Maybelline New York Great Lash Waterproof Mascara Reviews

Back to Maybelline New York Great Lash Waterproof Mascara»
Sort by:
  • 10

    Wonderful waterproof

    This is a tried and true fav of mine. I teach water aerobics and this mascara stays put. not clumpy or flaky. Just great! — 6 years, 8 months ago
    vibrantfun | 6 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 8

    Waterproof wonder

    I have used this product for years. It stays on all day and night until you remove it with eye make up remover or baby oil. For the most part is smudge proof too. I have allergies and need a mascara that stays put through watery eyes. This one does the trick. It doesn't go on clumpy either. — 6 years, 10 months ago
    lmwbarano | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 10

    best mascara I've used

    This mascara does not go on too clumpy. The straight angle brush makes it easy to apply. It really is waterproof -- it wont't smudge and even stands up through lots or tears. You can't beat the affordable price. — 6 years, 10 months ago
    harleybabe1231 | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 12 Worst Mascaras

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 8

    Always Go Back to Great Lash

    I wear waterproof mascara on my lower lashes to prevent smudging, especially in warmer months. It goes on clean with no clumps and the bottle lasts me at least 6 months. I want to address postings that were disappointed in the product after switching from washable Great Lash. You may not know that Waterpoof mascara's different formula means that it can't give you the long, lush lashes that you g...read moreet from washable Great Lash. I haven't heard of a waterproof mascara by anyone that can. There is a technique that will get you what you want that's easy to do. First, I'd stick with waterproof Great Lash, other products clump and flake off during the day. You won't know your lower lid and cheek has little black flakes on them unless you look in a mirror :(. All you need to do is, 1st use washable Great Lash to coat your upper lashes. If you only do 1 or 2 coats of mascara usually, the 2nd coat is done with waterproof Great Lash. If you usually wear 2-3 coats (my preference) the 2nd coat should be done in washable Great Lash like the 1st. Now the 3rd coat will be in waterproof Great Lash. You will get closer to the look you want with the washable coating your lashes & the waterproof coating the washable. This will also make washing off the mascara easier since the waterproof isn't directly touching your lashes. For lower lashes I just use one light coat of the waterproof Great Lash for everyday. For evenings/occassions I use the technique of one coat of each. I was a bridesmaid in my brother's wedding & used this technique. From doing my make-up, going thru the picures, ceremony, cocktail hour, reception, more picures etc. about 12 hours passed. No flakes, no smudges and no raccoon eyes even through teary eyes. Hope that information helps. — 6 years, 10 months ago
    Sugard91 | 12 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 3 people said helpful

  • 8

    Good mascara for those of us who are used to waterproof!

    I didn't have any problems with clumping with this one as some of the other reviewers did. Though, I've been using waterproof mascara for years now. Perhaps it does take some getting used to if you are switching from a washable to this. I found this mascara to be one of the best ones I've tried and the price is unbeatable. Maybelline New York is at the top of my list as far as mascara and espe...read morecially waterproof mascara. Most all of them from Maybelline I've tried, I've liked. It would be good to remember that waterproof mascara is just different- not worse than any other mascara. And different is not always a bad thing ;) The trick is to coat your lashes as quickly as possible with a light first coat first and then go over once more with a more in depth coat to even out the look. And it is also important to remember to use a silicone based make-up remover to remove waterproof make-up. When you take these things into consideration first, this mascara is a clear winner! — 6 years, 2 months ago
    jennyofmany | 130 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 4 people said helpful

  • 2

    Very disappointing

    I'd used the washable Great Lash for many years without a problem. I switched to the waterproof variety and found it clumped badly. It is possibly that was old product, but it was purchased at a high volume retailer. — 6 years, 10 months ago
    cher48603 | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 6

    A little clumpy

    I grew up on Maybelline Mascara and love the brand as a whole. But this mascara has its imperfections. The tube dries out quickly and the product gets clumpy. It's also a pain in the neck to get off. Could someone pleace pass the paint remover? — 6 years, 10 months ago
    Kearstin | 41 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 7

    Pretty Good

    tents to clump after a month. its good when you first use it. — 6 years, 10 months ago
    PrincessJess | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 8

    Great Waterproof Mascara

    I have to be honest, this mascara is the only mascara I use. This time of year it is always raining or snowing wear I live and I have to take the bus alot, so my face is always out in the weather and gets wet. This mascara doesn't clump, seperates my lashes and one of the best things about it is it doesn't run or smudge. I cried with this mascara on and not one bit of it came off. I was quite surp...read morerised. I have been drenched by the rain and it still didn't come off. I would recommend this to all my friends and family. — 6 years, 10 months ago
    VintageGoth | 7 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 3 people said helpful

  • 12 Worst Mascaras

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 2

    Better Mascaras out there

    Many people rave about this product and for a while, I bought the hype but thank God I only bought one tube. This formula is horror-in-a-bottle. Racoon eyes, endless smudging, heavy feel, leaves you with spider-like lashes and the list goes on. Yes, it separates your lashes well and the formula isn't clumpy, that's about all the good it does. I lost many lashes due to clumping minutes after applic...read moreation. It's really weird that it applies fairly smoothly yet still manages to clump your lashes later on. I believe that the waterproof formula makes your lashes sticky, not to mention it flakes also. Disappointed overall in this product especially since it's marketed as America's #1 selling mascara. DON'T BELIEVE THE HYPE! It's also not the cheapest mascara out there. Rimmel's Extra Super Lash cost half the price and does a better job 100x over. — 6 years, 10 months ago
    indielove | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 3 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend