Almay Smart Shade Makeup Reviews

Back to Almay Smart Shade Makeup»
Sort by:
  • 8

    Review subject

    This is really the only makeup which provides natural-looking coverage and doesn't make me break out. I love the fact that it has SPF in it, and the shades are great for light-to-medium complexions. My only complaint is that it doesn't last throughout the day. Overall though, it's my main foundation of choice :) — 2 years, 9 months ago
    rebelise | 6 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 2

    scam

    it was way too dark for me and was so shiny and greasy! it felt like it never dried and it has NO coverage! — 2 years, 11 months ago
    megdoesmyhair | 33 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 4

    Just OK

    I had high hopes for this foundation, but it didn't work well for me. The coverage is very sheer, but it feels heavy on your skin. It doesn't last very long and has zero oil- control. It does match your skin tone, but that alone isn't enough. — 2 years, 11 months ago
    db4kb | 25 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 12 Worst Foundations

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 2

    Malicious!

    I bought this makeup because I have such a hard time finding makeup in my shade. I put it on my finger tips. It's comes out white with little tiny blue beads. Than I started rubbing it on my face and it started changing colors. But defiantly not my color. It was pretty off. I could notice a big difference from my neck to my face. It was a little sleek looking and spread fine. But after a while it ...read moregot so oily. When I tried washing it off. Omg. This is where the real problems started. I had to use three different types of soap & it still wouldn't come off. It seemed like the only thing that was washing off was the color. It left behind this oily stick ruff type of stuff that wouldn't come off my face. I had to use baking soda and finally just to make sure I got it all off. Used rubbing alcohol and a cotton ball . I could see this yellowish nasty tint come off. It was horrible. I made sure I got it all off and used a mask after ward cause I felt so bad w all the washing I did to my face. I couldn't imagine taking this makeup off every day -_- never again. — 2 years, 11 months ago
    Livfastdiepreti | 10 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 4

    Not what I had hoped for

    I bought this because of all the great commercials they played when this product first came out, so I feel like a sucker. I bought this and couldn't wait to try it on, it went on smooth (but dried a bit fast, which made it hard to blend) after washing it off and working VERY quickly I got it to blend a little better but the coverage was not what I thought it should be. It's more of a tinted moistu...read morerizer, so good for those hot days in the summer when you just want very light coverage (I do like the fact that it offers some SPF coverage). It's a decent product but does not live up to be a fabulous as the commercial makes it sound — 2 years, 11 months ago
    HAPpyMomma9289 | 4 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 5

    not good for contact wearers

    do not buy this if you have contacts. you will get it on your contact, and it will not come off, no matter how much you scrub at it. Otherwise, its alright. — 3 years, 1 month ago
    carly_yamrus | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 2

    Hate it!!

    I bought this because my sister has always used it and loves it and she lives in Florida. I can never seem to match my skin even now at 56 and I live in Georgia and the humidity is bad. This makeup does not blend well and even though I bought the lightest shade I still look orangey and have that line at my jawbone that shows I have foundation on. Plus it feels very heavy to me..not comfortable at all. I won't be buying this product again. — 3 years, 2 months ago
    tllsmi | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 6

    Not enough coverage

    If you are blessed enough to have skin with neither wrinkles or blemishes, then I can see why this lightweight make-up would be great. However, I am not one of those people and this did little to improve the look of my skin. — 3 years, 2 months ago
    mteclouser | 37 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 8

    Smart Matching Perfection!

    It took the work out of finding the right shade, just make sure to blend the beads well on your face. If not blended it make be caked and uneven. Once you have applied some don't apply more or it will make it flake off. The downside is you have to get it right the first time. But over all excellent foundation. — 3 years, 2 months ago
    fmlgirl101 | 34 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 12 Worst Foundations

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    it really works!

    I love this foundation. Started using it about a year ago and ever since it has been my favorite. As other reviewers have said it really does take out the guess work. It covers up blemishes and stays on all day for me. — 3 years, 3 months ago
    sladjana | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 4 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend