Garnier Color Breaks Reviews

Back to Garnier Color Breaks»
Sort by:
  • 10

    loooovvved my hilights!!

    this is on of the best hilighting kit ive ever used it works great unless you dont know what you are doing — 3 years, 3 months ago
    ruth_perez | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 4 people said helpful

  • 15 Best Hair Color Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 8

    Beautiful color

    I used the #2 on my dark blonde/light brown hair and I really like the color of the highlights. It's a nice yellow blonde, not orangy like others I have tried. It's actually a better color than I have gotten thru professional highlights. I only used it along my part and around my face, using fairly thin chunks of hair. I didn't have a problem with the product bleeding onto unhighlighted hair. ...read moreOne thing that helped on application was to start in the middle of the piece of hair you want to hightlight and spread it out where you want it. If you start at the root line, it might get too much product in that one spot. This would be a great product to have a friend apply for you. My only complaint is that I can't seem to find the product anymore in the town I live in! — 4 years, 7 months ago
    Lisap | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 4 people said helpful

  • 9

    Color Breaks

    I love Color Breaks, it is great. It is so easy to apply and it looks so natural. When I go out in the sun it lightens it even more and it gives my hair that beachy look. This product is well worth the price. — 5 years, 2 months ago
    skhunter51 | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 4 people said helpful

  • 10

    Love this for adding low lights

    I have medium blonde hair thanks to at home coloring. I like the color but wanted a change so I bought this #6 and didn't bother with the comb, just applied the color with gloved hands. I love the result. very natural looking low lights that add alot of dimension to my hair and it looks much more natural now. — 5 years, 3 months ago
    accord9 | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 4 people said helpful

  • 24 All-Time Best Shampoos

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 9

    Better results than anticipated: very pleased with my at-home color

    I used the Garnier all-over color several days ago and just yesterday used the Color Breaks. I am very pleased with the results of both. I had never used Garnier previously, but was not as happy with L'Oreal Colour Expert highlighting kits as I had been. I used the Sangria (medium reddish brown) for my all over color and although I was a bit surprised at the intensity of the red initially, it f...read moreaded enough in about 5 days time that I felt brave enough to apply the Color Breaks. I had no trouble applying the product in thin streaks and am very happy with the variety of the colors in the highlights. I really feel that it looks like a professional job. — 5 years, 4 months ago
    KathleenO | 164 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 5 people said helpful

  • 10

    Garnier Color Breaks...LOVE IT!

    Garnier Color Breaks for me is the BEST! I LOVE IT! GREAT COLOR., EASY APPLICATION AND AFFORDABLE. Only problem, I find it less and less in stores, like WALGREENS (they seem to drop EVERYTHING) Please keep this product in the stores, like Target, etc. I gave up on Walgreens a long time ago. They suck! It truly is the best for me, and I have VERY difficult hair to color, and it is PERFECT! LOVE IT! Thank you...Garnier Color Breaks. Keep up the Excelent work! Elise Knapp — 5 years, 7 months ago
    Gussoo | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 6 people said helpful

  • 2

    Impossible!

    Unless you hair a professional hairdresser painting these on, it's nearly impossible to get them even. I used this and other "paint on" kits, and the problem is 1) You can't get even placement, 2) It's hard to gauge how much hair you're actually paiting onto, and 3) Without a cap or foils, the bleach gets on the rest of your hair, leaving you with a cheetah-esq look. Even though they seem archaeic, I reccomend using the caps for at home bleaching. — 6 years, 2 months ago
    PrdctJunkie | 23 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 4 people said helpful

  • 15 Best Hair Color Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 5

    Not what I expected but OK

    [NOTE: Review updated at end] I used this on my medium length, layered,light brown hair, colored with Natural Instincts. I wanted some highlites to break up the color & for summer. Since this product is specifically for color-treated hair, I bought it. This is the first time I have highlited my hair at home. I am having mixed thoughts about this products. 1) it would have been nice if they s...read moretated NOT to use this on semi-permanent color in a more visible way instead of part of the tiny small print on the instruction sheet. I had semi-permanent color on my hair already, so really, this is not for my hair. But the box says it's for color treated hair! 2) my highlites DO NOT look like the color on the box. They are more reddish-orange. Not what I wanted however everyone says they look really good!! Several people mentioned my hair right away and were surprised I did it at home and said it looked "really, really good!". It blends well with my light brown hair. I worry it's orange but I'm told it's more auburn. 3) the plastic comb was hard to use. The product clumped and did not go on smoothly. The comb caught on my hair and was hard to control the amount of hair I was coloring. I was unable to get thin strands but ended up with more "chunking". It was hard to pick up the product, from the bowl, with the comb. 4) I would probably not use this again. I wish I would have APPLIED IT HEAVIER, and also left it on longer, which I think would make it more blonde. I think the key to getting blonde is put on a heavier layer. Where I applied the product very heavy, I got blonde. Where it went on too thin I got reddish color. UPDATE: I've had the highlights on 3 days now and I have to say, they have lightened up quite a bit and the reddish has faded out. Maybe because I've been outside in the sun? So they have lightened up quite a bit, but still be cautioned that this product probably isn't strong enough to give you blonde highlights, especially on dark blonde/light brown hair. More like copper or reddish. — 5 years, 2 months ago
    HeidiLouise | 59 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  5 of 5 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend