Home » Community » Message Boards » Total Beauty Member Central » Makeup for Beginners?

Discussion

aquolina
5 months, 3 weeks ago
Makeup for Beginners?

I've never worn makeup before. Since Christmas is on the way, I'm making a wish-list full of primarily makeup. I know close to nothing about makeup. Can anyone recommend me a list of must-have products? (:

About me: 
• I'm 17 years old
• I have combination, mild acne-prone skin
• I think my skin tone is medium warm (my skin color is like Cassie Ventura's) 
• I'd like to go for a simple, natural, feminine, everyday look that covers up my uneven skin tone. 

Subscribe
Notifiy me with emails too

7 Replies

MiszSt3phC
5 months, 2 weeks ago
Re: Makeup for Beginners?

Christmas is the perfect time to ask for makeup. Good call! I am 24 and I am a makeup artist in New Jersey. My suggestion to you would be make sure you have a good cleansing treatment for your face. Clean skin: Wash with a cleanser in the morning Use a toner Then a moisturizer with SPF Before bed wash face Put on night cream or acne treatment Make up basics: Foundation-I recommended spending a decent amount of money on good quality foundation. Since you have never worn makeup before, go to Sephora and have them match your skin tone to certain foundations that they have in the store. They have all types of brands. If you are someone who will forget to take your foundation off, I recommend a powder foundation from bare minerals. It is mineral based and good for your skin. I use bare minerals powder foundation and I also use Nars liquid foundation depending on the event. Concealer- if you have some pimples or blemishes that your foundation doesn't cover, just buy a concealer that is close to your skin color. This is applied on top of your foundation only on the areas needed. I use neutrogena concealer because it is medicated. I bought mine at cvs. Lipstick/lip gloss/mascara/blush/bronzer/eyeliner/eyeshadow- all of these you can buy at a drugstore (cvs, targ