now, every night, folllowed by an all over application of the salicylic spot treatment (yes, ALL over) My skin is VERY oily, freaks out easily PROS: It has kept major pimples at bay. I was beginning to get cystic acne and I wasn't having that! Price is right Scent is mild, just...read more rinse very well CONS: Don't leave on the skin too long. It doesn't tingle, it burns! I use at the very end of my shower, after I've rinsed my hair. Adjust to your needs. It can be drying. 2x a day was waaay too much for me. Once a night is perfect for my skin. You MUST use a moisturizer! (I don't recommend clean & clear moisturizers though) TIPS: I scrub gently with plain 'ol Baking Soda for exfoliation, then rinse with cool water before I wash with this stuff. I'd also began taking fish oil supplements once in AM, once in PM daily and I have seen dramtic imporvements in my problem skin — 5 years, 4 months ago
    whatagem | 33 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 10

    Very good to remove pimple

    This cleanser is very good, remove all my pimples, i thought it just because my age, so my pimple become clean, i pass through that teenager hormonal, and i was wrong, after i finish this tube, i try different kind clean and clear blackhead control, and it makes me has a pimple, and I JUST REALIZED my pimple gone away because of this product, i will buy this again. — 5 years, 4 months ago
    myself | 10 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9 Best Face Cleansing Towelettes

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 9

    works great

    this clears up my face everytime! — 5 years, 5 months ago
    misses143 | 9 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9

    WORKS

    I have been using this product for almost a year now. It does work really well, I stopped using it for like a month and OMG I started looking like zit city!! The only bad thing about this is that it dyes your wash rag. Make sure to use this with a white wash rag or it will look like you put bleach on it! — 5 years, 5 months ago
    Deena551 | 42 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 8

    Best Drugstore Buy

    After suffering for years with acne, I came across this and finally started noticing a difference in my skin. When combined with a salicylic acid toner or scrub, my breakouts DRASTICALLY decreased after 16 years of fighting with my own face. And you cannot beat the price! — 5 years, 5 months ago
    elleinad | 7 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 18 Best Face Cleansers

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 9

    Controls my acne

    I've always had terrible acne, and until I discovered this and started using it regularly, it was out of control. I used to use this day and night when I was a teenager, as it was just as effective and much cheaper and easier than the prescription stuff. Now I only use it at night, and the difference when I forget to use it is huge. I only need a small amt each night, maybe a dab the size of by fi...read morengernail, so it lasts for nearly a year. A couple things: This is 10% benzoyl peroxide, which is doing the real work. It smells a little harsh, but 10 seconds of it is nothing, and it goes away the second you wash it off. It's quite drying, but a good moisturizer (I use Cetaphil face cream) will take care of that. Sensitive skin might take a little while to get used to it, and you should use a white pillowcase and white towel for your face after you use it, as it certainly does bleach fabric over time. This is a slight inconvenience to deal with for the incredible results I have had with this. — 5 years, 9 months ago
    LdeS29 | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend