Maybelline New York Define-A-Line Eye Liner Reviews

Back to Maybelline New York Define-A-Line Eye Liner»
Sort by:
  • 1

    Terrible liner

    This is one of the worst eyeliners I have ever used. The color of it is very rich and black, but that is the only good thing about it. I used it to tightline my upper lash line, and for the rest of the day it is literally smudging off onto my undereye area. I have rarely used any products in my life that give 'raccoon eyes.'I even tried putting UDPP (eye shadow primer) under my eyes and a lot of e...read moreyeshadow to try and keep it in place, but NOTHING helps. Really disappointing because I tend to like Maybelline products a lot. This eyeliner is terrible, terrible, terrible. I'm going to just end up throwing it out. — 1 year, 11 months ago

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 6

    Define-A-Line

    I don't like using this product on my waterline, my eyes are not watery but this eyeliner seems to wear off not long after it has been applied.. On the inner and outer upper last line it looks great, It smudges a lot.. I do not perfer this I'd rather use a pencil liner than this retractable liner, its very smooth and soft.. but it smudges easily and wears off quickly. I'd rather use Rimmel Special Eyes Pencil or Rimmel Special Eyes Pencil. — 2 years, 2 months ago
    heather_nichole | 8 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 1

    worst

    worst eyeliner ever. It smudges soo easily. — 2 years, 5 months ago
    NYdesichick | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 10 Best Long-Wear Eyeliners

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 6

    Doesn't last long

    It's okay - easy to put on and not very expensive, but my biggest issue with it is it fades fast and it smudges. I find myself needing to wipe liner off my lower lids through-out the day when I wear it. It does look nice when you first put it on, but that doesn't last very long (be prepared to touch up often) — 2 years, 9 months ago
    oopylovesyou | 17 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 10

    Works well

    Goes on smooth, dark, makes a nice line, and lasts well! Overall, no complaints. — 2 years, 11 months ago
    s503226 | 16 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 8

    It's fine

    I purchased this eyeliner in a two for one deal and I'm finishing up on my first tube. I have oily lids and it does tend to smear on my lower lids. I've kind of corrected the problem with setting it with an eyeliner to make it last. On my top lid it tends to slightly disappear, but it's not enough to ruin my entire look. Overall, I'm fine with it. I am not planning on repurchasing it because I want to try the revlon colorstay — 3 years, 1 month ago
    imadime | 9 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 10

    The Perfect Find!

    I found a perfect eyeliner for me, finally! It goes on smooth with the intensity of a liquid, but with the control of a pencil. Just what I was looking for! I have this in Ebony Black. The smudger works beautifully and the built-in sharpener at the end is so convenient and works great. I also love that now that I've used some of the product, I can twist it down inside the tube to keep it safe...read more when replacing the cap. This wears great on me, but I have dry skin. From other reviews, it sounds like if you have oily skin, it may run throughout the day. The only, tiny, issue is that it doesn't always come off perfectly with my facewash. But it's fine after I wash again in the morning. And I'm sure make-up remover would work too. I would recommend this product to anyone! — 3 years, 9 months ago
    jayboo5 | 71 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 1

    Did not hold up all day

    I purchased this eyeliner after a friend of mine recommended it to me. The price seemed right, so I gave it a try. The shade I first tried this product in was Chestnut Brown. It looked like Chestnut Brown in the container, but it looked reddish orange and not very fattering on my eyes. Also, it smudged halfway through the day, requiring me to either put on more eyeliner and use more product, or to...read more use eyeshadow on top of it and be required to use 2 products when one should have been enough to do the job. I would not recommend this product. — 3 years, 10 months ago
    khalexander68 | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 3

    VERY SMUDGEABLE!

    I bought this because of the attractive green packaging, it was a spur of the moment purchase! I wish i had researched this product a little more! At first, i was pleased due to the pigmentation of this eyeliner (btw i got it in Ebony Black). It was dark and went on smoothly and didn't hurt if it got into my eyes. I thought this was going to be my new favorite. But, i noticed that after two hours ...read moremy eyeliner was completely smudged and running down my waterline. It was horrible. I tried this eyeliner on my top lid too, and i ended up with a black *eyeshadow*. I will not repurchase again, Maybelline this is not your best. — 3 years, 10 months ago
    DollFaceXoxo | 9 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 10 Best Long-Wear Eyeliners

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 3

    ugh

    i really am not too fond of this. i got the navy and its a bright royal blue. plus, its smudgy and breaks off. it worked pretty well for my twin tho. this stuff is crap on ur waterline tho. it goes on smooth and nice, but comes off by the time you get to the other eye. darn. i really need a good eyeliner (any type) for my waterline. — 4 years ago
    GirlyGirl14 | 10 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend