Home » Community » Message Boards » Everything Makeup » Translucent powder?

Discussion

Translucent powder?

hey guys!

Just a quick quesion. I have never invested in translucent powder before but saw in a video for applying eye make-up that it catches all the dusty bits when applying (very handy little tip!) but, as I am a newbie, I was wondering could anyone give me advice on which powders are a good buy? and also.. besides this, what else is translucent powder used for? Its different to "normal, standard powder" you put on over foundation?

Thanks in advice ladies!

Subscribe
Notifiy me with emails too

6 Replies

volta
elite
2 years, 3 months ago
Re: Translucent powder?

Make Up For Ever HD Finishing Powder is the BEST powder I've ever used. It's won so many awards because it's ultra refined and a little goes a long way. Do not be nervous of its white color; it goes on completely invisible and looks incredibly natural even on the darkest skin tones. What I like about translucent powder is that it's not going to change the color of your makeup--which often happens if you use a colored powder. You can ask for a sample of it at Sephora to try it out. They generally sell two sizes of the powder; small ($15) and large ($30). The large size has lasted me over a year. What translucent powder basically does is that it sets your makeup so it's not going to move on your face and it won't rub off or melt as quickly. It's great for controlling shine so it can be worn over makeup or alone on your face without makeup if you just want to control shine and blur imperfections. Trust me, your makeup will last so much longer with translucent powder. To take it even a step further, I recommend a setting spray which preserves your makeup even longer. My favorite is Urban Decay's All Nighter spray. :)

RaraGiggles89
insider
2 years, 3 months ago

brilliant, thanks for the great advice :)

RaraGiggles89
insider
2 years, 3 months ago
:(