Almay Smart Shade Makeup Reviews

Back to Almay Smart Shade Makeup»
Sort by:
  • 5

    Uneven coverage

    I was not very impressed with this product. At first I thought it was going to work well since it goes on really smoothly and is lightweight..but it goes on white and then disappears as it blends to match your skin tone so it's hard to see where you have put it already! It is really tricky to get even coverage with this makeup and I end up getting orangey streaks when I use it. — 6 years, 6 months ago
    Carly_K | 20 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  7 of 11 people said helpful

  • 10

    Works great!

    I have fair skin and most the time it is hard for me to find the right shade,either foundation is too light and makes me look like a ghost,or its way too dark. I saw this advertised on TV and thought that I might have luck with this,and to my surprise it matched perfectly! I have read that some people don't like how sheer it is,I found that a little bit of a problem as well;but when I apply the ma...read moreke up I evenly spread it,then go back and put a extra dab on problem areas and cover it a little bit with some pressed powder. I would definitely buy this again! — 6 years, 6 months ago
    KristinaC | 2 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  12 of 12 people said helpful

  • 10

    Love this makeup

    After I could no longer find Almay touch pad foundation where I shop, I decided to try this makeup. It comes out of the tube white but as you apply it it almost magically transform to your skin tone. It is a light illuminating foundation that feels very natural on the skin. — 6 years, 6 months ago
    noniptuck4me | 7 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  7 of 9 people said helpful

  • 12 Worst Foundations

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 4

    Not-so-smart-shade

    I tried this after a friend recommended it to me. Finding the perfect shade has never been my strong suit. My skin has golden undertones that most fair foundations have a hard time matching--as it turns out, this one was no different. I tried it on before heading out for the night. Since I had applied it in my bathroom, which has no natural light, I was horrified to discover in the car on the way ...read moreto dinner that my skin was yellow and there was a distinct line between my neck and my face. Talk about embarrassing. I'm still looking for my perfect foundation! — 6 years, 6 months ago
    iheartnitz | 9 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  5 of 8 people said helpful

  • 5

    didn't work on my skin

    The makeup didn't work on my skin, think maybe because I have too many discolorations in my skin tone. I used light to medium and ended up with a lot of orange blotches. When you have age spots and the normal problems of a red head it may not work for you. Another friend used it with great results, but she had good skin to start off with and no ruddiness. — 6 years, 6 months ago
    baronessvonw | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 7 people said helpful

  • 7

    Almay smart shade® makeup

    Out of sheer laziness, I grabbed this foundation from my daughter's dresser this morning to put on instead of walking the flight of stairs to get my own. Yeah...lazy! My daughter uses the lightest shade of foundation, regardless of the brand, since she has a very pale complexion. I normally use at least one shade darker than her, but thanks to this incredibly long winter, I'm almost as pale as ...read moreher! The shade I tried is Light. I was a little freaked out when I first squeezed it out of the tube; it was white with little blue particles in it! WHOA! but I rubbed it between my fingers and could see it starting to change color. After rubbing it on my face, I was surprised to see it basically sink into my skin with no noticable color difference. If my face wasn't having a "bad day" with quite a few red splotches, I think I would have been more impressed. The coverage is extremely sheer. If you don't have a lot of marks, scars, acne you are trying to hide, this would be great. But for my not-so-great complexion, it just doesn't offer enough coverage. The pros; *Ingredients include antioxidants like grapeseed, ginseng and gingko biloba. *SPF 15 *Great color blending technology *no streaking *doesn't feel cakey or sticky on my skin. The cons; *not great coverage The end result; I would buy if I had great skin! Since that's not the case, I'm glad I used my daughter's instead of buying and trying another great product that didn't work well for me. — 6 years, 6 months ago
    krazmomx3 | 6 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  20 of 21 people said helpful

  • 10

    Favorite Foundation

    I Love this foundation! Because it matches my skin tone so well and looks like I'm not wearing foundation, And I have sensitive skin too, so this one of the few foundations I can use without having a reaction or breakout from it. — 6 years, 6 months ago
    dewdrop | 9 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  5 of 5 people said helpful

  • 10

    TallRed

    I love this foundation. It is the most natural looking I have ever used. I get compliments all the time now on my skin and how good it looks. — 6 years, 7 months ago
    TallRed | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 5

    Ok foundation, I won't buy again.

    As soon as I saw this on TV I was amazed and had to have it. So I headed over to my local Wal*Mart to grab a bottle, couldn't wait to try it. Almay has a great line, and they never disappointed me until now. I chose one of the lightest shades, because that's always been my choice of almay foundations. The application was gritty, the foundation consists of a lotion-like base and little beads t...read morehat make up the color. If I would have known, I would have mixed it in my palm. Another negative, the color that I so loyally chose like I always do...did not match my skin tone. It was orangy and extremely fake looking. Other than that, the end result was ok, after I fixed it with a powder. But I won't buy this one again. — 6 years, 7 months ago
    jeshikachan2 | 37 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 7 people said helpful

  • 12 Worst Foundations

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 4

    would be great if it worked...

    The idea is really cool except the color it comes out to doesn't match my face. it's a little more yellow and darker so it looks caked on. Also it's heavier than I'd like. — 6 years, 7 months ago
    sammiwammi408 | 8 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 1 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend