Almay Smart Shade Makeup Reviews

Back to Almay Smart Shade Makeup»
Sort by:
  • 9

    Spot on Shade!

    I have very pale skin and its really hard for me to find foundation that is light enough in color but not too heavy on. I also have very dry skin, so mineral foundation is out, but this was perfect. It isn't too heavy that my freckles still show through but heavy enough to even out some of the red splotches from my eczema. It also feels very moisturizing on my dry skin. It was a little difficult t...read moreo tell where I've already put some one, since its supposed to match my skin perfectly, which is good because isn't that the purpose of foundation? I'm going to be buying this again. — 4 years, 4 months ago
    Blondebombshl | 8 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 8

    This is the right stuff

    Info about me: White, fair skin with warm undertones, freckles, normal skin though I get an occasional chin pimple, issues with undereye circles Positives: This is my favorite foundation so far due to the light coverage and skin matching ability. My skin color changes quite a bit from summer to winter and I find that the light/medium color is perfect on me. I also like that it has SPF 15 so ...read morethat I get some sun protection. Additionally, I teach and can not do touch-ups and I find that it lasts all day even though I do not use a powder over it. You can find it in Walmart, your local drugstore, or occasionally Big Lots. If you prefer a natural look, this is a great foundation. Negatives: Since this is a light coverage foundation, it does not cover pimples or undereye circles well. I use Covergirl concealer stick for these issues. You must also be careful to blend well with this foundation or you will end up with uneven coverage or a make-up line along the neck. I apply it with my fingers and then blend it along the edge of my face with a make-up sponge. If you prefer a matte look or complete coverage, this is not the foundation for you. Also, you can tell the make-up needs to be replaced when it comes out darker than normal or does not blend the way that it once did (a bottle lasts almost four months for me). — 4 years, 8 months ago
    Elongirl | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 6

    Eh.

    This was all right for me... Not bad but certainly not great. The coverage is super sheer, and it doesn't really build. The one thing I really didn't like was that it SMELLS of foundation. I have an awful sense of smell, but it still manages to bother me. This is definitely a personal preference thing, though. — 4 years, 8 months ago
    gothicauthor | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 12 Worst Foundations

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 5

    wish this would work for me

    coverage & consistency were great BUT after using this a few days my face started to break out (cystic acne). — 4 years, 8 months ago
    danielleu | 4 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9

    try the smartshade/smartbalance

    I have so much trouble finding a foundation to match my skintone, so the smartshade is great, as long as I blend it well around the edges of my face. I do have greasy skin though, so I would still get shiny, and I tried the smartshade/smartbalance when it came out. It works!! I actually look decent at the end of my workday. Thank you Almay! — 4 years, 8 months ago
    ForeverChiya | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 2

    Not a Big Fan

    Sorry Almay, but I just don't find that the color blends to match my skin tone and I have tried two different shades of this product. I also find the product to lack the coverage I would expect from a foundation. I am not looking for high coverage, but this product offers very thin coverage. Compared to Revlon's Beyond Natural Skin Matching Make-up it just does not compare. — 4 years, 8 months ago
    woodall1880 | 15 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 3

    Dead Micro-Beads?

    When I first began using this product, I liked it. I need coverage, and while it hardly provided close to the coverage I needed, I finished with a heavy dose of powder after applying. The shade more-or-less matched my skin (I got the medium shade) and it looked relatively natural. A few weeks after daily application, however, disaster struck. After applying it one day, I stepped out of the bathroo...read morem into the natural light of my bedroom and discovered my face was ghost white! It had a few streaks of yellow color in it, but it was pretty much white. After washing that off, I reapplyed some more, and it worked perfectly fine. How odd. The next day, unfortunately, I was bleached out again. I even tried shaking the bottle to redistribute the "color-sensing micro-beads," but to no avail. Finally, I tossed it. While it worked, it was nice. But the fact that it was an undependable disaster was not so nice. Try your luck! Maybe mine is just bad. — 4 years, 9 months ago
    prettymeplease | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 5

    It's alright

    Yeah, its alright. The texture is nice, spf is decent although not super high, and the color is okay, but not perfect. It does adjust, but always seems to be just slightly darker than my actual skin tone. I'll use it, but not over my daily foundation. — 4 years, 10 months ago
    ashalofs | 60 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 2

    Everyone loves it, but me

    It is uneven where the most color lies. i'd reccommend using a sponge and mixing it up on the back of your hand rather than applying it straight to a brush or with fingers. it does NOT seem to cover any undereye circles. it makes freckles look "dirty" in that it doesnt cover tjhem or work with them. it just sits on top of them. not ideal for pimples either. of course, all of these skin i...read moressues are best solved with concealer, which you must use if you intend to use this product and have your skin covered for more than a few hours. This makes my skin have a greyish or chalky coloring. I use the medium. It seems to be for blue based coloring than my color which is tan with pink and yellow (over all peach) undertones. i'm not even conmsidred "olive" if i was, it would look even more grey. i dislike that. it makes you look like youre wearing makeup. i will stick with my clinique city block or almost makeup or mac sheer mineral foundation (both liquid). — 4 years, 11 months ago
    Laur318 | 23 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 12 Worst Foundations

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    It's great

    I have been seeing this advertised in magazines and finally bought it when I ran out of other foundation. I haven't used any Almay products before. I like something light on the skin and this is it! I bought the light/medium and it blended right into my skin. I will continue to use this. It came with a small tube of concealer and it worked really great also. Good product. — 4 years, 11 months ago
    Pattymc48 | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend