Tarte Lock & Roll 12 Hour Eyeshadow Reviews

Back to Tarte Lock & Roll 12 Hour Eyeshadow»
Sort by:
  • 10

    Last for Hours

    I love the Tarte Lock & Roll Shadows. They really stay on for hours. I fell asleep before I had the chance to remove my makeup one night and this shadow was still on and looked good in the morning. I would suggest working quickly when applying and blending these because they truly "lock on the eyelids" and become a little hard to blend if you are not quick. I do one eye at a time. — 3 years, 8 months ago
    cjdawg | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 7 Worst Eyeshadows

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    Love to Lock & Roll

    Anytime a product claims to last long, I'm always a little skeptical. I'm happy to say that Tarte's Lock & Roll lived up to expectations. Lock & Roll is an eyeshadow in a wand packaging. On each end of the wand there is either a loose eyeshadow or cream eyeshadow. The loose eyeshadow has a roller ball applicator, while the cream shadow has a brush applicator. The loose eyeshadow is very find ...read moreand easily applys to your eyes. To apply the loose eyeshadow you need to give a quick shake to the roller ball applicator and simply roll the applicator on your eyelids. You can then pat and or blend it out as needed. The cream shadow is more of a thick liquid then a cream. It's not sticky and takes a few seconds to dry. The cream shadow comes with a brush applicator so you just brush the shadow to your lids and blend as needed. You don't need to apply a lot in order to get a good color payoff. And once the cream drys it does not bundge. It literally locks into place. The shadows can be worn seperately but to get the full, long lasting effect, it's best to wear the eyeshadows together. First, by applying the cream shadow and then applying the loose shadow before the cream shadow totally dries. When I used this, the shadow does not budge. It claims to last all day and it does. For me it lasted over 12+ hours. I don't really need my makeup to last that long but at least you know you don't need to reapply. Which is good because you don't really get a lot of product (0.14 oz cream, 0.05 oz loose). However, the eyeshadows are pigmented that you don't need to use a lot in the first place. The size also makes it very portable. If you're the type of person that's always in a hurry and need to be able to put on your makeup quick, Tarte's Lock & Roll is great to have. My only wish about this product is that I hope Tarte adds more shades. It currently has only 7 shades. Tarte's Lock & Roll exceeded my expectations and I think everyone should give it a try. — 3 years, 9 months ago
    PnkSugrBeauty | 12 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 8

    "Lock" is right!

    I love this product. I got a mini in a sampler and loved it so much I bought a full-size one in another color. I've always used liquid or cream shadow under powder, so it's nice to have them both in one handy container. I usually paint a stripe of the cream across my lower lid, then blend out. Then I apply the powder side (or another powder shadow) and blend that in with a brush. You can get creat...read moreive with it too--use a lighter cream all over, a darker cream in the middle, then set it with the powder. The colors are vivid and last all day without flaking or smudging. A new favorite. — 3 years, 11 months ago
    blueroses99 | 20 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 10

    Wonderful performance!

    I use a small concealer brush to apply the cream product and it gives a pretty, shimmery, sheer color, or you can use the included brush to line the eye. The roll-on shadow is a little finicky, if you're not careful you get a lot of fallout. I get amazing wear time, 12-15 hours with no creasing or fading. The colors are shimmery and gorgeous. — 4 years, 1 month ago
    idahogirl | 98 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 8

    Waterproof and vibrant!

    If you're looking for an eyeshadow that is waterproof and retains vibrant color throughout the day, you may like Tarte's Lock & Roll Eyeshadow Duos. I tried the three Lock & Roll shadows that come as part of the eyeQuatic gift set, and all of them are flattering jewel tone colors that don't budge. Most waterproof or creaseless cream eye shadows that I've tried still tend to lose intensit...read morey with a little rubbing (or with a little water), but the tarte Lock & Roll eye shadows actually keep their color when I try smudging them about 10 seconds after applying them! The color can be layered, and an optional fine layer of shimmery powder eyeshadow can be applied on top. The powder eye shadow side of this duo is very sheer, so using it is definitely optional. — 5 years, 6 months ago
    Meilily | 25 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 1

    Cheap

    I bought the Tarte kit. I liked the idea of all natural ingredients, but the packaging was snapped off at the wand and the color could not be smoothed out-it was very heavy. — 5 years, 7 months ago
    mmd188 | 11 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 2 people said helpful

  • 8

    Awesome Idea and Easy Execution

    I am completely thrilled with the tarte Lock & Roll Creaseless Cream & Powder Shadow Duo ($17). The nice thing about this product is that it simplifies the old makeup artist trick for getting long-lasting color by putting the cream + powder in one handy product. Nice! Application is a cinch. Simply apply the cream color with the brush and then use the roller-ball mechanism to place the po...read morewder over top. And you're done. The brush can deposit a bit too much, so I would recommend using a pinky finger to smooth it out and evenly distribute the cream. Despite my expectation, the roller-ball deposits color surprisingly well for an overall polished look in no time at all. — 6 years, 1 month ago
    talk2uranalyst | 157 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 7 Worst Eyeshadows

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 9

    Love this shadow

    I prefer the cream side because I really like using the brush to create a defined edge, or just apply a teeny tiny thin line to give edge to another shadow. The roll on is nice too, especially for a toned down look. Both of them truly 'lock' in though. I have been using one for about a month now, and I never have that annoying crease. The colors are fab, and they last! — 6 years, 8 months ago
    KoruRi | 53 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 3 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend



BUY IT ON AMAZON NOW!